We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Meal to Round off a Lovely Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 108 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
335 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Splendid Meal to Round off a Lovely Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and several close friends enjoyed a lovely dinner to celebrate our daughter's graduation in this hotel.
The welcome was very warm and the food was excellent. The staff were very friendly and efficient.
Afterwards, everyone was very complimentary for the service provided and I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Aberdeen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stranathro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    71
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
50
69
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were recommended this hotel by a work colleague. We're very glad he did. The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel really welcome. The food was good, too. I agree with AudB that the rooms could do with a makeover, but our room had a fantastic bay window, so it was very light and airy (we also had a hairdryer).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suehazpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Saturday can be a busy night at any good restaurant and the better ones cope very well, last Saturday was no exception 3 couples sat down 8.15pm and had an excellent meal the guys all had starters and the girls just had a main course which I couldn't finish, although left mostly chips. We were the last to leave the restaurant - not the first time that has happened, staff were excellent with just the right banter, they were a happy bunch of girls. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed there with my husband during his business trip and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I'll admit the rooms are well in need of a re-vamp...last done around 1990 by the look of them! However ours was spotlessly clean and apart from a hairdryer had everything else we needed. The staff were excellent...attentive and so helpful and friendly. Top marks from me for the food...beautifully cooked and presented... it was possibly the best hotel food i've ever eaten. The restaurant was full on a Thurs evening...so the locals obviously love it too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

I have eaten here previously and enjoyed it, however went for lunch on Saturday and it cost us nearly £60 for 3 lunches!!!!! My mum took the special of the day - nowhere did it tell us the price of it - however on receiving the bill we were charged £14.95 for a small piece of chicken with hard vegetables that would hardly have fed a child. This is the kind of price i'd expect to pay in a 5 star hotel for lunch.

And as for Dougies apple crumble - appalling. It was full of sultanas and the custard was lump - Dougie seriously needs to learn some cooking skills.

Will not be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in the US
Level Contributor
95 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We dined here with friends (who don't like to pay parking charges in Aberdeen) so didn't want to complain there and then. \The food was awful- the fish was all batter, the chips were undercooked- the homemade brie wedges were not deep fried- they were put in the oven and heated and were not boiling hot and runny inside. The apple crumble on the other hand was overcooked. The meal cost us £40 per couple (and that was with tap water to drink) - an expensive mistake- we won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airmilesfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We arrived in Aberdeen on April 26Th 2011...I had booked our room on-line we arrived early the restaurant was not open but we were ushered into the pub and brought toast and tea...while we waited for our room. We felt so welcomed by all the staff, they were all very friendly. Our first introduction to Cullen Skink Soup made with smoked haddock and Sticky toffee Pudding ...our favorites ...we were both very happy with the room very clean and fresh, the restaurant ...food was always delicious. The only problem was finding parking on the grounds, as there was no designated parking spots for guests, would be good if they had a few. We would definitely stay there again when we go next time

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrushka2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryhill House Hotel

Property: Ferryhill House Hotel
Address: 169 Bon Accord Street, Aberdeen AB11 6UA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferryhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ferryhill House Hotel...your family friendly hotel, bar & restaurant in the heart of the city centre! Set in our private gardens, The Ferryhill House Hotel has a large restaurant with conservatory serving an extensive menu of home cooked food, a traditional bar area with a wide selection of drinks, nine en-suite bedrooms and an outdoor sun terrace with playpark. Located only a short distance from the main city centre, The Ferryhill House Hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy relaxing drink, fine food and a comfortable place to rest your head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Ferryhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryhill House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing