We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Central Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pleasant welcome”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel recently and could not fault it, from the kind welcome we received from ALL the reception staff, special mention for Amelia, Kamilla and lovely Abbey who is a trainee, for their help in obtaining a suitable room for us and their explanation of the evacuation procedure for disabled guests in the event of a fire alarm being sounded, in which they are all fully trained. Guest with hearing problems are given a vibrating pillow if they wish, this will alert them to an alarm sounding in an emergency.
A mention for the other reception staff too who were extremely pleasant and quite happy to come round to the front of the desk and speak to us. Reception is bright and comfortable where a drink at the bar is available, and there are newspapers to read.

Our spotlessly clean room was bright and well proportioned with a desk and chair at the perfect height and the room had ample storage space. Our room had a large bathroom providing a walk-in shower with seat and plenty of grab rails. We had a superb view of the docks and as the window was triple glazed there was no noise at night. Very comfortable beds, despite most of their twin rooms being situated on the 5th floor, helpful staff arranged for the disabled room we got on the 2nd floor to be made into a twin. The house-maids we encountered were cheery and friendly. Good, spacious lift in the hotel too and as I have an electric mobility scooter I was able to park it in a windowed alcove next to our room where it wouldn't cause an obstruction.

Re breakfast, I found it odd that an earlier reviewer would complain about it, breakfast could be taken from 4:00 am onwards, there was a hot food buffet available between 6:30 am and 10:00 am and the cold buffet continued on till noon, there was plenty of coffee on tap at breakfast especially espresso! We have never stayed in a hotel where a breakfast was available from 4:00 am till noon! The efficient lady keeping her eye on the tables and food at breakfast was pleasant and friendly like all the other staff we've come across in the hotel.

The hotel is situated right next to an NCP car park which costs £16 per day to park but if requested the reception staff of the hotel will clip your ticket and when you pay to exit the car park hotel guests are charged a lower rate of £10, we had no grouse with this charge as it meant our car was secure and within easy reach of the hotel, especially as ours was in a disabled parking bay close to the entrance, the gentleman who mans the car park was very kind and helpful.

Aberdeen is a vibrant and interesting city well worth a visit and I have already recommended this hotel to friends and family thinking of visiting Aberdeen. When comparing the hotel to some we've stayed in that charged £100 per night the Ibis is way up there on value for money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
You were so kind to summarize everything about Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel, I do not wish to say anything else juts you are very much welcome.

Dear all potential future guest please read it!

Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    427
    161
    45
    23
See reviews for
109
376
91
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is a quite new hotel, as we learned, it has been in business for less than a year now. Upon entry, the hotel looks very nice and clean and our bookings were adequately dealt with. The rooms are nothing spectacular, howev, basic and functional and with about as much charm as a military baracks. We found ourselves on the first floor over the 24 hour gym, and those rooms should be avoided if you want a good night's sleep. Heavy weights will be dropped on the floor below you at 2- 4 am by the gym's patrons, and it will wake you up! Our room was spotlessly clean, the shower very pleasant and the breakfast very tasty and sumptuous.

We however observed that the hotel staff -with one or two exceptions- were very friendly and pleasant, but often gave the impression they did not really know what they were doing. Hence the title of this review. We were lead to believe we had to repark the car in the next door car park every 24 hours ( which is not true, you can leave the car and collect your accummulated discount any time upon departure), drink and food orders were mixed up, our final bill had a food tab attach to it from another room number, etc. To us it seemed that the hotel was run entirely by trainees, without any observable supervision. It was an interesting experience, but please invest in some training and supervision for your staff.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms over the gym, they are noisy throughout the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bajorron-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments.
We always wish to improve our quality of service and increasing the number of front staff. That is why we are always recruiting and training new and new staff members. We also wish to inform our guests that some of our workers are new in their position that is why you can see "Trainee" is written on their badges. As a part of their training they are fully under supervision of senior staff or member of management. I can guarantee they will deliver the same level of serves soon which made Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel special.
We are sorry if any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

5 minutes walk from both te station and union street next to the harbour so ideal. I was sceptical about the potential noise in the morning but the room was treble glazed so I heard nothing. Shower was perfect. a number of plug sockets is always a bonus but no free wifi is always a let down. O2 aircard worked great though. Breakfast adequate and even better when its free. Bar was ok and has sky sports for football

Room Tip: 228 was everything i needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
It is always a great pleasure to receive positive feedbacks. Despite our team quite young in working in hotel they are so motivated to delivery excellent customer experiences.
I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The good thing about chain hotels is that you usually know what you are getting and this is no exception
The rooms are very comfortable with the bed being one of the more comfortable that the chains put out there. The bathroom pods are quite funky and the room offers everything that you need for a decent stay. The only slight annoyance was that the TV is quite fiddly and you seem to have to push a lot of buttons to get to terrestrial TV
Location is a 5 minute walk to Union Square which means that you are close to everything
All in all a very nice hotel and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeB1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank so much for give your comment.
We have recently changed all the beds in the hotel and it is good to read that the guests like this new comfort.
We hope you will also be satisfied if you visit any other Ibis location in UK or you are coming back to ibis Aberdeen Centre.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Because of my job I stay at many hotels in the UK mainly for one night. I do praise hotels when they are good and feel my write ups are unbiased wether good or bad. It is how I found my stay on that particular day. Sorry sir we have had staff off sick/shortage/left isnt realy our concern, this is how I found itIgnorant staff, when I questioned them about parking I was told it was £10 and it served me right for believing what was on the booking.com site. The room was dirty, especially the bathroom.wooden floors(Sorry I prefer carpets) gave me dirty socks in minutes.I noticed room service trays left by the lift and were still there complete with half eaten food when I left 15 hours later.. Undercooked or overcooked were the breakfast choices and rip off prices for wifi. _there is far better for the price.

Room Tip: by the time you have added on all the extras you could stay somewhere £30 dearer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichardofCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
I was so regret because your stay was not what you expected. I am also so sorry to read your comment after I have received your quality report and I fairly answered. Then you have contacted our customer service where we also responded and we offered you compensation, so we really wanted to turn your feeling around.
I fully understand that you were very-very annoyed with the hotel and please accept my grates apologies once more.
I have advised already, that the mentioned website is not the official website of the hotel. We are attached to the NCP car park however they are separate company. The hotel guests have special deal and discounted price available.
I understand that you prefer the carpet but unfortunately we have wooden floor considering the large number of guest with several type of allergies.
The ibis hotels do not have room service but if we have time we are pleased to offer to the guests.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This was my first stay at the Ibis and only stayed because Travelodge was fully booked ,this is where I usually stay. However from now on I will always stay at the Ibis. The room and en suite were lovely and clean, and it was nice to have a duvet on the bed rather than just sheets. The bathroom was lovely and featured an amazing shower, barely a trickle of water comes from the travelodge showers. Also the shower cubicle was surprisingly large. Hotel staff were accomodating and even afforded mysef and my friend a late check out time of 2pm at no extra cost. The hotel is in a perfect location for a night out and dining out (Henry's bar serve amazing food and are right next to the hotel) and the glazing situation means there is no outside noise, however be sure you recognise the extra inside window as there were a few banged noses on ours haha! Being able to connect phone/ipod to tv was a brilliant extra! I never experienced the breakfast service due to a slight hangover however the rest of the services provided at the ibis certainly deserve 10 out of 10 in my books :) I also had an AMAZING sleep... this isn't common for me, I must say the bed was extremely comfortable!! Lovely hotel, I'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanga R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Ladies,
It was our great pleasure to welcome you in Ibis Aberdeen Centre.
I am happy to share your nice feedbacks with the team.
It is very visible that you could enjoy the lot extra we are proud to serve to our guest in an economy category hotel.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is great but really it's just a travelodge with a larger flat screen tv.

Rooms are very basic and everywhere I look it reminds me of travelodge, to be honest very over priced for what the hotel is.

Oh and the room are laminated floors and the beds are on wheels so and funny business makes you end up on the other side of the room much to me and the person I was with surprise.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank very much for your feedback.
The way you assessed the hotel indicates me that you were satisfied.

The hotel is in economy segment however we believe our attention to details, modern design, smile on reception and quality make the different. The hotel also makes advantage of very good central location.

Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#30 of 65 in Aberdeen
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Property: Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing