We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Hawick
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Recently stayed in a family room for 4, two adults and two kids, aged 8 and 6, it was spacious, very clean and comfy with great attention to detail. All the staff were attentive and welcoming and the atmosphere was relaxed throughout. There was an excellent choice of food at breakfast, served buffet style. We dined in adjoining Molly's Bistro in the evening, again food was good and there was a nice kids menu.
The hotel is in a central location and I understand is presently in the middle of a complete re-furbishment. The only negative point on this occasion was re. the car park which is on a small area of waste ground nearby, it has very tight spaces with minimal room to negotiate manoeuvres, unsure if this will be re-vamped too. There is a multi storey near by if this is full. Would return and recommend The Douglas hotel.

Room Tip: Understand hotel is in mid re-furb, ensure room has been re vamped because we had to complain about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    120
    66
    21
    15
See reviews for
45
149
4
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

I turned up early to leave my bag at the hotel to go shopping when I was told my room was ready & I could check in early which made my day first of all.
The room was great, very comfortable & the shower was amazing!
The breakfast buffet had a good selection too.
The staff were all friendly & accommodating.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb0579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

My friends and I spent a great night at The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel. The reception staff were warm and welcoming and quickly checked us in to two twin rooms.
The rooms were very pleasant and the beds particularly comfortable.
We ate in the Bistro and the food and service were great. We were given recommendations by staff for a night out in Aberdeen but we were told we wouldn't go far wrong with Malones bar at the hotel and that certainly proved to be good advice. We enjoyed the live music and the great atmosphere and wished we could have spent another night at the hotel.
The rooms were very quiet and after a good nights sleep we had a very hearty breakfast.
The central location of the hotel was ideal for shopping and was only a few minutes walk from the train station.
I have previously stayed in a couple of other hotels in Aberdeen but definitely would choose the Aberdeen Douglas Hotel again as I found in to be much more friendly and perfectly located for central Aberdeen.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMorningside2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff were so welcoming, polite and helpful. Rooms were beautifully clean and the decoration was lovely! Breakfast had a good range of food and drink. Also the hotel is located right in the centre of Aberdeen so it was only a 4 minute walk to the train station. Perfect! Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razzy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We're just back from this hotel and I have too say it was beyond all my expectations lovely the first impression of the foyer was a pleasant surprise as from the outside it looked a bit shabby .. The the staff were very friendly and helpfull our room which was room 201 turned out to be right above the pub but as soon as I complained about the noise we were moved to another room without any problems this actually turned out a bigger and better room ... We ate in the bistro that evening and it was really lovely again staff lovely and helpful I will definatly be back at this hotel it was delightfull ..

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was not impressed with this hotel at all. There were 5 of us staying for work for a total of 12 days. The check in went well but that was about as far as it went. I was given an apartment which was ok inside, a little damp smelling and the finish wasn't great. The down side was it wasn't actually part of the hotel and was across the road with no cameras as far as I could see. With me being a young female I found myself being very nervous going in to the property later at night because there was quite often a number of men hanging around quite close to the doorway and even sometimes in the door way, some rather drunk due to there being a few pubs near by. The other people were given rooms in the hotel which were said to be small, very warm and almost impossible to sleep in, partially because of the heat and otherwise because of the constant noise of seagulls when they opened the windows to get some fresh air in. With our food the company had given us an allowance which I believe the hotel may get regardless of whether we use it or not that may have impacted on the service given. We often had very a long wait for them to take our order then the same to receive the food with people coming in after us getting theirs first! when we did get the food over the range of the 6 days we actually ate there before getting fed up, the food was overcooked, under cooked, RAW, the wrong order totally, chips slung off the plate when serving to us and desserts were quite often given to us melted (ice cream). The longest we had was from half 7 until 15 past 10 for a two course meal for 3 and a 3 course meal for the other 2. The staff were sometimes very hard to communicate with and the restaurant manager was very stand offish with us. I was woken up every morning without fail by house keeping even though I had my still sleeping sign on my door which was not very pleasant as I was working a nightshift whilst there. There was a lot of noise from the pub out the back, I do understand the hotel isn't in control of this but it would perhaps be good of them to liase with them because I was woken up by a man sanding wood out the back at 8.45 on sunday morning! The laundry bags weren't replaced, I was constantly having to go back and forth to reception to get bags for it and at one point was given laundry back that wasn't even mine. I would not stay here again, if I have to go back with work I will be requesting they use another hotel and will be informing friends going to Aberdeen to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana4203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night as 2 couples . Booked the exec room over standard room for extra £30 . Room was nice but expected more . Staff were always very helpful and friendly . Hotel was very clean . Only real downside was being near the harbour ( we were facing it wit a few buildings inbetween us ) and the noise of the seagulls through the night was a pain . Oh and the knob to empty the bath was broke so couldn't empty it but didn't matter . Very near great pubs and shopping . Would stay here again .

Room Tip: Parking is round the back of the hotel and tricky to find if never been before . I google mapped it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calpsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#45 of 64 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.0 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdeen Douglas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdeen Douglas Hotel

Property: Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Address: 43-45 Market Street, Aberdeen AB11 5EL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aberdeen Douglas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel has been welcoming guests since 1848 and in recent years has re-established itself as one of Aberdeen's premier hotels. As an independently owned, family-run business with friendliness and efficiency at it's heart - our experienced staff will do everything to make your stay in the Granite City, now Oil and Gas Capital of Europe, a truly enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in the heart of the city centre, just a stones throw away from Aberdeen Bus Station and Aberdeen Train Station. Close to the whirl of city life, just off Union Street in the Merchant Quarter area - The Aberdeen Douglas Hotel is the perfect location to enjoy the very best of Aberdeen whether visiting for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aberdeen Douglas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing