We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good by Aberdeen standards”
Review of Cults Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cults Hotel
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very good by Aberdeen standards”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

At last! I think I've found a hotel in Aberdeen that truly represents good value for money. My room was really nice and boutique style. The lounge restaurant was comfortable and the meal, chosen from a good menu, was very nice. Service was efficient and polite.

It is located on the south western edge of the city, a short journey into Union Street. Its one negative is parking, which is not widely available. However, I'll put up with that given that I would consider this very good overall, certainly at the (competitive) price of £125.

I'll be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
36
44
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Restaurant is very good though nothing special, service is excellent and there is always a nice friendly atmosphere when ever you visit menus is varied though selection for vegetarians is limited. Sunday roasts are superb and the bar offers a fine selection of single malts reasonably priced. Would recommend for singles, couples and family's . One tip though don't try the vegetable enchilada it's truly dreadful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Perfect location between the City and the Countryside.
Having travelled to work in Aberdeen for many years, we had never stayed in this hotel.
We were there for a weekend wedding, so we were guided in and what a pleasant surprise.
All of the staff were excellent and their attitude flowed through the hotel.
The bar is very friendly and frequented by locals. Very comfortable.
The room was very clean and spacious. The only question we would have for the management is to spend a little money on black out curtains as the sun hits the front of the hotel very early.
The full Scottish breakfast (with lot's of options) really set us up for the long drive home.
Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktbu711n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Cults hotel near Aberdeen on Friday night whilst at a nearby wedding. We weren't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised!

We parked our car right at the front door and checked-in. Our room was very well appointed and seemed that the whole hotel had recently been redecorated. Our room had a balcony and whilst it was small, had all the facilities you'd expect including dressing gowns and was very presentable.

Sluggish bar service was outweighed by great service elsewhere. We asked for an iron which promptly arrived and in the morning we slept through breakfast (late night weeding & first night away from baby) and they were good enough to bring it up to us later without charge.

All in all a very pleasant stay for the money. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice small hotel. As others say not much parking so you might get caught out arriving late. Breakfast ok, coffee good quality. Food nice, typical pub standard. Stopped over weekend with a function on the floor below the rooms, so if you want a early nights sleep find somewhere else to stop - we could identify every song. Rooms nicely decorated with bottled water and small balcony to look out over allotments and tennis courts. Not sure it's worth the £75 a night charge, little overpriced.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kaffeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My sister in law stayed in the Cults Hotel when we were attending a family wedding nearby. The staff could not have been more accommodating, thoughtful and efficient. The rooms were very comfortable, warm and we

Room Tip: Room 6 was delightful, quiet with a little balcony overlooking allotments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We chose the Cults hotel for its convenience to relatives we were visiting and because it wasn't too expensive (compared with other hotels in the area). It was okay but nothing special. Our room was cramped which made it uncomfortable. It overlooked the (busy) North Deeside Road and a combination of noise and car headlights, together with a small double bed did not make for a good nights' sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.1 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#38 of 65 in Aberdeen
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
654 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cults Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cults Hotel

Property: Cults Hotel
Address: 328 North Deeside Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cults Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cults Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cults Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing