We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Atholl Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Jurys Inn(Aberdeen)
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$103
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ibis Aberdeen Centre(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$78
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Inn by Radisson Aberdeen(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$75
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel(Aberdeen)(Great Value!)
$58
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (415)
Filter reviews
415 results
Traveler rating
251
130
26
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
130
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden weddingscotch brothpopular with localstraditional hotelgranite buildingroast beeffudgecomfortable hotelcooked optionswell run hoteltrouser presscity centresticky toffee puddingchain hotelslovely mealbirthday partyexcellent hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
280 - 285 of 415 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on a previous occasion and the standards are still as good (if not better). We had a very warm greeting on checking in and given directions to our room which was spotlessly clean. The restaurant that night was fully booked for the time that we wanted to eat but there was ample space in the bar area. This hotel would appear to be very popular with the locals and judging by the quality of the food we can see why. We spoke to the lady on reception regarding rail journeys and other attractions in Scotland, and later in the evening she came to our seats and gave us printed out details of these venues...'nice touch'. Breakfast was first class, and ample parking. All the staff which we spoke to were extremely pleasant and a credit to the management. Revist is a must. Thanks to you all.
( Sat/nav will not locate this postcode.)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul7628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Hi Paul,
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. Your comments are very kind and will of course be passed onto our team. We aim to keep our focus on delivering fantastic customer service to all of our guests throughout the hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Atholl on your return journey to Aberdeen and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed at The Atholl Hotel with colleagues for a business trip to Aberdeen. Was better priced than many other similar type hotels but had good reviews. Was not disappointed
Staff very good; professional, friendly and happy..... Nothing too much trouble.
Restaurant very good with good menu choices. Breakfast very good.
Rooms spacious, modern and clean with good internet speed.
Overall, very good and will definitely use again next time in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Good Afternoon Mark, thank you for the fantastic comments regarding our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a very hard working team who are proud of the product and service that we offer. All of your comments will be passed onto them and they will be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

5-day stay for the science festival at the University of Aberdeen. Chose the Atholl because I wanted easy, free, secure parking, quiet location and a walkable distance (or not-too-expensive taxi ride) from the city centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good food in the restaurant, which can get fully booked, but the same food is also available in the bar without booking. In no way trendy, but very comfortable, good-sized room, clean.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you taking the time to post a review for the Atholl. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Aberdeen. Parking spaces are very scarce in the city, therefore we are delighted we can offer guests a complimentary, safe place to park their car during their stay. Your fantastic comments have been passed onto our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl during your next trip to Aberdeen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

First of all, I'll emphasise what this hotel isn't: it isn't a trendy city center hotel, nor is it somewhere that you would go to experience the nightlife. It is, however, a friendly small hotel with immaculate, individually decorated rooms and a nice location in the quiet (but upmarket) West End of Aberdeen.

The staff were (without exception) friendly and eager to help and the food (while nothing adventurous) was all home cooked and clearly made from high quality local ingredients.

This hotel would be suited to either someone looking for a base touring the area or a business person looking for a small, quiet hotel to return to the evening. The personal touch marking it out from the large chain hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Turtle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Director of Sales at Atholl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for your review. It really is great to hear when people have enjoyed their stay with us. The hotel's success is based on hard work, good food and great family values. Your comments will be shared with team, who will be delighted to hear them. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Atholl in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our three night stay was very comfortable and relaxing. Service was excellent and the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel has traditional furnishings and decor and its relatively small size gives it an intimate and personal feel (unlike large chain hotels). A minor negative was that the bathroom in our allocated room had adaptations for wheelchair users, so the basin was only just above my husband's knee height. (If you're looking for this facility I'd certainly recommend this hotel). Breakfast was a highlight: great selection including full cooked blow-out! The locally sourced smoked kippers were fantastic. Overall an excellent experience that we're very likely to repeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Atholl Hotel and for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your complimentary comments regarding our team and food have been passed onto the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews