We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and intimate hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryhill House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great and intimate hotel!”
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Loved Ferryhill House Hotel. It's a charming hotel with excellent staff. Clean and lovely rooms. Fabulous restaurant and adjoining pub with crackling fire to keep you warm on those chilly Scottish nights. Everyone was friendly and helpful and it was centrally located so we could walk to the city centre and train station. But it was also in quiet nice neighborhood for privacy and peace.

There are only 9 rooms, which makes it even more special. Great food!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank termede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    72
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
50
70
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
berkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2007

Hotel was good, excellent location,food fantastic and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were a litle to hot maybe fans would be good in the summer months, or top sheets instead of heavy quilts. Building work going on at moment, did hear a little noise during the night, did not spoil our stay.

The hotel is very popular with the locals in Aberdeen, the only negative comment I would like to mention was the way smokers sit on the front steps - the main entrance to the hotel . Did not like walking through the cigarette smoke .Maybe signs should be put up stopping this happening, did notice this was the case on other bars in Abedeen.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — rooms too hot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We were so disappointed with the food - had arranged to meet friends for dinner and the pork that 3 of us ordered was so tough that you could hardly chew it! Had anticipated it though as we had overheard two women complain about it as well.

I wrote a letter of complaint as it was an expensive meal at the quality that we received but to this day have still not recieved a reply,which is really, really disappointing customer service.

Six of us will not be back.......

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley2!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveller1Scotland, Owner at Ferryhill House Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2007
My husband and I take all forms of criticism very seriously. After receiving a letter regarding the disappointing experience these people had with their meal at the hotel, we discussed the pork dish in question with our chefs and have now removed it from our menu. A full refund was sent for the main courses which were not up to our usual high standard. It is our aim that everyone visiting the hotel and restaurant enjoys their time with us and we are confident that in the vast majority of cases we live up to the very high standards which we set.
Julie Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

Well where to start; I was going to Aberdeen on business and knew that I would be there for several weeks so the travel lodge I might usually use for an overnighter was out of the question. (Who in their right mind would spend more than 1 night in a travel lodge?) I wanted to find somewhere comfortable with decent food, a bar and at a reasonable price - IN ABERDEEN!!!!
I've no chance - or so I thought...... What do I do when I go on holiday, I pondered, hmmmm.....? Trip advisor.
Once again guys you didn't let me down, what a wee gem! The staff are polite, helpful and friendly, the food was very good indeed, and plentiful portions. I would recommend that the chef try and introduce a bit more variety though, I suspect with his talent he could afford to be a little more adventurous! The rooms were clean and comfortable although there is most assuredly a problem with the water pressure in room 7. A couple of occasions I was left in the shower lathered up with nothing coming out of the shower head to rinse me off. I suspect this had to do with the building work on their extension which should be finished in the New Year I think.
This small family run hotel is clean, comfortable, welcoming and is very centrally situated. All in all real value for money. Trip report from Latvia coming up in the New Year. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Liked — The warmth and helpfullness of the staff.
  • Disliked — Water pressure
  • Tips/Secrets — Book way in advance and also book your table for dinner.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AceOspades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2006

Great Hotel Comfy Rooms and Excellent Selection of Malts and Real Ales in the busy friendly bar. Excellent Breakfast too.

  • Liked — Great Bar
  • Disliked — Walking from City centre in the rain
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DerbyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2006

My fiance & I stayed here for 2 nights at the start of November, we had never stayed here before but after reading a couple reviews of other sites were glad we did.
The hotel is small about 9 rooms, has a public bar & seperate restaurant.
On our arrival we were surprised at how busy it was & had a problem trying to get parked, they seemed very busy in the restaurant which was a good sign.
The room we had was big, clean and comfortable although we did reckon could probably do with a wee face lift as decor was alittle dated. We didn eat in restaurant on our 1st night, but decided to on our 2nd and were more than happy with the menu and the service was excellent they couldn't do enough for you, but I would advise anyone wanting to eat in the restaurant to book your table as they managed squeeze us in but did advise us that would need table back for a certain time which we were happy enough with as we had plans for rest evenng.
The hotel is very central and easy to find by car, but you needn't take car into do shopping as is only about a 10min walk and saves on the parking charges which are awful in aberdeen.
We would recommend anyone to stay here and also even just for a meal, and if we are back in aberdeen for a night again would def try to book in here again.

  • Liked — How central it was
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottish-lass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Spent one night at the Ferryhill House in September, on a business trip. Arrived very late and very tired, but even the outside of the hotel was welcoming in the drizzle. It was about half an hour's walk from the train station, up and down hill.

I checked in at around 2230 and asked about dinner options: nowhere in town would be open at that time, so the manageress kindly made me a baked potato with chilli. I found the room clean, cosy and spacious. Although it was a standard room, there were lots of nice features: planty of plug sockets, hot chocolate in the courtesy tray and wireles internet. Nice bathroom with a good strong shower. On leaving, the breakfast was very generous and well-cooked.

The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. My overall impression is that although this looks like a fairly standard hotel, it's got lots of nice extras that make it a good place to stay.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Not central
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't walk from the station
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Nonamesorry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryhill House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryhill House Hotel

Property: Ferryhill House Hotel
Address: 169 Bon Accord Street, Aberdeen AB11 6UA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ferryhill House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Ferryhill House Hotel...your family friendly hotel, bar & restaurant in the heart of the city centre! Set in our private gardens, The Ferryhill House Hotel has a large restaurant with conservatory serving an extensive menu of home cooked food, a traditional bar area with a wide selection of drinks, nine en-suite bedrooms and an outdoor sun terrace with playpark. Located only a short distance from the main city centre, The Ferryhill House Hotel is the perfect setting to enjoy relaxing drink, fine food and a comfortable place to rest your head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Ferryhill House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryhill House Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing