We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly, caring guest house, comfortable and well run”
Review of Arkaig Guesthouse

Arkaig Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberdeen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arkaig Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A friendly, caring guest house, comfortable and well run”
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were in Aberdeen to visit a close relative in hospital. We found Arkaig to be a very welcoming and comfortable place, and the owners proved both friendly and thoughtful, especially as we were strangers in the city and had to cope with a number of concerns about our relative. Our room was clean, warm and well-maintained, and the breakfasts well-prepared and substantial. All in all we could not have been better cared for.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michaeljohn2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
15
13
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Had a few days' stay here. Very neat place. Specially the hospitality of Charlie and Evelyn was really heartwarming. The location is close to city center and bus stop. Would love to stay here again. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAliAkhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Can't fault this B&B. Managed to get a cancellation at 6pm and could not of asked for much more at £35.
The owners were very pleasant and made myself to feel very welcome.The room was spotless and made up for a shared bathroom which was immaculate.
Breakfast the next morning was exemplary with fresh coffee and a full english.
Will def be staying here again the next time I am here and I doubt you can beat this for value.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacko042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I stayed at the Arkaig for three nights in late September. As I was travelling with my Mum we were given the twin room at the back of the guesthouse which was quiet and looked out on a little courtyard. The guest house was always warm which was a godsend after arriving back after a day of sightseeing in the chilly wind.

The Arkaig is spotlessly clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were tasty with a large range of cereal, fruit, yoghurt or fully cooked with eggs, bacon, etc. The guesthouse is a decent walk to the city centre but there are a number of buses that go past the front door. Aberdeen is a magnificent city with beautiful architecture so the best way to see it is on foot.

The best thing about the Arkaig is the warm welcome you will receive. Evelyn and Charlie were very knowledgeable about local sights and pointed us in the direction of a great hotel just a few blocks up which served fantastic pub meals. It was lovely to have a chat with Evelyn and Charlie before setting out for the day or catching up when we returned. Nothing was too much trouble and any requests were met with a smile. We will definitely be making a return visit next time we are in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

For the University - my destination - the perfect location. It's also on the city centre/airport bus route, so very convenient. I chose a single room with shared bathroom (one other guest) for a bargain £30. The room was small, but perfectly functional. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The free wifi was easy to use. The owners were welcoming, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was pleasant and cooked to order. Nice to see a jar of Marmite available too ;o) Now that's what I call a nice little extra. Loads of guest parking available on the adjacent road.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdboy2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Although clean our rooms were in need of reburbishment - in one bathroom there was visable damp on the ceiling and wiring was not retained - we were downstairs next to the kitchen - noise from the room upstairs - coughing and voices clearly audible. No complaints about the owners who were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank californiatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We loved our stay at the Arkaig. They were so helpful, taking care of our every need, including those extras that you somehow seem to need when travelling with a 3 year old! Breakfast was tasty and plentiful and served with a smile. Special requests were accomodated with ease. The tips on where to go with our toddler were smack on. The location is good, a short bus ride from the center of town. It's on a main street, which is a plus for bus routes (four go directly to town) but a bit of a minus for street noise, although with the windows closed, it didn't bother us. The furnishings are standard, and the rooms on the smaller size, but for the price the value is very good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenakatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Northern Hotel
Northern Hotel
#60 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Jays Guest House
The Jays Guest House
#3 of 103 in Aberdeen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bimini Guest House
Bimini Guest House
#32 of 103 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aberdeen Serviced Apartments
Aberdeen Serviced Apartments
#23 of 54 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaig Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaig Guesthouse

Property: Arkaig Guesthouse
Address: 43 Powis Terrace, Aberdeen AB25 3PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Arkaig Guesthouse Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing