We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Aberdeen, was only average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the Ibis Aberdeen, which I have to say is ideal for the city center, although as expected the rooms are basic but clean, we found it difficult at times to attract tyhe attention of staff, particularly at breakfast and as you have to wait to be seated, this is poor, also the staff are from many eurpoean countries and although there english was reasonable there was some lack of understanding what was said, the bar person on an the evening was very good, however in the afternnon this was not the case, we were the only ones in the bar and to get two drinks took an age, as non of the staff could work the till, or infact serve a pint correctly, The WiFi is not free so becarefull, it's charged for per day @ £9.50

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay.
I will make sure that the staff is always and fully available all around the hotel.
We believe that the breakfast is one of the most important occasion to welcome and serve every guest personally, so we hope your small time to wait is highly overcompensated when the waiter focuses for you.
Also, the international team is a guarantee for us that we are proud to be able to serve our guests at least 8 on different languages :)
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

773 - 779 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Work booked me in here for 2 night mid week stay. Excellent location in the city centre, I walked up to union terrace in about 5-10 minutes. Bus stop almost outside on union street was very convenient. Food is limited but the staff were very polite and friendly. Bed was one of the comfiest I've stayed in at a hotel, had 2 good night's sleep. Only downside is that the bathroom is very small without a bath but this is expected for a city centre budget hotel and not too much of a problem as the shower is relatively big.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying and recommending Ibis Aberdeen centre hotel.
The beds just have been changed and we also believe that they are the one of the best comfy beds in the economy hotel category.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was booked into here through work as this seemed to be the only hotel available. At £125 a night when I stayed I’m glad I didn’t pick up the bill. The hotel is spotlessly clean; the rooms are functional but lack any personal touches. The bathroom / shower rooms are bizarre but clean. The food was passable but limited. The staff ranged from very attentive to disinterested. I found getting served at the bar to be a challenge. The breakfast is ok, the continental range is adequate and the cooked limited and uninspiring. The lack of car parking is a real issue compounded by the fact my vehicle was too tall for the adjacent car park. Don’t bother with internet it’s a rip off. The TV is a nightmare to operate and very limited. I slept well and didn’t hear any noise, but it was midweek and the town was quiet. If you are looking for a central hotel to crash for the night and can get a decent deal here then I’m sure you will be satisfied, I found it to be too impersonal for my tastes.

Room Tip: A harbour facing room may be quieter at the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmatt748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
Aberdeen is very busy, almost as expensive as London and usually every hotel is full far in advance during the weekdays. When many guests arrive in the same time our very friendly staffs wish to give the room key within as short period of time as possible, but I can guarantee they are really care about all guests. We believe that everybody can find their best deal within our range of internet offers. The TV system is integrated computer, so someone who wish to use the Net but do not have Laptop with them, they can use the keyboard placed in every room. If you wish to use TV only, there is simple button to push on the remote control said TV.
We hope we can welcome you back in Ibis Aberdeen centre hotel and please do not hesitate to contact our team if you need any assistance during your stay.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Ibis hotel is very much like any other. It was very new when I stayed so all clean and shiny! It does what you need it to - provide a comfortable bedroom. The food in the bar area was ok - about the standard you would expect from pub food and not badly priced.
Its very close to the cinema in Aberdeen and as a single, female traveller - this was about as far as I ventured.
The hotel was quiet and I got a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank very much for your kind recommendation.
We will make sure that the service of the hotel remains the same or even better almost a year after the opening. I hope you will experience the same satisfaction after your next stay.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

booked this rather quickly without reading reviews and was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. I picked it because of it's location, close to the rail station, which was great. While it is in an old historic area, the hotel is real cool contemorary. I loved the room. It was small, cozy and real comfortable. The staff was great, very friendly. I went out to look for dinner but ended up coming back to the hotel and had a great meal at the "restaurant" which is actually kind of part of the lobby. A very nice public space with nice lounge seating. There were other guests sitting, having wine, reading, and just relaxing there. A very comfortable, friendly venue. Loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trw325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire team, thank you for your kind feedback. It is and it was our pleasure to make your stay memorable.
We hope we will welcome you again in the hotel and you will feel the same experiences.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good central position, near Railway Station and Union Square shopping centre.
Rooms spacious and very clean. Bathroom immaculate.
Breakfast OK, not same standard as Ibis, Edinburgh, although breakfast area is very nice indeed.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fachie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time and recommend our hotel.
We are proud to say that we have increased the quality and decoration around the breakfast so we glad to read you liked them.
We hope we will welcome you again soon with the same experience after your next stay.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

arrived and checked in with no problems,very comfortable bed and good nights sleep,late check out 12 oclock which was great,all in all very happy and good value for money,didnt have food so cant comment on that,but would be more than happy to stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mintlawbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the hotel and you will come back to stay again.
See you soon,
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn
Jurys Inn
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
2.6 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $47 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing