We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff, worth the cost”
Review of Cults Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cults Hotel
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
highlands
2 reviews
“Great hotel, friendly staff, worth the cost”
Reviewed April 10, 2010

We booked in at the start of April for a family wedding hosted at the nearby Marcliffe. On arrival we went into the small but bright, clean and modern reception. There was no bell or way to let the staff know we were waiting, but we were soon attended by a pleasant staff member. After checking in, we asked if they were still serving food, and informed that the kitchens were shut (9.35pm) but that they would be happy tomake us some sandwiches.

The room was bright, modern and clean, and they had put a folding bed into our room for our 5 year old son. The room was very good, with every facility you would expect, and very comfortable.

We took up the offer of sandwiches in the bar area, which was bright, clean and comfortable. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, and we were made to feel very welcome.

Breakfast was served in a function room, and there was a good choice of good quality options. There was a large TV playing the news, and a number of newspapers to browse. Nice touch.

The second day of our stay was much the same, and we left comfortable, rested and happy. I would have no qualms about recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m1ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
36
44
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at the Cults for two nights. We were in Aberdeen attending a wedding elsewhere. Our room had been refurbished and was mainly very nice. Some of the designer touches, however, don't work too well. The closets are behind the headboard and are painted black inside. Since there is no light around there you can't see anything inside them and lots of groping results. There are high-intensity lights let into the ceiling but when you lie down on the bed they shine straight into your eyes. Minor points really. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was the usual instant heart attack feast.

The lobby is very small. There is an elevator marked for 'Disabled' only. Not thinking, we dragged our luggage up the stairs and nearly ended up disabled. Mistake. We used the elevator for luggage when checking out. The politically correct police did not catch us being naughty.

We came back from our wedding at midnight. The Cults had their own reception going. Right beneath the bedrooms, unfortunately. The music man wanted to entertain Dundee as well as Aberdeen and there were guests outside hootin' and hollerin'. It wrapped up at 1:00am and we got to sleep. I would suggest that you check with the hotel if they have a wedding going on. If you are at said wedding, then fine, not a problem.

Overall, a nice stay, excellent value for money, and I would not let any of this put us off going back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougYWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Stayed here in June as a friend was having a wedding reception in the hotel. Staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Room was great, decorated in a clean and modern style. Room even had a balcony overlooking the alotments out the back :-)
There was a good choice of Tea/Coffee/etc. in the room.
The Wedding reception was good, the function room was plesent and the staff were very attentive.
After a good nights sleep, we enjoyed a full and hearty breakfast in the conservatory.
We would definitely recomend this Hotel to anyone that is visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

We attended a function and stayed overnight in the annex. Very good and large room with sound proofing, so little noise got through. Food at the function was good, as was the breakfast, where the portions were large and service swift and friendly. Staff helpful throughout. Drink prices at the 'do' were a little expensive. When booking in and checking out, they kept forgetting that there are prefential rates if you're attending a function.

  • Liked — Large, clean room
  • Disliked — Nothing to 'least like'
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2008

The hotel is in a pleasant location, being set back slightly from the road on a wide corner just on the way into Cults. The number 19 bus runs regularly back and forth into the city just in front of the hotel and getting the bus might be a good idea as there is v. limited parking, less than 15 spaces.
We arrived at lunchtime and there were no spaces; I suspect a lot of them were being used by people eating in the restaurant. Luckily, after circling the area a few times, someone left and we got the space.
On entering the hotel you find a pleasant, modern lobby area but with no-one manning the desk, so you need to walk through the restaurant and wait at the bar to be served! I thought this was just because we arrived at lunchtime, but in fact we never saw anyone at the desk all day.
The hotel doesn't seem sure what sort of style it wants; going in to the restaurant and corridor to the rooms is like going back in time, with those bright, garish carpets and clashing wallpaper colours that you often see in old-fashioned hotel.
Like a previous reviewer, we also stayed in room 1 which indeed only has a view of a roof. It is a big room but in February that was actually a disadvantage as it was only heated by one small electric heater at the far end of the room and despite that being on full the whole time, the room never heated up.
They do have free wi-fi and a nice, flat screen TV, so there are things to do to distract yourself from the cold.
We found the bed comfortable (hate soft beds!) and the bathroom (shower only) big, bright and clean (no nasty drain smells during our visit).
As you can see from the photo, this room has been "modernised" with a headboard that would give you a migraine. However, they have kept the old fashioned desk and lamp which says to me it has been done on the cheap!
In the morning, we were the only people at breakfast (the breakfast room being back into the modern style again!) so I was surprised that the quality of food was distinctly average. The sausages and bacon were on the chewy side, like they'd been sitting round for a while and there was a huge pile of baked beans on the plate which were not mentioned on the menu. If I'd known, I would have asked them to keep them in the tin!
We were up in Aberdeen to look at potential wedding reception venues, and the Cults was immediately struck off the list; I would be embarrassed to bring our wedding guests here.
Overall:
Pros - Nice location, comfy bed, big bath (shower only) room, free wi-fi, pleasant staff.
Cons - Limited parking, Quality of food, Cold room, Bizarre decor

  • Liked — Free wi-fi
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank budster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend as we were attending a function nearby. We had a lovely spacious room with a beautiful original fiireplace, we had our young daughter and as usual a third bed was put in for her, it did not overcrowd the room, as we have experienced before in other hotels. My only negative point about the room was that we had to go outside of the hotel to get to it and as it was a wet weekend it was a bit annoying to have to take your brolly to breakfast!!!

The staff were relaxed and friendly. We ate in the restaurant on the saturday night, it was very busy and I think we were quite lucky to get a table, I have to say the food was unimaginative and bland... it was more of a pub food menu that a hotel restaurant.

However, I would stay in the hotel again, only not eat in the restaurant.

  • Liked — The bedroom and the coffee maker in the room
  • Disliked — The fact that we had to go outside to get to the hotel dining facilities
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank achmelvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2007

Just back from a one night stay in Cults Hotel. My husband has stayed previously on 2 occasions so we expected a nice room with great service. Sadly not this time. Firstly it took us 10 mins to find someone on arrival to check us in. Then we were unfortunate to get a very dull room (No 1) with a view of a roof.

The room was big but as well as the small overlooking roof it had a very strange old window which due to an extension on other side looked nowhere - it was just black on other side. As it had no purpose it was odd as, rather than cover it over and say put shelving over, it they had retained it in the room and dressed with a lovely curtain - looked very strange.

Bed was a bit hard. Furnishings looked new though but that was spoiled by scuffed paintwork on skirtings and a damp area on ceiling. En-suite has large shower only - but was powerful. Paint was peeling all over en-suite ceiling and toilet wobbles when you sit on it. Worst thing though was smell from plug-hole in sink ! They had 4 air-fresheners in there plus two bowls of pot-pourri - didn't work. They'd be better spending money on a plumber to sort it out properly.

Staff all very young - mostly foreign - and tho plentiful - seemed a bit aimless. We only saw an owner/manager on checking out - he was very friendly so maybe he just needs to be a bit more directive. Like I say my hubby has been before and had no issues though he did think some of the character had been lost with new extension. Maybe we were just unlucky but for me as a first-timer it just about scrapes a 3 star - v. average . It's a lovely area though and price was ok at £37 B&B so If you do decide to visit just make sure you ask for a room with a view - preferably of the tennis courts (they apparently also have a wee balcony).

  • Liked — Quiet - good location
  • Disliked — Smelly drains in bathroom
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macelven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.1 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#38 of 65 in Aberdeen
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
654 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cults Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cults Hotel

Property: Cults Hotel
Address: 328 North Deeside Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cults Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cults Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cults Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing