We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Quality Shines Through”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #9 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was the first time we have managed to get back to the best hotel in the North East of Scotland for quite a while and there is always the thought in back of your mind that the standards might have been lowered, but walking in the entrance soon banished that idea. The staff in the reception area were there to greet you and take the luggage and have you booked in with a warm and pleasant attitude in just a few minutes and on your way to your room.
It was a surprise to find that we were in the room we had used on our last visit. I think to say it is the most comfortable I have stayed in is not exaggerated and all the small extras seem of the best quality. Usually when I stay away for the first night it is difficult to get a good nights sleep not in the Marcliffe the comfort of the bed ensures a long and restful night.

We had booked a meal for 7.30 and went to the lounge for a drink where the staff had the drinks and the menu's to us very quickly (my wife who loves olives with her drink described them as nicest she had tasted another sign of looking after guests)
The meal itself tasted second to none from the starters (scallops for myself and a salad for my wife) The main course of lamb cutlets where cooked perfectly while my better half had the sea bass with shellfish, it took us all our time to manage a sweet as the size of the meal was perfect.
We finished off with coffee and drinks in the lounge which was the perfect end to the meal with the pianist in the background (have look on top of the piano and see how many well known faces are there.
Breakfast did not let the hotel down local products where used a lot, again great flavours and selection shone through a perfect to start the day.
When we booked out the staff were friendly and it made the paying of the bill less of a chore.
The thought of the The Marcliffe not being there saddens me an hotel of this standard are few and far between

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bankie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 455 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We attended a wedding at The Marcliffe and stayed for the night afterwards. The service and food at the wedding were quite the best I have ever encountered for group catering, and the hotel staff are obviously very experienced in ensuring that important occasions are handled smoothly. The main bar carries one of the largest selections of Scotch single malts I have ever seen and you would need an iron constitution ( and a deep wallet!) to sample them all. The room itself was pretty standard 4-5 star fare; comfortable, but nothing special. On that basis, the overnight rate for a hotel located in the suburbs of Aberdeen is a little steep. Breakfast, including local black pudding, was excellent

There were many American and Japanese visitors in the hotel, some of whom were clearly on golfing trips, so clearly the hotel aims to attract well heeled foreign tourists. They would certainly enjoy the very Scottish ambiance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hairyscot1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I have eaten at this hotel on many times but usually at a function. They always produce a fantastic meal and provide excellent service despite providing food for up to 300 guests at a time. I was fortunate last week to be a guest at a private dinner and the food and service was even better. The most fantastic hand dived scallops as a starter followed by in season grouse.
A shame that the hotel will close within the next 14 months!

Room Tip: Didnt stay, but food and service in restaurant was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank damasust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A truly fabulous place to stay and work - one of the best in Aberdeen. Staff are always attentive and courteous. Rooms are beautifully appointed and the meeting facilities are great. I have no hesitation in recommending the Marcliffe

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MykeP111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

As a member of The Small Luxury Hotels of the World everything should be 5 star. We didn't stay overnight but did have spa treatments and lunch. In our experience everything was first class. The welcome on arrival was friendly and efficient. The bar and lounge are exquisite and oozed of comfort. The Marcliffe is a gathering place for Aberdeen's A list of locals, even the Scottish Premier was enjoying his cucumber sandwiches! Excellent lunch, Excellent facial and massage. I would certainly stay there if ever in the region again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We traveled through Scotland golfing for 15 days & our 3 nights here was by far the best hotel. Spacious modern hotel with all the emedities, freindly helpful staff, accommodating and exceptionally well appointed. Definitely a 4 star with a 5 star feel......

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have just returned from afternoon tea at the Marcliffe and I am enjoying the peace of my own home... The food at our afternoon tea was generally good (though the scones had been warmed to death and were horribly dry) and the service very pleasing, but the NOISE LEVEL!!!!! There had been some ladies do on at lunchtime, and unfortunately a large number of those attending had then continued their 'animated conversations' in the lounge bar. So, food 3 stars, service 4 stars, atmosphere/enjoyment zilch. If you can 'visualise' 20+ Scottish versions of Sarah Millican after imbibing a few (or more) glasses of wine you will get the picture. So, if you do chose to book afternoon tea at the Marcliffe please check to see what else they have on that day for your own sanity!.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,226 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#27 of 65 in Aberdeen
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
887 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $176 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing