We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is a typical Ibis, clean, utilitarian with a very convenient location and the added bonus of a decent breakfast room.

Opened in the summer of 2011 (my business stay was in November 2011 for three nights) , the hotel is still new and that means the rooms are to a very good standard. Sound in the rooms did not seem to be a problem and the bed was comfortable. The bath is a 'Pod' but it has plenty of space and a good sized shower and good light.

The hotel seems to be attracting a business crowd from the conversations I had at the bar or at breakfast. Parking is next door and there is a charge, but it is reasonable.

As is the case in many budget hotels, internet is an extra charge. Its a decent option to consider in Aberdeen if there for either business or you want some place close to shopping on Union Street.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnergyVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    407
    157
    44
    22
See reviews for
105
359
85
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

The rooms were as expected, basic clean and functional, no complaints there. The food menu looked good but what a disappointment, the food was just microwaved by the reception staff and was terrible. I was absolutely disgusted by the meal I had, microwaved chicken wings that were warm on the outside and cold inside. The food wasn't even cheap! Anyway, the wifi and TV based internet did not work throughout the duration of my stay and neither were the movies, just a few basic TV channels. Not very good for 2011. The location was great though and very central.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctordavidbanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, December 30, 2011
Good evening,

Thank you very much for stayed in Ibis Aberdeen Centre. All guest feedback gives us opportunity to improve our service.

The foods we serve are made by the latest technology. The dishes are cooked then chilled. We regenerate them by using high tech equipment which combines the microwave, classic oven and multi air oven. This regeneration technology is used by all luxury hotels with high capacity banqueting. It gives special characteristic of the foods.

During your stay there was unusual storm with extreme wind in Aberdeen area which broke down the IT system. We could repair everything with 24 hour except the internet because we had been waiting for hardware. We explain the situation and apologized to all guests and now the internet is available again.

Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlemmermeer
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Located in a side street between the harbour and Union street this is a nice and new addition to the hotel scene in Aberdeen. The hotel itself opened in July 2011 which means everything is still very new and is in good repair. On the ground floor it shares the building with a gym but strangely enough there's no mention of any kind of deal with that gym.

The staff seems to have been plucked from countries all over Europe. Professional and experienced with the Ibis brand. I’d mailed ahead asking for a quiet room and got one at the end of a corridor on the back of the hotel which suited me fine.

Elevator is small and requires your room key to be called from the ground floor which is a nice extra security measure. There's only about a 100 rooms in the hotel.

The rooms itself are fairly small. The bathroom is a plastic unit installed in a corner of of the room, wallpapered on the outside to match the décor. The shower is big enough that even a tall person like myself can was his hair. A fairly small flatscreen TV with a limited selection of channels is mounted on the wall. There is supposed to be internet in the room, both via the TV and via a cable in the room. I couldn’t try it out, a storm a few days earlier had knocked it out. Strangely enough an internet computer near the reception was still working. A kettle and a small selection of coffee and tea are also provided. Cleaning was OK expect for several weeks of dust under the bed. On my last night a pile of dirty sheets were lying in the corridor.
Noise isolation is pretty good, double windows and a decent isolation on the door which may be important since there’s a restaurant/club opposite the hotel and a cinema further down the street.

Breakfast is OK, a selection of what you’d expect on a continental breakfast buffet and baked beans, sausages, bacon and eggs. As another reviewer mentioned the plates are indeed small but since the breakfast room isn’t all that big I don’t see this as an issue.
The bar has a decent selection of beers and food some of which is available 24 hours a day.

The main problem I had with the hotel was with the bed. The mattress is thin and lies on a sheet of chip board. A mattress cover with a rubberised topping and a synthetic duvet make for a very hot and sweaty night.
If you can live with the beds it’s a decent and very reasonably priced place to stay in central Aberdeen.

Room Tip: Explain what you want, the hotel will do it's best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wijnands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

As budget hotel, Ibis fulfils it's brief. When I arrived I was checked in in a friendly and efficient manner. The room was clean and quiet and, most importantly to me, not too hot. The bed is comfortable but I found the pillows rather hard and uncomfortable. To be fair, feather pillows are more to my taste and one does not expect them in a low cost place.The shower room is fine , well designed and very clean. The shower gel is rather basic so take your own shampoo.
It can be said that it is when there is a problem that one finds out just how good customer service is. Unfortunately, on the last day of my stay I had reason to complain about the cleaning of my room. The duty manager immediately came to my room , agreed that the cleaning was unacceptable and went to attend to it. Within a count of ten there were 2 staff in the room to deal with the problem. To compound the poor man's woes the storm had blown the satellite dish out of alignment so there was no tv or wi fi for the whole hotel. He was genuinely apologetic and presented me with a goody bag and bottle of good wine as recompense.
I think the Ibis is a very good hotel for a business or shopping trip..

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights last week and we were pleasantly surprised. We have never stayed in an Ibis before so didn't know what to expect but the reception staff were very friendly and the room was larger than expected. The bed was very comfortable with extra pillows and blankets provided. Although there was no ironing board in the room, there is an ironing room provided on the 3rd floor.

Our room was facing Tiger Tiger but we suffered no noise from there late at night. I did find the bathroom a little odd, it felt like a strange little space pod but it was functional. I would have preferred some toiletries but for the price (£55 pr,pn), we can't complain.

Breakfast was fine although the hot food could have been a lot warmer. Very nice selection of meats, yoghurts, Activia etc.

We will definitely stay there again - it was a nice middle ground between back to basics Travelodges and the very expensive hotels in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eight7eleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here one night while visiting family. Great location in city centre. Staff were excellent and very professional. Room was very clean and had everything you need i.e. extra pillows, tea and coffee, internet (not free). Very basic but functional. The bathroom is fascinating, like a plastic pod and hence no soundproofing! Very clean and functional but opening and closing the door is a noisy process through the night! The bed is very comfortable. The T.V. has limited choice of channels especially the radio channels. What do they have against B.B.C. Radio 4 which you can't access?
The general reception/ bar / restaurant area is nicely designed and very comfortable. We payed £80 for a room not including breakfast , but that is good for Aberdeen. Good value.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone and you are so close to good restaurants and shops.
Have stayed at Ibis Hotels in France and this one compares well. It is a slight pity that there is no actual hotel parking. You can use the .N.C.P. carpark right next door which can add another £16. onto your costs for one night. We used a city council carpark near Marischal College, arriving later in the evening so it was free until 8.30. the next morning but you need to be careful to read the notices!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunveganArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

A budget hotel, 5 minutes walk from the bus/train station, and 100m from Union St. We have stayed in many Aberdeen hotels and most, if not all (Hilton Garden Inn excepted) are overpriced and of a very poor standard. We booked the Ibis because we were attending our daughter's graduation at Aberdeen Uni. Obviously most of the hotels knew this as their prices were crazy for this week. We managed to secure rooms at £55 - £65 for the few days and this included breakfast. Rooms are quite basic (although have a/c) but are very clean and not too noisy (despite laminate floors). Breakfast is adequate (remember £55 for two people!) but what sets this hotel apart is the staff. Very friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again. It's so close to the centre of the city.

Room Tip: I do not think that there are good or bad rooms. Our daughter and her husband were on one side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviatorHouston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Property: Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing