We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Afternoon Tea in Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Afternoon Tea in Aberdeen”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have had afternoon tea at the Marcliffe 3 times (and have 3 more booked in already) and it is definitely the best. The whole experience is far superior to other venues in Aberdeen, with the wonderful ambiance of the drawing room and the high quality service from staff. Unlike most afternoon tea, you are able to select your choice of sandwich are you are given an amazing array of cakes and sweet treats. You are also able to choice from a selection of coffees and hot drinks. Although it is slightly more expensive than mosst afternoon teas at £18, it is definitely good value for money for the quality of food and service you receive. If you are an afternoon tea lover, I would strongly recommend a visit before the Marcliffe sadly closes it doors. Bookings are a must and you usually have to wait several months to get a Saturday booking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    67
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
69
170
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Visited the Marcliffe Courtyard Restaurant with eight family members for a Sunday lunch recently, to celebrate a special and significant birthday - and everything was just absolutely perfect!
We sat in the very comfortable lounge and had a pre-lunch drink and viewed the Sunday lunch menu (all that was on offer on Sunday), which came with a special that was Russian crab and langoustines. The regular Sunday menu included four or five starters and plenty of choice for main courses - beef, fish, pork and a vegetarian trio, with three or four desserts to choose from, as well as a cheese platter, coffee, mints and fudge! All in all, a great selection - and you would be very hard pushed not to find something that you would like!
We had two 'small' people in the group and when we got to the table, there was a highchair in place ready and one other chair missing, to accommodate the buggy!
The meal was served smoothly, with really good 'hidden' organisation, everything arriving for the right person, with not a word spoken and when it came to the main courses, then the hotel owner actually served the dishes himself!
The food from start to finish was simply excellent, no other word for it!
From the outset in the lounge, the staff were very friendly, most helpful and very knowledgeable on both the menu and also the wines to go with the various dishes. In the restaurant, they were again very friendly, attentive and very willing to help in any way - and yet at the same time, unobtrusive and the service was impeccable throughout! They were also very helpful when one of the babies upset his plate from the high chair.
The choices for desserts were taken at the table and the desserts then followed remarkably quickly - and we could all have eaten each others! They were all simply delicious,as was the selection of cheeses, pickle and quince jelly!
The choice of recommended wine was also very much enjoyed by most of the party, while the drivers stuck to soft drinks.
When the bill came, it was not cheap but definitely great value for money, as we all felt that we had enjoyed an absolutely superb lunch!
Well done Marcliffe - a big thank-you to all the staff concerned!

Room Tip: Definitely need to book every meal in the restaurant, to avoid being disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tankerman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I've stayed at the Marcliffe innumerable times over the past 20 years for the simple reason that is is the best - best service, best rooms and best restaurant. On top of that it is handy to the airport, the city and the grampians / highlands. Stewart, the owner" truly treats this property and the guests as if this were his home and his family

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are first class - no worries!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepidtravellersx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Wow! Spent the day being pampered at the Marcliffe Spa today, along with three other girlfriends.

The package included a Champagne Spa Light Lunch served in the Hotel (soup and sandwich).

Package included a specially blended exfoliation for the body, light massage, 1 hour facial, a luxury manicure and a luxury pedicure. Took about four hours, plus lunch.

Staff were attentive from start to finish. We were so impressed that we booked another visit in three months time!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwimmerAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Undoubtedly and without hesitation a fabulous hotel from the staff to rooms to food service and extras
Stayed two nights in a junior suite which was spotlessly clean and immaculately presented
Heated bathroom floor is a luxury my wife so enjoyed
Fantastic dinner fabulous wine list and no hidden extras .. as the owner states the way it should be
The owners standards are high but so appreciated and I have no hesitation in saying one of the best hotels in the UK which when it closes will be sadly missed
I hope I enjoy a stay again before its demise
Congratulations to the staff and owner for such an establishment
Makes one proud to be scottish

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationerfmsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We attended a Burns Supper and as usual, we stayed over. We always enjoy our stay at the Marcliffe, which is in a great setting with well furnished rooms, good food and excellent staff.
It is such a shame that it is going to close in November, what a pity to pull down a such a wonderful hotel and put up and office block. I think in years to come there will be a lot of regret about this.
I would recommend a stay at the Marcliffe before it finally closes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frances-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Having come here a couple of months ago, I have finally got round to writing a review. It was a special occasion for my family and we decided to have afternoon tea here. I cannot fault it, it was amazing! The cakes were out of this world, delicious and gorgeous looking. Lovely sandwiches too - highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,075 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#19 of 65 in Aberdeen
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
2.3 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Property: The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing