We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.98*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #19 of 150 things to do in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've long been dragged around NTS properties by my parents but this is one I've always truly enjoyed. The gardens are immaculate and glorious on a rare sunny day. A lovely cup of tea and a scone is guaranteed in the quaint little tea room, a must for my mother. It really is great that the gardens make such an effort to reach out to the community, with outdoor plays staged regularly and the lovely harvest festival a local favourite. All in all, the gardens make for a lovely family day out.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    44
    10
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A sight worth seeing”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Pitmedden Gardens are a lovely place, especially in summer. The formal garden display is stunning especially the sunken garden viewed from the upper terrace garden wall.
The Museum of Farming Life is interesting especially the accommodations and the toilet.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Una53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A National Trust GEM”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A highly motivated staff makes sure the Gardens are kept up to scratch. Recently featured in the National Trust magazine. Quite apart from the excellent gardens, you can visit outdoor theatre occasions (Gilbert and Sullivan and Shakespeare Richard III). Also special days such as Apple Sundays when produce is on sale. Back up shop and tea-room make it a worthwhile social occasion for visitors. Closed during the winter but lots of work goes on to get ready for the new season.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank donhawthorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“harvest festival”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I visited with my daughter and grandson. It was a great day with lots to interest all of us. The gardens were beautiful and the atmosphere with the crowds of people there made this a memorable day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank missush49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scones”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We both had the soup and scone deal.
Soup was good and the scones were nice. Great surroundings .Good value. Have been several times and will be back again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing