We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Fabulous Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2009

I feel bad for not having written this sooner . . . We had a great stay at Marcliffe in late May. We loved the location. The room was very comfortable - I believe we had a suite. The property is lovely and its a very relaxing and understated environment. We only wish we could have stayed longer. It was exactly the kind of spot we were looking for on our first visit to Scotland. Cannot wait to go back - and Marcliffe will be on the list. Dinner was outstanding and breakfast very good. Try the Russian red king crab for dinner if they still have it. Amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    67
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
69
170
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I really enjoyed my time at the Marcliffe. The service was excellent and the food was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble as the staff were very friendly and proffesional. We were very well looked after! The room was great with an extremely comfortable bed. I had a massage at the spa - first class. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dee112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here after a local wedding - the room was superb, plush, couldn't ask for more.
The lounge bar with sofas is very relaxed with waiter drinks service, very comfy seating and perfect!
The only thing to let the place down is the restaurant in the conservatory - it's just the setting. The food was great, but the setting just feels a bit cheap after the previous plush experience.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

I returned from Aberdeen where I stayed at the Marcliff where my friends had their wedding.
The stay was somewhat quite disappointing, the hotel which is a member of Small Luxury Hotels is overpriced (over £200) and does not deserve the status of a five star. Although they have very nice and efficient staff at reception, the other areas let the hotel down. We sat at the Bar and ask for a drink menu but were told that they did not have one, that could be ok but when we asked the barman to make a suggestion, he had no idea and made no effort.

The hotel is in many ways is tired and in need of care, the room and bathroom were cleaned but there were damp marks on the walls and it all looked a bit grim. Add to this that the room (like many others) had a view on the car park (not what you expect from an hotel in the countryside and certainly not when they ask you to pay more than £200 for it…) it all left a bitter taste.

Breakfast was also very disappointed, poor quality food, canned juices, packed commercial waffles, eggs tasting like cooked in microwaves… the staff were very nice but when you have to wait 45 minutes for your breakfast, it is all very disappointing.
All taxi drivers we used told us that this was the only five star in Aberdeen and there lies the problem, there is no competition for the Marcliff and the result is simple, it looks like they’re resting on their laurels and taking advantage of their guests… and their money!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptatworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Me and my husband had our wedding reception at the marcliffe a couple of years ago and returned this year for our anniversary, it did not disappoint.
The staff are brilliant and the decor and atmosphere are wonderful. Best hotel we've ever stayed in, nothing is ever too much bother for the staff and the breakfast is fantastic-loads of options for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.
If you're looking for a really special place to stay or indeed somewhere special to have a wedding reception I cannot recommend the marcliffe enough. We can't wait for another excuse to enjoy the luxury!

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — I never fouond any faults
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfleebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2008

We attended a private function and stayed overnight in September, The hotel was absolutely first class, a huge, well appointed room, our meals and the service was excellent - the best in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MF50B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed here for a wedding being held at the hotel. I have literally stayed in almost every hotel in Aberdeen over the years, and this one is the best. Large rooms, free non-alcholic drinks from the mini-bar, great bathrooms. Staff was lovely and food was top-notch. You even get a cooked breakfast included in most room rates. Recently renovated and rooms are gorgeous!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,075 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 65 in Aberdeen
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Property: The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing