We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour of Distillery”

Fettercairn Distillery
Ranked #6 of 18 Tours in Aberdeen
Attraction details
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Distillery”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited from Aberdeen - about 30 minutes drive. The distillery works 24 hours a day and for £3.50 per adult and under 18s free you get a guided tour of the distillery and a wee dram (for the over 18s only!).
It was quite when we visited so we had a personal tour with one of the guides who was very informative. We didnt realise that whisky making involved so many stages. Well worth a visit and we combined with a trip to Balmakewan Farm Shop Tea Room in Marykirk for lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharsco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Distillery Exclusive Whisky is a MUST BUY”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Me and my wife loves Fettercairn whisky therefore visited here for our Honey Moon last summer.
(all the way from Japan)

As a whisky mania, this distillery is very famous for the cascading potstill refering the Unicorn which is the Crest of the Ramsay Family.

We have appllied the Manager tour and therefore Distillery Manager David has guided us around every place. I was astonished to see the actual the potstill and it was a true beauty, yes the best I've ever seen!(It was a silent season but he put the cascade on for us to see. Thx David!)

(We've also learnt that Fettercairn village is also famous for being flooded by the mountain waters which you will never read on whisky books)

There was three tasting (most of the output goes to the blends so there are not many releases)

First one given before walking the distillery was the FIOR, which is a limited release which may still be able to purchase in Japan(and my favorite).

The last two were the Distillery Exclusives which are so so lovely. Vatting young peaty ones and old matured one together to create the best balance in cask strength is so wonderful.

You'll get the nattiness and earthiness with riped orange and non-marinical peat smokiness spledding into your plate in elegant manner. I only bought one but I should have bought more...

My personal opinion, whisky is not just the grace of time (waiting for maturation) but the art of vatting so therefore I think Fettercairn single malt with no age statement should be one of the goals all whisky must aim for.

Well this article may sound more like an whisky tasting notes, but the location of the distillery is beautiful and the distillery itself is painted white with the pure unicorn drawn of the wall which characterise this whisky and is so elegant. (I think the most elegant distillery in the world!)

For whisky mania, this place is a must visit and exclusive whisky is a must buy!
(Forget all about the J.M's bible)

Slainte mhor!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank kuraku3826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Turning up around lunch time on a Monday unsurprisingly the Distillery was quiet, yet we were met with a welcome ?Christine as a tourguide who happily took the three of us on a tour straight away. Interesting to see the distillery in working mode, and lovely to receive such a personal experience. Needless to say the whiskey tasting went well and therefore money well spent in the small gift shop. A lovely wee village and great value for money - a must if in the area!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lmp8475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, pleasant staff”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Bit out of the way (originally to escape the attention of the excisemen) but a very picturesque distillery with very friendly & helpful staff - we were made very welcome. For my money this is also one of Scotland's best whiskies - not widely known but an excellent combination of sherry cask flavour, subtle peat giving a very smooth & well balanced whisky. Recommended.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mbrown60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good value tour, although probably better when the distillery is actually running!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I visited the distillery with a group of friends in late July. The distillery is located near the picturesque village of Fettercairn, which itself is well-worth a visit. The distillery is a small one, which, judging by the small (and empty) car park does not receive many visitors.

On arrival we requested a tour and were shown around straight away. The tour was comprehensive on facts, although there wasn't a great deal of anecdote or interest in the tour. This, combined with the distillery being on shutdown that week, meant it was a little bit impersonal. Nonetheless it was very interesting to be shown the machinery and be told the process.

Afterwards you are treated to a glass of the distillery's produce, which was very tasty. You must sit through a rather odd film during this experience, however, which is a bit pointless! The shop is small but has a good selection of the distillery's whisky.

Overall it was a diverting hour and, for £3.50 per person, you would be pretty churlish to complain. If you're in the area it is well-worth a visit, but I wouldn't travel specifically for it.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fettercairn Distillery also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Fettercairn Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing