We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ALL WAS WELL AT THE WELLINGTON”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #32 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ALL WAS WELL AT THE WELLINGTON”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff we met were Michael, Paula, Stephanie and Lorraine. They were all extremely nice, helpful, and efficient too.!! Room[1] was small but comfortable, very clean, and bed was cosy. We had dinner on both Friday and Saturday nights, and everything we ordered [ from a good choice] was well cooked, tasty, and well presented, as were the breakfasts. We'll definitely go back soon.!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLMA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    36
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
23
35
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were quite small but comfortable. The hotel is a single storey building beside a dual carriageway. With this said there was very little noise from the road and the room was nicely decorated. The bed was a bit bouncey and saged slightly in the middle. Not a bad hotel but not the greatest eithet

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was originally booked into the Thistle Caledonian for 2nights. At 11.30pm a noise started above my bathroom that was so loud it shook the walls. The staff were slow to respond and by 12.30am I'd had enough as the hotel was fully booked so they couldn't move me, and I certainly couldn't sleep (even with the earplugs they'd given me!). So I started ringing around to move that night. 21 hotels later (it was a Wednesday and the weather was atrocious so the choppers weren't moving to take the guys out to the rigs so everywhere was full) Frank at the Wellington said he had one room left for that night. He was so nice. So I didn't hesitate and said I'd be there within half an hour. I then took a look at some pics and thought it might not be the best I've ever stayed in but didn't think I had a choice.

Having checked out from the Thistle with them insisting on charging me for the 10mins I spent in bed £138 (!!!!) I jumped in a taxi in below zero temperatures with all my bags and went to the Wellington. Frank greeted me and insisted on carrying my bags in, didn't muck around with formalities and forms and all that as I'd clearly had a time of it and just got the key, took me to my room, told me what I needed and then left me alone to settle. Very nice room indeed. Very comfy bed, pillows and towels. Immaculate decor, very good tv MUCH better than the Caledonians. Great shower, tea etc available in the room. So I finally got some sleep, very happily.

The next morning I slept a little later to try to catch up and at 8.30 was ready to go. One of the hotel staff (all very friendly by the way) knocked on my door and asked if I'd managed to have breakfast... I said no as I had to rush to work and she was so lovely as she'd found out I'd arrived so late and insisted on packing me up a breakfast to have on the way. A delicious bacon roll! So I made sure my booking for the second night was confirmed.

Anyway. I could go on. They were lovely, the hotel was great. OK it's not right in the centre of Aberdeen. Ok so my window view wasn't of the amazing countryside or anything but their hospitality, the rooms, and overall their kindness would absolutely make me go back.

Aberdeen have a captive audience with all the oil guys so consequently often their customer service is less than it should be... Why should they bother... They always have customers...

The Wellington breaks the mould. Thank you. You're doing a fantastic job.

KB

Room Tip: I was in room 3 and it was great but from what I can see, they're all pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonMgr, General Manager at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. Frank is a valued employee and very important to our hotel. I am sure he will be very pleased to hear such great comments. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Biggest mistake this restaurant has made is to remove the family childrens area, on asking a waitress why.? We were told changing it to a conference room makes more them more money!,, I for sure will not return it used to be nice to have a family meal with something for the children to do
Poor poor poor, pity they had a niche market not very many real family friendly eateries in aberdeen then again the pound speaks volumes doesn't it!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonMgr, General Manager at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I will be looking in to doing more for the kids. We still consider our hotel, very much family friendly and hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great value for money, modern decor, fabulous breakfasts and the evening meals in the restaurant were very good quality at reasonable prices. Staff were friendly. Rooms were clean and tidy with a flat screen tv. Look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonMgr, General Manager at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we now have a new spring/summer menu with some great offers. Many new dishes to try, and some new additions to the 2 courses for £9.95 section. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, West Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night at the start of February - I was attending a birthday party in the Aberdeen Harbour area so this hotel was conveniently located. We booked a good rate through booking.com.

The hotel exterior is not much to look at but the interior is lovely. Our room was compact but had everything we needed for a one night stay. It was spotless and modern and the bed was very comfortable. The onsite restaurant was convenient and offered standard pub grub at reasonable prices. Our breakfast the next morning was very good with plenty of selection.

Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KC0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonMgr, General Manager at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

went for a birthday dinner, adults only, got seats in the snugg, to witch was very nice, but,,, oh yes their is a but,, it was very cold, they even had the air con on,,service was very nice and very quick, FOOD WAS THE BEST BIT OF OUR VISIT, 100% HAPPY WITH WHO EVER IS THE CHEF, STARTER, MAIN, AND PUDDING, LOVELY. THANKS TO THE CHEF,,
Coffee's had t go back as they were cold, will be back soon, thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirleylaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonMgr, General Manager at Wellington Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am sure the kitchen team will be glad to hear your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#42 of 65 in Aberdeen
239 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Summerhill Hotel And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Globe Inn
The Globe Inn
#12 of 102 in Aberdeen
130 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crayfords Guest House
Crayfords Guest House
#30 of 102 in Aberdeen
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: Wellington Road, Aberdeen AB12 3GH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wellington Hotel is located just off the Wellington Road and offers a convenient destination for both families and business alike. The restaurant benefits from a large window wall at one end allowing light to flood through making for a pleasant and inviting environment. A small tots play area provides a safe area in which guests of 4yrs and under can relax and let off a bit off steam.Never miss a minute of your favourite television show, as our booths have got flat screen televisions installed. These are strategically placed inside each booth for your viewing pleasure.The Hotel has 20 well appointed bedrooms (some with baths, all with showers) which make for a comfortable and restful oasis for those away from home.Restaurant opening hours11.30am until 11pm Sunday to Thursday11.30am until 11pm Friday and SaturdayFood service timesMonday to Thursday 11.30am - 9.30pmFri & Sat 11.30am - 10pmSunday 11am - 9.30pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing