We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“balmedie beach”
Review of Balmedie Beach

Balmedie Beach
Ranked #3 of 150 things to do in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A stretch of sandy beach north of the city.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“balmedie beach”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

this is the best beach ever soft sand sand dunes beautifull in the summer and great for walking dogs or just to have a walk seems like it is miles n miles of soft sandy beach love it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    348
    128
    21
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet. Natural. Great!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The dunes are fantastic to jump down. It can be cold and blowy so wrap up warm. This is the great outdoors. Fantastic. We don't need any other attractions, food, cafe, etc. Bring your own sarnies and a flask of coffee!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank slowjoejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I had lovely days, picnics and walks at this beach. Unfortunately Aberdeen weather did not allow me to visit more often! A beautiful place to go to, as a couple or a family.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lotus_Tattoo187234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Local beach”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

There are 14 miles of golden beach of which Balmedie is a part. Excellent dog walking area. Excellent BBQ area and a local conservation area. Very high sand dunes for the kids to run up and down. Blue Ribbon holder for clean beach. My black Labrador loved it. My kids grew up looking out of their bedroom window at it and was a big part of their childhood. Beware the water is very very cold....brrrr.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“superb beech”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

golden sands, huge sand dunes, spectacular scenery and well off the road, you should visit this place i have many great memorys of it.
wish in were there now...............

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank darenrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balmedie Beach also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Balmedie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing