We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cults Hotel, Aberdeen - December 2011”
Review of Cults Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cults Hotel
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Newtonhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Cults Hotel, Aberdeen - December 2011”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed with my partner on Hogmany as wanted somewhere quiet, reasonably priced but also pleasant. Having dined at the excellent restaurant several times we were unlucky that it was booked up, however this was our fault for making a last minute booking. There was a Subway across the road so we went for this and ate in the room for some fine dining! On a serious note, the restaurant at the Cults Hotel is highly recommended.

We looked at the rooms on Tripadvisor and the one we got was very cosy with a little balcony. The view wasn't the most romantic (an allotment) but was still pleasant and overall the room was very cosy and welcoming with a nice bathroom and well worth the £75 we paid. For the bells we popped downstairs to the cosy bar at the back for a few drinks before retiring to the comfy bed. Breakfast in the morning was included and didn't disappoint.

As we are local to the area we won't stay here often, but if you are coming up to Aberdeen and not too fussed about being right in the city centre then I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Overall rating 5/5.

Pro's: Excellent hotel overall, first class food, welcoming atmosphere.
Con's: Limited car parking, 10 - 15 minute drive from city centre.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mouse1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    45
    23
    16
    7
See reviews for
36
44
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Hotels in Aberdeen are so expensive but The Cults Hotel is only 3 miles out of the city centre and offers good value for money. Very friendly staff and the food is excellent. The rooms are nicely decotated and the beds are very comfotable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGaviganos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Cults Hotel is a great place to meet up with friends for a meal. There is quite a large menu - but the food is always good. Be warned portions can be very large!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazmagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Spent a night at this hotel while attending a wedding in a nearby hotel. Staff really friendly. Room was warm, welcoming and well decorated with an extremely comfortable bed. Food was excellent. Car parking was a nightmare as it is far from clear where the car park starts and stops. The result was a parking ticket courtesy of Aberdeen City Council. This and only this means we are unlikely to return as what would have been real value for money turned out to be rather more expensive than expected. The Council and the Hotel need to get together and get this sorted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Stayed here one night whilst on business and upon a recommendation from a friend. The hotel is on the outskirts of Aberdeen and in a quiet suburb. Parking is at a premium, but you should eventually be able toget a space. I had asked for a quiet room at the end of a corridor which, on first impressions is roughly what I got. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and I would go as far to say that it is of the quality of a 4 or 5 star hotel, given that the bed was also one of these super king sized things.

things were going quite well until I heard a mobile phone going in th room next to me. As the gentleman in the next room answered his call, not only could I hear his side of the conversation, but also that of the person on the other end of the line. I gave the wall a light tap and noted that it would appear the rooms are only separated by a stud partition wall with little or no soundproofing. It was further confirmed when the lady in the other room also took a phone call and again could make out every word. Now fortunately, neither of them were loud snorers and neither watched the tv too late, so I had a very sound sleep, but I cold imagine this being a problem for others.

The had a meal at the restaurant downstairs as the food came highly recommended. I was directed to a table which I sat at, but I noticed that every time someone walked past me, the table and all of its contents lurched to one side, because of a group of obviously loose floorboards under the carpet. it annoyed me so much, I moved to the other seat to minimise its effect. I ordered Lasagne, as the other meals were a bit too grandiose for my liking. It did say it came topped with cheddar cheese, but they didn't say it comprised of a large layer of cheddar cheese. It was way too much and nothing like a genuine oven cooked lasagne, so sorry guys, bit of a letdown here.

The staff were great and the value of the room tariff also good, but I couldNt let this pass without comment.

Room Tip: At the very end of a corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Having been to this hotel many times over the last 12 yrs I want to say that the food is consistently excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimming2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Visiting the nearby Camphill Village at Newton Dee, I was looking for somewhere to stay and found the Cults Hotel on the internet. As my stay would be split between a 2-night and 1-night stop I rang to discuss prices, rather than try and book on-line. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful (and remembered me when I saw her later).
Arriving by taxi from the airport (£19.50) in the early evening for the 2-night stay the reception was unstaffed, so (wheeling my suitcase) I went through the restaurant behind reception to ask the busy barman if I could sign in, which wasn't a problem, but I felt a bit intrusive. (My problem, not the hotel's).
Having signed in I took the lift upstairs for Room 1. I was gobsmacked! I hadn't expected anything like a room such as this! Huge, *very comfortable indeed*, and clean with an enormous bed, and probably the best hotel shower I've ever found.
The only slight downside was the view (there wasn't one), and the shaving light was broken, but that didn't matter as the light in the bathroom was plenty bright enough.
Returning downstairs to the restaurant I was again pleasantly surprised by the variety of dishes on offer, and plumped for Cajun Chicken followed by coffee and a whisky (well, it is Scotland!). This came to £21, which I felt was a reasonable price.
At breakfast the next morning I discovered the true meaning of a "Full Scottish Breakfast". The word "Full" is a good one, and I wondered when I would next feel hungry!
Returning later in the week for my 1-night stay I was a bit taken aback to be told that there was a function on, so to give me a good night's sleep they had decided to put me in the "Annex" (Room 13). This is accessed via a door next to the local post-office, and a VERY steep and somewhat faded flight of stairs behind it. (no lift). I really wondered what I'd find, if this wasn't the main part of the hotel, but need not have worried. My room was as big, clean, bright and comfortable as Room 1, with what appeared to be a brand-new bathroom. My only slight concern was that the shower-head did not connect properly to the shower-hose, so leaked constantly when in operation. I also discovered that the toilet cistern needed adjusting as the flush didn't stop. And the TV wouldn't turn off, which was an interesting scenario.(the remote needed new batteries, I thinkl). I also didn't find the coffee-making facilities until I was about to leave the next morning - I had obviously not been looking for them properly! (But I slept soundly and I didn't hear any sound at all from the function in the main building). I reported my minor concerns when I booked out, and the receptionist said she would take note.
I would stay here again without a moments hesitation. Though its on a main road there was no sound of traffic at all. Buses pass by regularly, too, so its easily accessible from Aberdeen, though if you're going to or from the airport use a taxi as the traffic into the city is incredibly slow.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 13 were on the back of the hotel. Annex not accessible by disabled people, as far as I co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ironingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
2.1 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#38 of 65 in Aberdeen
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#15 of 65 in Aberdeen
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Aberdeen Treetops
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Hotels
Macdonald Hotels
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
654 reviews
5.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cults Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cults Hotel

Property: Cults Hotel
Address: 328 North Deeside Road | Cults, Aberdeen AB15 9SB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cults Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cults Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cults Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing