We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel at good price - breakfast lets it down though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good hotel at good price - breakfast lets it down though”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I stayed here on 17/2/2012. I got discounted room rate (£32.00) and half price breakfast (£3.25) when I payed for the breakfast at time of booking.

Hotel is very clean, smart and tidy including the rooms. Beds comfortable, and for a budget hotel I couldn't fault it (you dont expect 5* facilities if you are only paying this amount!). Hotel seems like an IKEA hotel (everything looks like it is slotted together like lego because basically it is!) but this didnt really bother me as I wasnt staying here for top of the range decoration.

Rooms are VERY well soundproofed - hotel is right in city centre next to harbour with large boats coming and going all the time. I couldnt hear anything outside the hotel at anypoint until I opened my window in the morning so very good on that point.

hairdryers, tea+coffe facilities are provided in the rooms
No irons in the rooms but there is an "ironing room" on each floor which is free to use.

Letdowns are:
No free parking at hotel - parking will cost you £16 a night (if you are parking for more than 12hours) in the NCP next door (although this does give you a 24hour parking pass so you can go shopping or whatever the next day until your time runs out).

Breakfast (yes I know it was cheap) was pretty poor - all the cooked food was overcooked and had been left under the heating lamps for far too long as all the bacon was rock hard! The cold ham looked like it had been on the plate for a few days as the edges were all dry and curled up like you get when you leave food in a fridge uncovered. When fresh bacon ets was brought out it was still fairly poor and tough to eat.
Had I been paying the full hotel price of £7.99 for the breakfast I would have complained.
There is a selection of cereal and fresh croissants/bread which was ok.

If this hotel put as much effort into the breakfast as they do with the rest of the hotel, then this would be a faultless budget hotel.

Definately worth it for the money I paid, but if I had been paying full price (from £49 a night) I would have been disappointed as there are better hotel options in aberdeen for similar or cheaper (Holiday inn express in Brige of don for example or Best Western at Dyce)

Room Tip: rooms on the 4th floor are significantly larger than the 2nd floor (I dont know about any of the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantos3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel.
We are glad to read your kind comments.
We make sure that we are improving the quality the breakfast.

I hope we can welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    410
    158
    44
    22
See reviews for
105
361
86
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Aberdeen hotels seem overall quite expensive. This was great value, clean, comfortable and ideally situated for the station and all city centre attractions. Apart from one rather grumpy receptionist, the staff were really helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docrioja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
On behalf of my team, thank you very much for your kind feedbacks.

Best regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Bearing in mind that this is a budget hotel I wouldnt hesitate to recommend it. Rooms are on the small side, and the bathroom is like nothing I've ever seen before, but staff were very helpful and everything was spotlessly clean. For an overnight stay at a very competitve price it's hard to beat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElginBarnster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comment.
I hope we can welcome you again in Ibis Aberdeen Centre hotel soon.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very basic hotel, just blocks and pods thrown together in a room, bathroom felt like you were in a boat, bed really uncomfortable, a thin mattress on a slab of wood, it was a convenient location and was clean. Breakfast nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and give us your feedback.
You opinion is very important to us and we believe we can improve to meet your expectation.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Its about right in terms of value - rooms are OK in size, bathroom is tiny and resembles a space capsule. Bed is typically ibis (one notch above sleeping on a pile of rocks) and the front desk staff typically heavily accented and with a rather harsh demeanour.

Breakfast is OK, self service but enough choice to keep you going. Good location and walking distance to the city centre.

Recommend booking taxis the night before, took 40 mins for one to arrive for me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timborules84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and give us your feedback.
You opinion is very important to us to improve the service and the facilities of the hotel.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I had not heard of this hotel before but would recommend it to anybody who wants value for money, central location and excellent staff in the hotels that they choose. Will definately use this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Property: Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing