We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Malvern J”

Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.44*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #19 of 151 things to do in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Malvern J”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Lovely garden in formal layout as original, museum very interesting and well laid out. Art exhibition and wood turning display when we went added to interest. Lovely food and service in cafe. Although late September the garden still had a lot of colour the only downside is like many formal gardens most of it could be seen from one point, particularly as the elevated point was the natural approach. However we throughly enjoyed our visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    45
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Trust propertys”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

beautiful gardens and the farming museam had very interesting exhibits.
the small cafe served lovely home made baking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank photmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
498 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We probably should have gone over more of this attraction, but we had other places to go. We went at a time that was not the best for the gardens, but they were still beautiful and interesting. Nice walk of a wooded area in addition to the formal gardens.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“immaculate clipped yew and box, congrats to the gardeners!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pitmedden has some gorgeous parterres - clipped box hedges cut into complex patterns, interplanted with seasonal bedding. When we went, there were lovely scented pinks and alyssum, as well as colourful begonias. The box hedges were perfectly clipped, and looked really mature and healthy. There is also clipped yew topiary, and some gorgeous herbaceous borders with espaliered fruit trees against the garden walls. A shop with the usual National Trust goodies, and a tea room with home baking, made for a lovely afternoon's outing. The only disappointment was that they had no plants for sale - apparently they had had to cut back on garden staff and as a result didn't have the time to propagate plants for sale any more.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gardener_Lndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent a lovely afternoon walking round the gardens and farm museum, loved the old house. Its a good day out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Pitmedden Garden & Museum of Farming Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing