We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel”
Review of Atholl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Hotel
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love this hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed at the Atholl hotel for the last 3 nights . Ist class service. Homely,Great food ,rooms very clean and comfortable.
Suitable for families or travelling alone.
Basically if your looking for a genuine welcome come to the Atholl hotel.

Room Tip: My favourite hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seannyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you Sean, we very much appreciate your positive review and comments and thank you for taking the time to write them.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Here at the Atholl we strive to make our guests feel at home and are pleased to hear that we have done just that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    121
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
65
109
32
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I booked this hotel off booking.com for my colleague and as he was working in the Dice are for one night. he has nothing but amazing things to say about this hotel and I will be booking the guys in here from now on. thanks very much for making his stay as nice as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseleitchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your positive review Louise.

We are delighted that your colleague enjoyed his stay with us. Here at the Atholl we strive to make our guests feel at home and are pleased to hear that we have done just that.

We look forward to welcoming your colleagues back to the Atholl in the near future.

With Kindest Regards
The Atholl Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at the Atholl Hotel last weekend - a wee break from our 3 year old spaniel - and the hotel was more than expected. I have NEVER stayed in such a clean and tastefully decorated hotel ever! We had a meal in the restaurant both nights and the food was fantastic. The restaurant was full of local accents which just showed how good this restaurant is that locals visit it!! Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone .... may return sometime.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Atholl Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us. All of your fantastic comments will be passed on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkmichael, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When visiting family in the Granite City, we always stay at the Atholl. Just back from another splendid weekend there. Beautiful old silver house, tastefully extended. Great staff, hearty breakfast. Only problem is that we can never get a table for dinner - small dining room, very popular.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Atholl. It is great to hear such positive comments regarding your stay. All of your comments will be passed on to our team members. Our restaurant is very popular with locals and unfortunately does fill up very quickly. Please contact us when you make your hotel reservation and we will hopefully be able to reserve you a table in advance. I hope this did not affect your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Needed a hotel at short notice for meetings in Aberdeen, great choice, warm welcome, lovely room, nice touches with two bottles of water. Nice clean kettle, (a bugbear of mine!). Comfortable bed, all clean and comfy, good pillows, quilt and throw, good shower, although there seemed to be quite a leak on the hose (room 45). Breakfast was excellent, with all the trimmings of a full Scottish breakfast. I did not need to eat all day! Staff all v helpful, especially reception, thanks for a good night sleep, will be back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank memphisbeckons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review for the Atholl Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of your kind comments will be passed on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have eaten in the Atholl restaurant on a 2 monthly basis for many years and quite literally have never had a disappointing meal. The Atholl favorites include Scotch broth, mince and skirlie, roast beef etc. which are to die for - good Scottish favourites. They cater for vegetarians, half portions, something a bit different and the usual suspects of staple Scottish cuisine.

A special mention must go to the staff. Gordon the managing partner runs a slick well trained group of staff, most efficient at quick drinks and friendly local chat. This is a very Scottish hotel. Perfect for visitors to the city and perfect for locals.

I do food safety training and Gordon invited me to look in to the kitchen, no notice needed - well ordered and sparkling clean. I wouldn't have expected anything less.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LDMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review for the Atholl Hotel. It is fantastic to hear that you enjoy coming to the hotel on such a regular basis. Our aim is to provide great customer service along with great food for all of our customers. Your comments will be passed on to all of our team, who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed here for business for a couple of nights, the hotel is in a nice area of Aberdeen, fairly close to the airport, approx 5-10 mins in the taxi.
The staff were very helpful as I had some requests prior to my arrival, which were taken care of in advance.
Hotel and rooms were very clean, as evident by the large number of room attendands I saw working throughout the hotel in the morning.
Food was good quality and decent portions. I would use this hotel again in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisTC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review for the Atholl. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim has always been to provide a fantastic service for all of our guests. Your comments will be passed on to the team who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#20 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Property: Atholl Hotel
Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#9 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing