We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atholl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Atholl Hotel
Ranked #15 of 62 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights for the weekend of the 26th April 2013. The room was spacious (no 17 )although the view was poor looking out to a wall however it was clean and the maids did the room quite early each morning and gave you clean towels etc. One thing that was missing was a toilet brush seems a strange thing to miss out from a bathroom ! also the toilet when flushed had to wait at least 5 mins to flush it again small but simple annoying things. The food was excellent and the staff in the Hotel were polite and curteous especially Rachael in reception who could not do enough for you but all the reception staff were good. There was a slight problem between the waitress and the chefs but only minor if you asked for one of anything at breakfast you always got two it was as if the chef only read the item on the list and not the quantity asked for as the waitress clearly wrote down everything we said. i also asked for no mushrooms and got them so that backs up my earlier statement, but the food itself was really good and the restuarant at night was always busy with locals so that tells its own story. over all it was a great stay in a very nice part of town and i would book there again

Room Tip: ask for a room that has some views not no 17 . front of the Hotel will have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnieduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for The Atholl Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
A toilet brush is not supplied in our bathrooms for hygiene reasons. This is one of our own policies and that of many other hotels. All of our guest bedrooms are serviced daily.
We have passed your comments onto Rachael, who is delighted to be mentioned!
We have followed up and taken action regarding your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Atholl Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    109
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
100
29
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent one night DB&B at the Atholl hotel and found it an excellent place to stay in Aberdeen. The restaurant was busy but served large portions - beware before ordering because we were stuffed before the end and couldn't manage dessert! But the fare was excellent, traditional Scottish fare and plenty of it. Breakfast next morning was also a hearty affair, so don't go there expecting to lose weight! The bar was busy and the service efficient. The room we had was the turret room directly on the front of the building - a wonderful quaint room with powerful shower and oh-so-comfortable bed. Everything we could have wanted and more -highly recommended for an Aberdeen visit, a short walk into city centre and on a bus route for the less mobile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for The Atholl Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your complimentary comments regarding the food have been passed onto our kitchen team. We look forward to welcoming back to The Atholl in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This was given so many good reviews by friends that when we needed a weekend trip we stayed here. The staff are friendly and always busy, this seemed to be non-stop at reception. The room, food and ambiance is traditional and all done well. You can still walk to the centre, it took us around ten minutes. Nice to see a show and not have to look for parking or taxis. Perfect weekend trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Atholl and for taking the time to post a review. It is great to hear that your friends had recommended us to you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next weekend trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed overnight whilst attending a function at the hotel.
Great location within walking distance of the city centre. There is a bus service too which stops pretty much outside the hotel.
Nice welcome and efficient check in.
Hotel room lovely. Very comfortable and well laid out.
Didn't eat in the hotel, except for breakfast which was excellent.
I would definitely recommed and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maybin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for The Atholl Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have stayed at the Atholl twice now, both on business trips.On both occasions I have found the service to be prompt and friendly, however busy they are there always seems to be someone available to answer your query.

The Atholl is a bustling hotel with many of the restaurant guests being locals (which for me is always a good sign).

I fully intend to stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 371NigelL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing to return to The Atholl and for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you were made to feel welcome and look forward to you returning to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is one of those places you find by accident and return with intent. What a fabulous find! Very clean and well-kept, everything in working order. Amazing restaurant. Family oriented, a bit of an older crowd, but such a fine representation of Scottish values and cooking. Not one negative here.

Room Tip: No lift, but a bellman will take your bags. Not a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for The Atholl Hotel. We pride ourselves on family values with great customer service. It is great to hear that this is recognised by our customers. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to stay with us in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I had been recommended this hotel by a work colleague and I was not disappointed. The food was excellent and there were different specials each night. As I am away with work a lot by myself I prefer to uswe room service in the evening and it was much appreciated that I could choose anything from the restaurant menu rather than the usual burgers, pizzas and fish and chips. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AthollHotelAberdeen, Owner at Atholl Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for The Atholl Hotel. It is great news to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would return. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Aberdeen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.4 mi away
The Chester Hotel
The Chester Hotel
#11 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#18 of 62 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atholl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholl Hotel

Property: Atholl Hotel
Address: 54 King's Gate, Aberdeen AB15 4YN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#4 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#13 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atholl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at The Atholl Hotel in Aberdeen. For guests and culinary devotees, private functions and business parties, there is a long standing tradition of providing the very best. Our surroundings are unique and new decor sumptuous, our atmosphere is tranquil, warm and friendly. Why not experience it for yourself? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Atholl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing