We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy to recommend - excellent value.”
Review of Arkaig Guesthouse

Arkaig Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arkaig Guesthouse
Ranked #30 of 103 Aberdeen B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Good quality guesthouse, tea / coffee in room, TV, free wi-fi, newly refurbished bathroom. All very clean, comfortable and well kept. Excellent cooked breakfast and porridge made specially on request.

Good location in relation to central Aberdeen. The road outside is busy during the day but does quieten down at night. I was very glad however to have a room towards the back as I'm a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if you are light sleeper.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CillDroichid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Arkaig Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

We came to Aberdeen by train, B & B was only £6 taxi ride away. Warm welcome was genuine. Room was at the back so was quiet. You got the Breakfast you ask for, Hot or cold. Could have others if ordered day before.
Information was on hand if asked for.
Would consider same venue if we are able to visit Aberdeen again.

Room Tip: Quiet, warm, adequate for purpose.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

It was such a lovely experience to stay in Arkaig Guest House. It's like a home away from home. I had stayed in Arkaig in the of February too, when I first came to the Aberdeen. It was my second stay there in the month of May. Both stays were like WOW experiences. The best thing about the place is that it has such a friendly environment. The facilities are top-class. You'll find all the necessary amenities which are generally not found in the B n B's. I was amazed to see the bathroom fitted with the best possible accessories with 24 hours access to hot water. All the amenities were of superb quality. The rooms resembled the rooms of a 5-star hotel. Beds were amazing and the room had a fairly good lighting system with superb heating system. The room was full of amenities like coffee, tea, milk, hot chocolate and many more. The super speed WI-FI added to the pleasure of staying there. Last but certainly not the least, the breakfast provided was just amazing. You can have a wide range of cooked and uncooked things in the breakfast, the pricse of which is included in the room tarrif. All these facilities were provided at the same price that of the other B n B's (in fact lesser than that of a few B n B's). If you are coming to Aberdeen and thinking to stay in a guest house or even in a 4-star or 5-star hotel, Arkaig guest house is the place for you. It's simply an awesome place to stay..!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukul1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We were in Aberdeen to visit a close relative in hospital. We found Arkaig to be a very welcoming and comfortable place, and the owners proved both friendly and thoughtful, especially as we were strangers in the city and had to cope with a number of concerns about our relative. Our room was clean, warm and well-maintained, and the breakfasts well-prepared and substantial. All in all we could not have been better cared for.

Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Michaeljohn2434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Had a few days' stay here. Very neat place. Specially the hospitality of Charlie and Evelyn was really heartwarming. The location is close to city center and bus stop. Would love to stay here again. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrAliAkhtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Can't fault this B&B. Managed to get a cancellation at 6pm and could not of asked for much more at £35.
The owners were very pleasant and made myself to feel very welcome.The room was spotless and made up for a shared bathroom which was immaculate.
Breakfast the next morning was exemplary with fresh coffee and a full english.
Will def be staying here again the next time I am here and I doubt you can beat this for value.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacko042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I stayed at the Arkaig for three nights in late September. As I was travelling with my Mum we were given the twin room at the back of the guesthouse which was quiet and looked out on a little courtyard. The guest house was always warm which was a godsend after arriving back after a day of sightseeing in the chilly wind.

The Arkaig is spotlessly clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were tasty with a large range of cereal, fruit, yoghurt or fully cooked with eggs, bacon, etc. The guesthouse is a decent walk to the city centre but there are a number of buses that go past the front door. Aberdeen is a magnificent city with beautiful architecture so the best way to see it is on foot.

The best thing about the Arkaig is the warm welcome you will receive. Evelyn and Charlie were very knowledgeable about local sights and pointed us in the direction of a great hotel just a few blocks up which served fantastic pub meals. It was lovely to have a chat with Evelyn and Charlie before setting out for the day or catching up when we returned. Nothing was too much trouble and any requests were met with a smile. We will definitely be making a return visit next time we are in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MegandLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
754 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Bimini Guest House
Bimini Guest House
#25 of 103 in Aberdeen
24 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Jays Guest House
The Jays Guest House
#3 of 103 in Aberdeen
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aberdeen Serviced Apartments
Aberdeen Serviced Apartments
#24 of 55 in Aberdeen
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkaig Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkaig Guesthouse

Address: 43 Powis Terrace, Aberdeen AB25 3PP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Aberdeen
Price Range: $59 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkaig Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Arkaig Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkaig Guesthouse Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing