We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The hotel obviously caters mainly for oil workers. I went with the family over the bank holiday weekend and there were still predominantly single men there, for some reason.

The hotel has a leisure pool which isn't particularly useful for swimming in but fine if you've got young kids. Strangely, they have some rooms which look directly on to the pool. The pool area also has a Jacuzzi and there's also a small gym and sauna.

The breakfast was great. It's buffet, but they have the full spread, toast, butteries, cereal, sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, fruit juice, coffee/tea, cakes, muffins etc.

We ate in the bar, and the food wasn't great and was expensive for what it was. The beer was reasonably priced, however.

They have free wifi in the public areas nowadays, although this should be offered for a much cheaper price in the room.

Our room was large with 2 double beds and plenty of space. It was very comfortable with air con/heating which was fine. Room was slightly dated but still in pretty good condition. Room had free coffee/tea and biscuits, a safe and a tv with plenty of channels. Walls were thin as noted by other reviewers.

Staff were friendly. Seemed to be predominantly Scandanavian rather than Scottish for some reason.

Room Tip: Didn't think much of the poolside rooms, but the rest were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    196
    96
    37
    11
See reviews for
89
122
30
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
232 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Being mugged is never a good experience. That's how I felt after paying £265 for a very average twin room.

I've marked this hotel on the room rate they had the cheek to charge. I know it's all about supply and demand but at some point it goes over the top and is simply greed.

Rooms are reasonably comfortable but not particularly large or special.

Dining area is quite nice and evening service was good. Restaurant is let down by food which is not great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was travelling with my husband, 3 year old and 12 week old baby, the rooms accomodated 2 baby cots along with a double pram (however it was a little cramped). The rooms were clean and beds very comfortable. We stayed in a pool view room which had a patio door opening onto the side of the pool, ideal so we didnt have to mess around with changing rooms and lockers with two small children instead we could leave our room patio door open as the room could be seen whilst in the pool at all times. The pool area was clean and warm. We had interconnecting rooms as travelling with other family members which was ideal for childrens bedtime. Upon check in however, we had been allocated interconnecting rooms on the first floor - there is NO LIFT in the hotel, considering we had also requested 2 baby cots on the booking, you would think someone may have given thought to a pram and flight of stairs before allocating an upstairs room - a little thought makes a big difference. This was rectified quickly and easily which makes me wonder why on earth they allocated those rooms in the 1st place when there were ones on the ground floor.
Arriving for breakfast also proved a little tricky with a double pushchair as this is down about 8 steps! again no lift etc. Ok for older children (my son) but i did not want to disturb my baby, nor place her carrycot on the floor when hot food, tea and coffee was being moved around above her, so the safest place was in the pram, that then required two people to carry it up and down the steps - maybe difficult if travelling alone?? This would also prove very difficult for disabled people in a wheelchair. Maybe telephone hotel first if you are disabled and require a wheelchair to see how easy this would be for you.
The bar restaurant food was lovely and catered very well for a small child with food allergies, crayons and colouring sheet were provided which were great.
All in all a great stay and would go back again, just would be nice if someone considered your needs before allocating inappropriate rooms in the first place.

Room Tip: pool view rooms are great very convienient
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel runs big functions at the weekends, and after the functions the car park is a race track as are the corridors. 2.30am the noise was still at top volume, we asked for a quiet room (not sure they exist here) as we had flights half way across the globe starting out early the next day, after one request to move to a quiet spot which was met with a "there is nothing we can do " response we put in ear plugs as the thin walls left nothing to the imagination!

Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

when we arrived we were met by a professional friendly receptionist and the information we received regarding hotel was very good.

Hotel room was very clean and of a high standard

The only complaint i have is that in the morning when we went to breakfast we had to stand for 15 mins before anyone came near to seat us at a table.

To be honest the breakefast service the 2 days we stayed was less than acceptable, tables were left uncleared and waiting 15 mins to be seated in a hotel such as this is unacceptable!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. when we were eventually seated we asked for coffee for 2 and received coffee for 1 and that was cold when it arrived and despite complaining and asking for a fresh pot it never arrived and when we had finsihed with our fruit course the table was not cleared and we struggled for room with our cooked breakfast.

The girl who was in charge (i use the word in charge very losely), there was no oraganisation or any respect from her staff.

i asked one memeber off staff how to turn the toaster down as it waas burning the toast and to my disgust she replied to me, " for goodness sake" then turned the toaster down. manneers cost nothing.

IF ANYONE FROM THE HOTEL GROUP READS THIS REVIEW PLEASE SPEAK TO BREAKFAST STAFF, THERE MANNER IS A DISGRACE



The girl in charge obviously could not cope with a busy dinning room

Room Tip: Ask for outside room as the inside ones have no natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wends441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I recently had my wedding there and the staff couldn't have been more helpful :) thanks a lot for blowing up the balloons!! That was never part of the deal but a great help! My only disappointment was the soup was better at our food tasting than the actual wedding but everything else was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heaven-Lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Room was clean and a good size. Two double beds not really necessary for one person! Big downside is that Wifi costs £15 a day i think. I managed to get a decent 3g signal on Vodafone and a weak 3g singal on 3.

Good gym facilities and a small swimming pool, only good for a paddle. Room rate around £130 per night so a little more than average for the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
3.7 mi away
Village Hotel Aberdeen
Village Hotel Aberdeen
#20 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
4.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
5.0 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Marriott Hotel

Property: Aberdeen Marriott Hotel
Address: Overton Circle-Dyce, Aberdeen AB21 7AZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#22 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Marriott Hotel is ideally located 2 miles from Aberdeen International Airport and 6 miles from the city centre, offering elegant accommodations in the thriving port known as the Granite City. With a Spirit to Serve culture our associates know the unique requirements for both the leisure and business traveller alike. Our hotel features 155 spacious Guest rooms, Executive Lounge, Business Centre, complimentary WiFi in all public areas, 24 hour room service, on-site car parking for registered guests and air conditioning throughout. For dining requirements, Source Grill offers a wide variety of fantastic Scottish and International dishes whilst in the more informal Chats Bar we proudly serve Starbucks™ Coffee, an ideal venue for catching up with family and colleagues. Our Leisure Club is complimentary for all guests staying at the hotel and includes an indoor heated pool, whirlpool and sauna as well as a well-equipped fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Aberdeen
Aberdeen Marriott Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing