We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money with nice atmosphere”

Aldersyde Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aldersyde Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 102 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Nürnberg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money with nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed in September last year in Aldersyde Guesthouse in Aberdeen. Coming with the ferry from Orkney it was no problem to stop by and bring our luggage to the guesthouse early in the morning, we could even go into our room right away as it was already available.

The room was very spacious, spotless clean and with free WiFi. Breakfast is self serving and sufficient, not the traditional Scottish breakfast but still nice. Location is quiet but still very central. Dinner a restaurant close by was a good recommendation.

John is a very nice host and it was a pleasure to talk to him about Scotland and cars. We would visit Aldersyde Guesthouse again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AfricaDirectGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
18
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balkans
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Booked this establishment as it was one of the few available options at very short notice.
The room was clean and comfortable if somewhat dated. Wall mounted TV was exceptionally small. Bathroom was clean but smelt of damp or pee.
Breakfast was serve yourself continental style, would have much preferred a traditional Scotch cooked breakfast as an option.
Proprietor was obliging friendly and helpful however "chatty" to the extreme.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We stayed at Aldersyde B&B for three nights in early November after reading many positive recommendations on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The room is perfect – spacious, comfortable bed, digital TV, free wifi, tea and coffee making facilities and modern ensuite bathrooms. Breakfast is delicious and included fresh pastries and toast, yoghurts, meats and cheeses, cereals, juices and fresh fruit. John was an amazing host. He gave us many recommendations for Aberdeen and the surrounding area, and was very entertaining. The location is perfect and close to the city centre and train station/bus depot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy3060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I stay here regularly when I am working in Aberdeen. John is a friendly and welcoming host. The guest house is very clean and tidy and pleasantly decorated. The rooms are comfortable, there is a tv, free internet access and a tray of tea, coffee and water. The breakfast options include pastries, cold meats, cheese, yoghurts, fresh fruit, tea, coffee, fruit juices, cereal and toast. When I stay here I sleep well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mckaykarenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Highly recommended B&B in Aberdeen. I stayed there for 3 nights with my 3 daughters as I introduced them to the city where their grandmother was born. Aldersyde is walking distance to the main street, wonderful restaurants, and easily accessible to buses for more adventures. The accommodations are first class and the owner could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. His recommendations were always right on the mark and his easy approach and wonderful tales kept us wanting more. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Aberdeen!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbruce-allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We (my girlfriend and I) stayed at the Aldersyde during our trip around Scotland. The location was great; just a short walk from the city center and the train station. John Mackay, the host, gave us a very warm welcome. Before we knew it we had spent an hour talking! He has entertained us for hours with his great stories and experiences during our stay.
The Aldersyde was spotless. Our en-suite room was very nice and spacious! Breakfast was served with a nice selection of different breads/pastries and John didn't mind pouring us some extra tea and coffee even though breakfast was long finished! We also got some great recommendations on places to eat and drink.
As an amazing finish to our already great stay at the Aldersyde, John surprised us with a ride to the train station when we left.

Thank you John for the wonderful experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohmmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We learned of the Aldersyde guesthouse when a guesthouse a few doors away cancelled our confirmed reservation - due to an "administrative error".
As Gerry Seinfeld said “you know how to take the reservation, you just don't know how to keep the reservation!"
This was actually our good luck as John was an excellent host in all respects. Our room was well equipped, bright and clean. We looked forward to his excellent breakfast and conversation each morning. The free Wi-Fi was appreciated. We can certainly recommend Aldersyde.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhm1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hannah's Guest House
Hannah's Guest House
#1 of 102 in Aberdeen
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beeches Aberdeen
Beeches Aberdeen
#9 of 102 in Aberdeen
74 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,989 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldersyde Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldersyde Guesthouse

Property: Aldersyde Guesthouse
Address: 138 Bon Accord Street, Aberdeen AB11 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Aldersyde Guesthouse Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing