We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free and interesting”

Provost Skene's House
Ranked #48 of 152 things to do in Aberdeen
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: **Provost Skene's House is temporarily closed to the Public** The House will be closed during the development of Marischal Square. We apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Bowhill, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Free and interesting”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Narrow stairways and low doors which are not good for tall people, free entry, however we left a donation. Rooms were interesting and worth the look. A lot bigger on the inside than we thought.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    28
    6
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Friendly staff and interesting facts. Loved the room with the painted wall panels. Central location and lovely cafe. Bacon sandwiches were delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank daisyhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The most hidden treasure in Aberdeen”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I loved the Whole place, you enter for free and you can also have something at the bar downstairs. What a pity, it has a TERRIBLE, AWFUL building just in front of it: I hope it'll be demolished soon to give space to this jewel!!! (That day, I'll be there to cheer!)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caecilia_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

As I live in Aberdeen and have grandchildren to entertain, this is one of my regular stops when in the city centre. Although it is even more hidden away than usual because of surrounding redevelopment, it is close to Marischal College and two shopping centres.
The rooms in the house are furnished in styles from different centuries, providing an insight into how people lived through the ages. Similarly, the costume gallery has clothes from different eras.
One word of warning - the stone steps are sometimes quite narrow and step so take care if you have any mobility problems. The downstairs cafe has a section of glass floor which reveals the basement area. If you are in this area, Provost Skene's House, Marischal College, the Tollbooth Museum and the Maritime Museum are all within walking distance and all are free.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It interestingly spooky”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Provest skenes house is one of aberdeens great stops as it has alot of history and it is really interesting to learn about all the things they have on show plus the place is haunted so if your into the paranormal it has to be put on your list of places to visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provost Skene's House also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Provost Skene's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing