We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, Cheerful and Central- Would recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ranked #14 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheap, Cheerful and Central- Would recommend!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Have just returned from a lovely stay at the Ibis Aberdeen. We got a cheap rate through a promotion on the Ibis website and at £47 for two people including a plentiful breakfast you really cannot fault the place!
Room was compact but clean, tidy and had everything we needed for a one night stay. We didn't have any shower gel or shampoo provided though so make sure you bring along your own!
The hotel is located directly opposite the maritime museum which was the main reason for our visit, and is about a 15 minute walk to the beach and 5 mins to union street shops.
The only down-side to our stay at the Ibis was our rude awakening at 4am... then 4.30am by a drunken man banging loudly on his door to wake up his room mate as he had lost his key card. I'm pretty sure the whole floor must have been woken by him and we weren't the only ones annoyed by his behaviour. In saying this, I totally understand that this was not the hotel's fault at all- but maybe some soundproofing of doors would have been a good idea. On that note, the soundproof windows were fantastic as there is a nightclub across the road.
Overall it was a great stay at the Ibis and would recommend it to others travelling to Aberdeen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallship87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    427
    161
    45
    23
See reviews for
109
376
91
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Had a fab time staying here in Aberdeen, it was really good location. Room was spacious and had a nice tv although certain channels wouldn't work. Staff were very friendly, a very handsome man even carried my bag up because I don't like lifts. All in all it was a great stay and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thinkpink_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2011

excellent value for money, very clean. Friendly staff. Only downside, the beds can be uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

For a city centre hotel in Aberdeen, this was a very good price, cheaper than their competitors and with better reviews. As with most chains, they are fairly standardised with no frills, but everywhere was clean and tidy, staff were friendly and room was exactly what we wanted - somewhere to stay just for the one night, although the mattress was quite hard. You could hear some noise from other rooms from this is normal for most large hotels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Clearly the best value for money in aberdeen city centre. 3 minutes from union street. Clean and modern rooms and facilities. Friendly (mostly eastern european) staff with better command of english than the locals. Only drawback would be the internet, at 3.99 per hour or 8.99 per day this is far from cheap and the bandwith is anything but fast. There is no weekly or monthly rate for long term residents. I realise that because of the very low prices for the rooms this is one of the ways they can make a profit, but this is a bit much.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Very modern, efficient, excellent value and well placed in the centre of Aberdeen. 10 minutes from the station. If you are driving, turn by the Maritime Museum; Shiprow is one way. Car park next door is expensive. Check rates elsewhere or park 10mins away in the roads around the harbour.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreeneUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

If you like cheap plastics then this place has it all! The whole bathroom is made of the stuff! TV in the room refused to work, no free wifi, rock solid beds, no real sofa or seat in the room, no power sockets within reach of the beds for phone chargers etc, noisy even on the upper floors and staff seem to have little or no knowledge of the local area! Breakfast was average at best although small plates forced you to have tiny portions unless you make numerous trips to the buffet. This place has been kitted out as cheaply as possible! I'd far rather stay in other well known budget hotels you get much more for your money and are unlikely to find your bathroom smelling of urine!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glasgowfoodlover21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H5170-GM, Manager at Ibis Aberdeen Centre, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Good evening,
Thank you for taking the time and give us your feedback.
We are apologies that your stay was not what you expected.
I can guarantee that we take all your comments seriously, I will share them with the rest of the team and we will find solution to make every stays excellent.
Kind regards,
Attila Szabo
General Manager
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#30 of 65 in Aberdeen
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Aberdeen Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Aberdeen Centre

Property: Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Address: 15 Shiprow, Aberdeen AB11 5BY, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Aberdeen Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Aberdeen Centre is a newly opened hotel, located in the centre of Aberdeen. The railway and bus station are just a few minutes walk away at Union Square. The ferry terminal and Aberdeen Maritime Museum are just opposite our front door.All business locations as well as Aberdeen City Council Headquarters are within five minutes walk together with the shopping and restaurants in the famous Union Street. The Aberdeen Exhibition and Conference Centre (AECC) and Aberdeen Airport are both a short 20 minutes drive away. The A9 and A96 motorways are easily accessible from the hotel together with Market Street, Virginia Street and many more of the city's main attractions, all within the surrounding vicinity of the hotel. Our guests can visit many of the local attractions such as Balmoral Castle, summer home of the Royal Family being one of many famous Castles to be seen in this beautiful Scottish country side. Why not go on the Whisky Trail and try a Speyside malt? Codonas Amusement Park, Aberdeen Art Gallery or any of the amazing golf courses are all close by. The hotel has a fully serviced bar and restaurant, guests can choose from a cooked buffet breakfast or continental breakfast available from 4am till noon, snacks and evening meals are offered 24 hours per day. Rooms are fully en-suite with walk in showers, tea/coffee making facilities, pay per view movies, mp3 connections and free WIFI internet. The hotel is adjacent to the NCP car park and Pure Gym Aberdeen which is open 24 hours per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Aberdeen Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Hotel Aberdeen
Ibis Aberdeen Centre Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing