We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay and excellent helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay and excellent helpful staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I work for a multinational oilfield company and we held a conference at this hotel and afterwards I had the pleasure of staying here for the next 5 nights. The meal the hotel supplied after our conference was superb and continued in the same vein throughout my stay at the hotel.

The staff we so friendly and nothing was too much problem and they were magnificent before I even arrived in Aberdeen, as I was booked to arrive in Aberdeen the night before our conference the Marcliffe hotel was fully booked but they arranged for me to stay at another hotel nearby and for the same rate before transferring to the Marcliffe the next day.

The hotel then called me back to confirms this had been arranged and the service from all the staff is truly exemplary, I extended my stay twice at short notice and each time it was never an issue to do so.

My room was comfortable and had a free mini bar for snacks and soft drinks except for the weekend which I couldn't fathom out but what can I say I love my chocolate and peanuts and if they are in the mini bar they get eaten :-)

I did have a massage in the spa which was very relaxing but the hotel didn't have a hot tub or swimming pool but the again it's Aberdeen which is not renowned for outside pools.

The room was a bit noisy in the morning about 6-7am with trolleys outside the room in the rear of the hotel but as I was up and heading for the office it didn't overly concern me.

Would I stay the again? Without a shadow of a doubt. Hotels in Aberdeen are not the cheapest in the country but this hotel is worth every penny of your money for a stay in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G5NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    67
    24
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
174
7
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as my husband had to work and we wanted to be in a comfortable hotel for this reason. The rooms are dated, especially the bathroom. The rooms are also very noisy.
At breakfast time they take your order for a cooked breakfast, but the cook doesn't even know how to prepare eggs baked well done.

The food in the restaurant is nice. We ordered our food while sitting in the bar area and when we were asked to go to our table it still took 30 minutes for our starter to be served! Then after we finished our starter our main was served witihhin minutes (way too fast). Dessert took another 45 minutes and our coffee was served luke warm. So the food is nice but due to the timing between our courses dinner wasn't enjoyable.

When mentioning a couple of things for improvement the manager was not open for any suggestions.

It is a good 10-15 drive form the city, so if you want to stay in the city centre then this is not the place.

If this is the best Aberdeen has to offer I would stay away!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JJC_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

From the moment you arrive until you leave you are made to feel special and the food is sublime. I'm in a wheelchair and they always reserve a particular table for me as I have difficulty getting under a lot f them. Well worth a vist for any occasion.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray-Brown22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed only one night as an end to our trip in Scotland before flying from Aberdeen. We spent a couple of days at the start of our holiday at Bauhaus hotel in Aberdeen and highly recommend this. Bauhaus has more a modern style that suits our taste and the location is central and excellent to many places of interest and restaurants.
In contrast Marcliffe is old, dated and the rooms need a good refurbishment. In addition the hotel is around 15-20mins drive from Aberdeen centre. The hotel during season seems to attract many wedding and golfing guests. So if you would like a quiet stay, this may not be the place.

Though we are happy to pay for quality we found Marcliffe overpriced for what they offer.
On a good note the service offered by the staff was very friendly and excellent. The restaurant offers great food. I will not stay here again but highly recommend the restaurant for its fine dining,service and quality of food.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RNB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My fiance and I have just returned from Sunday lunch in the Conservatory restaurant. It couldn't be faulted. We ordered our meal from the comfort of the bar and were escorted to our table approximately 5 minutes before our (delicious) starters arrived. The food was excellent and the service cannot be faulted- attentive but not overbearing. We declined tea and coffee but my fiance then commented that we'd done ourselves out of fudge. A plate full of fudge and chocolates appeared moments later.

We retired to the bar again after our meal and spent a lovely leisurely afternoon sipping various drinks. Again, service was impeccable. We will be back

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamc28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We are regulars at the Marcliffe when visiting Aberdeen and the standard never waivers. Staff are always courteous and attentive and the hotel balances modern facilities with plenty of local character.

Food and drink are excellent with the whisky selection in particular being one of the best we have ever seen. Best to book ahead for both the bar and restaurant as space is at a premium.

Room Tip: The suites are quite excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuffnGuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friday 13th July, we were booked to go here for a relaxing mother/daughter afternoon before her wedding on Sunday 15th. This was courteousy of my lovely hubby who surprised me at Christmas with enough vouchers to pamper both my daughter and myself(after the rest of my pressies). We plumped for the candlewax massage, pedicure and my daughter had a manicure as well. Never having had a full massage before, I was really looking forward to this. Wow, it was amazing and I would recommend this to anyone. Jen, the girl who did my one was lovely. Then came the pedicure, bliss. As much tea, coffee, etc, as you wished. The surroundings were lovely and the staff so nice, I will be back. 10/10. Louise, Aberdeen (oh and Keri!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loobylou299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,091 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#20 of 65 in Aberdeen
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa

Property: The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Address: North Deeside Road | Pitfodels, Aberdeen AB15 9YA, Scotland (Formerly The Marcliffe at Pitfodels)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by Mikhail Gorbachev in 1993, this is one of the cities more exclusive hotels.I am delighted to inform our valued clients that we have now upgraded all our TV's to slimline models with plenty satellite channels.Thank you all for your patience.J Stewart Spence, Owner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Aberdeen
Marcliffe At Pitfodels Hotel Aberdeen
The Marcliffe Hotel And Spa Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing