We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Ranked #25 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Excellent Express”
Reviewed March 29, 2008

Stayed in Holiday Inn Express for 1 night for a overnght stay in Aberdeen. Booked the hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and wasn't dissapointed. The Hotel is a basic hotel, but it's cheap, clean, centrally located and free breakfast........what more can you wish for.
The hotel is quite a new build, so it's quite smart an not too shabby. The breakfast is a Continental buffet affair, which was exactly what we were looking for, the only downside being the Coffee was uurrgh.
Overall, excellent value for money and highly recommended.

  • Liked — Clean and value for money
  • Disliked — Coffee and soft mattrass
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beck_hoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    319
    135
    34
    12
See reviews for
118
205
47
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for weekend. Recommend it for its location and friendliness. Really clean and cheerful and good value. Just around the corner for all the activities in the city. If you are going to Aberdeen bring really good shoes as you will do plenty of walking. Visit La Tasca ( about 100 meters away) for a great meal.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank irish Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

I asked for a quiet room, as usual and got one this time. The 'single' beds in the twin room were a decent size too. The room was comfortable and clean. A great place to stay for a night in town, close to the shops and restaurants. I was actually at a function at a hotel close to this one and usually stay there. Their prices were usually reasonable, but this year they have sky rocketed. The self service breakfast buffet, continental style, was OK. The only quibble I would have would be the poor workmanship of the builders, who didn't knot the wood and only gave it one coat of white paint. Hardly Holiday Expresses fault as it would have looked OK when it was finished. I hope they know not to use that firm again.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Chose the Holiday Inn as I was combining a business trip with my "Scottish office" Xmas party .... and needed a hotel within crawling distance of the bars we were likely to end up in (West end of Union Street). I know Aberdeen well and relied on Trip Advisor to find a hotel within the company budget with a better location than my usual choices ....
And did I make the right choice !
The hotel was spotlessly clean .... everything so new I could have been the first ever guest in my room !
My room was well up to the usual standard of the Holiday Inn chain, perfect bathroom (wish my home bathroom was even half as good !), warm comfy bed, everything you need in a business hotel .... and do I need to say it again - really really clean with everything working perfectly.
Despite the central location the rear facing room was so quiet you could hear a pin drop .... no outside noise or noise from neighbouring rooms .... not the usual Aberdeen experience !
Reception staff were helpful and efficient, the bar had comfy sofas and cheap drinks (well cheap for a "Londoner") .....
My only "gripe" was the meagre breakfast .... sure billed as "continental" but the choice of bread was poor, I stuck with toast, a limited selection of fruit, jams & marmalades in mini cartons, foil wrapped blocks of industrial cheddar the only savoury option, dodgy coffee .... the Edinburgh Harbour "Express" ran to sliced ham, fresh cheese, and boiled eggs which made all the difference .... and all my other Aberdeen favourites do either a full "hot buffet" or a "menu" breakfast with the likes of porridge, kippers / smoked haddock, etc. for the asking.

  • Liked — City centre location, quietness, spotless accommodation ....
  • Disliked — Meagre breakfast .... but plenty of nearby options !
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank laura_eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

This hotel is very central for everything. Staff are friendly & helpful. The only thing I wasn't happy with was although they have a car park it is very small and I had to leave my car on the street until a space came available.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Car park space availability.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EveElizHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2007

Had previously stayed here when going to a concert so wasn't really that interested in hotel. This time I stayed on business and have to congratulate the staff and the owners. This hotel is a lot better than some of the higher rated hotels. Great Reception, Rooms and location. Definitely will be booking here in future.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank livingitlarge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world citizen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2007

I stay here several times a year on business, much nicer than most of the "budget" hotels but difficult to get into these days on short notice, at least during the week. Great location, in downtown Aberdeen, and only a few metres from a cab stand, which is very useful! Seems to be pretty well soundproofed to the outside nightlife - I'm a light sleeper but I haven't been bothered. Clean and nicely decorated.

On the downside there is no restaurant (but many within a couple minutes walk). Guests calling into the hotel are subjected to an over long standardised blah blah before they they can just ask to be connected to your room - why can't they just say "Holiday Inn, how can I help?" There is a little bar with not much selection, particularly when it comes to wines (all served in little 25 ml screw top bottles). But oh well, you're staying there for a bed, not a night in the hotel, right?

Last but not least, their loyalty programme is extremely generous and worth signing up for!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ge0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
0.3 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#17 of 65 in Aberdeen
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Address: Chapel Street, Aberdeen AB10 1SQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is situated in the West End of Aberdeen City Centre within easy walking distance of all the City Centre attractions. The hotel is only a stone's throw from Union Street and is ideally situated for your business or leisure stay. Holiday Inn Express is the common sense choice for the value-conscious traveller. All of our bedrooms boast a power shower, direct dial telephone and satellite TV channels. There's a bar in the hotel and many restaurants and pubs close by including the stylish new Albyn Restaurant & Bar just 5 minutes away. The Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel is the perfect base to explore Royal Deeside, The Whisky Trail, the many Castles or some of the North East's Championship Golf Courses. If you are travelling to Aberdeen on business, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located close to many large companies such as Shell, Exxon Mobil and BP. At the Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel we also have 2 superb air-conditioned meeting rooms with natural daylight which can accommodate up to 40 delegates theatre style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Express Aberdeen City Centre
Aberdeen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing