We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A most impressive museum”

Aberdeen Maritime Museum
Ranked #1 of 150 things to do in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aberdeen has long prospered off of sea-based industries, from the boom of the city's fishing industry in the early 20th century to its oil industry today; this museum explores the historic developments behind the city's maritime industries.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A most impressive museum”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

To be honest we only went in for a coffee, but as the museum is free we started to look around and where there for nigh on two hours. There is so much so see - particularly relating to the oil industry which has had such an impact upon the city. Exceptionally well presented.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrJimSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    382
    68
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskoka, Ontario
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Free admission, and well worth a donation.”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I think it's good when local governments realize the economic/cultural/quality of life benefits of having free historical attractions and museums. Given an opportunity to donate, most of pay as much as we would anyway.
Unfortunately, the weather was too poor to do the Bennachie Hill Walk so we decided to check out the museum. I had read that it was too much about maritime oil drilling and so I was skeptical. The Aberdeen Maritime Museum turned out to have something for everyone. Interested in Aberdeen's sailing history, I found the displays to be well presented and to have quite a bit of content.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sinniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's FREE”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Nothing to dislike here, the museum is well placed, has fasinating exhibits and even has a great value cafe. We learnt a lot

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yosemitesam_JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A really interesting visit”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good exhibits, thoughtfully presented - and all for free! Lovely views over the harbour from some windows up stairs. Quirky little shop.Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Esperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent museum”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped off here on a particularly dreich day. Not only was it a great place to warm up, but it was a great museum. Lots of information all about the harbour, local industry (oil rigs, fishing etc) and geology. There are attractions for adults and children, the museum is well laid out over a few floors and there is just the right amount of information.

Admission is free so definitely worth a visit - you can leave a donation at the end to support the museum.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Parkin-the-dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aberdeen Maritime Museum also viewed

 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Aberdeen Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing