We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Day at Craigievar”
Review of Craigievar Castle

Craigievar Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.78*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
Ranked #9 of 151 things to do in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 17th-century castle once owned by the brother of the Bishop of Aberdeen. Open Spring and Summer only.
Mount Pleasant
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Day at Craigievar”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The price to enter the castle is a bit high. Grounds are free and the food in the little town is very good - had a great hot, fresh meat pie and guiness ;-). Really enjoyed the gardens. Did not spend the extra $ to go in the castle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gsoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    90
    15
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Very nice tour”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I visited here recently with my sister and her two children aged 5 and 10. A lovely lady who was very informative and easy to listen to showed us round the castle. Our group consisted of 9 adults and our two children and was an ideal number for the tour.
We enjoyed the fact that the castle was used as a family home until the 1960's despite having no electricity and I believe from what the guide said that the family still takes an active interest in the property despite it now being owned by the National Trust.
This wasn't a very exciting tour for the children like the Crathes and Drum Castle visits where the children have quizzes and treasure hunts but the guide did try her best to include the children by asking them to find the many cockerels in various places within the castle rooms.
Overall we really enjoyed our visit to this beautiful and interesting property.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
509 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great guide and interesting castle”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This castle is done only as a guided tour. We had a small group of five people and the guide was very interesting, a bit sassy. Interesting how the owners had added some updates in the 1920's which were still what we would consider roughing it. Interesting points included very early tapestries done by a lady of the family and the nursery, which is usually not seen on tours of castles and great houses.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Annoying Tour Guide”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Visited Craigievar Castle with my friend from London and 9 year old daughter yesterday. I have visited many castles and enjoyed their splendour and magic with the insights from the tour guides. But oh my. The tour guide, a relatively young chap, when not making rather derogatory comments about Scotland - oh well it is Scotland, sun doesn't shine in Scotland - eh it is a castle in SCOTLAND and slagging off his other tour guides!!. He was more interested in stopping us from touching the brass that he kept telling us he had polished that morning. His humour fell flat and put us off the tour. Really disengaging, patronising and spoilt a tour of a fabulous venue. At the end of our tour, heard a little of the next tour guides information and wish we had had her she was imparting far more relative information. Lots to learn from other castles and guides.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MandyDoll17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“beautiful from the outside”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

we didnt actually go into the castle as we didnt have time, from the outside, it is definately one of the best castles in the north east. i wasnt that impressed with the grounds, but still worth visiting all the same. felt the £12 entry charge was a bit steep, considering more famous castles ive visited this summer is usually around the £9 mark.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank suvodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigievar Castle also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Craigievar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing