We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit - wont be last!”
Review of Rishi's

Rishi's
Ranked #100 of 670 Restaurants in Aberdeen
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit - wont be last!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Recommended this restaurant by a friend - dropped in with our two adult sons on a Saturday at 21.30 on spec. A different menu compared to the run-of -the-mill Aberdeen Indian restaurants. Exceptional vegetarian dishes, non-veg menu is more limited but nonetheless excellent - all the usual suspects are there. The staff were genuinely concerned that we enjoyed our meal and very willing to offer help with the slightly unusual menu. I had the paneer dosa - which was quite spectacular, followed by a Chicken Vindaloo which was simply delicious -vindaloo taste with reasonable heat but leaving space for the taste of the spices and the tender chicken. Price was, by Aberdeen standards, very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DMcA1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    108
    42
    26
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic and friendly service”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food here is amazing and so different to your usual run of the mill Indian restaurant. The staff were very attentative and friendly. Try the onion dosa (very filling but so tasty) The prices are very cheap aswell for the quality you recieve.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alybalyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gastronomic adventure!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I visited Rishi's on Saturday for a friend's birthday. For starters we were feeling explorative so asked the waiter to bring us a selection of authentic indian dishes, he didn't disappoint. I could not for the life of me tell you the names of the dishes but they were very large and extremely delicious. We unfortunately order main courses at the beginning along with our starters but soon realised that none of us could eat anything else after our indian tapas. I had the chicken peshwar which was mild and cream with fresh mango and pinapple through it. The naan breads were huge too. Although there was 5 of us and we all ordered starters, mains and drinks the bill was still under £100! Can't wait to come back and try more wonderful dishes <3

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Indian Meal”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have eaten here three times so far (all at lunch time) and have always been impressed. Food authentic and tasty. Staff pleasant and attentive. We will be back again soon!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craigl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Like curry? - Then try this place”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went with some colleagues from work on a Thursday evening, one of whom is Indian and said that this restaurant serves authentic Indian meals and was frequented by the local Indian community.
We had booked (which I recommend) and when we arrived it was almost full, and I noticed that certainly a 1/3 of those there were Indian.
It was excellent, and I intend to go back in the next few weeks as I saw loads of dishes being served at other tables that I am keen to try.
They also do some indo-chinese dishes, one that I just could not eat enough of was one of the side noodle dishes, it was so moreish.
We had over ordered as there was plenty left over, and one of my colleagues took a substantial doggy bag to eat over the weekend.
Plus as a bonus the prices are very good.

When I came home to tell my family I discovered that my kids who were staying nearby in their student days regularly got a carry out from here and said they always thought it was the best curry ever.

Very good and gets the 5 star score from me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaybe_1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rishi's also viewed

Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire
 

Been to Rishi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing