We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always look forward to my stay”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2010

I have found myself staying at the Norwood Hall in Aberdeen on numerous occasions this year and i really look forward to my stay.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable and spacious.

All of the staff are very friendly and helpful and just cant do enough for you during your stay.

I can highly recommend the food in the restaurant,it is among some of the best i have ever had.

Finally the hotels location is beautiful and very tranquil.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmcumming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 673 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2010

Hotel is in lovely setting and very impressive to drive up to. We did not like our room, the staff were unhelpful and then we decided to eat in the restaurant. Food very expensive and very small helpings. A wedding reception was being held whilst we had our meal and they seem to get all the service and attention. We heard someone else complaining and also that they did not believe that a hotel in this day and age would charge £2 admin fee for them paying by credit card.

We would not go back.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

This was my second time at the Norwood Hall Aberdeen and must admit that wasnt expecting this stay to be better than my first but it was. Staff was just amaizing...From a very relaxed and humorous check in to great food and service throughout my stay.
Having read previous comments on this site wasn't sure what to expect but can safely say that it did not apply to myself on any of my stays ... This is for sure the only place I will stay when in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cornish1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

We booked for a two night "Spring Break" for our anniversary and cannot fault any part of our stay. The entrance and reception area is filled with Victorian charm, creating a calming atmosphere. Our room was bright, spacious and very comfortable. We dined in the Tapestry restaurant and had the best meal - ever!! We were most impressed with all the staff we encountered they were all helpful throughout our stay and service could not be faulted.
Although an extension is being built at the moment it did not inconvenience us in any way. There was also landscaping work going on along the driveway to the front of the hotel and when it all comes to bloom it will look very impressive.
This was our first visit to Norwood Hall and we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lordar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

My wife and I stayed here after a wedding in the hotel, having stayed here after our own wedding many years before. The wedding went very well, as much due to the company of good friends as anything else. Our room was OK, though maybe a lttle tired... faded elegance, perhaps. However, there was a complete failure of the heating system to our wing resulting in no hot water in the morning, so no shower! Worse still, no warning of this from management on the basis that they felt the guests wouldn't wish to be disturbed! What irks most is that there was just a glib apology on checking out followed by an equally glib reply to my letter seeking a partial refund of my bill. Not good enough, Norwood Hall! This guest will take his custom elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CabDriverA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2010

just back from a night stay, had a candle lit valentines dinner, on arriving at room, found champaign, and chocolate yum yum, meal was great, got rose at end of meal, was dissapointed, that most staff was polish, although very polite, thought they be dressed in true scottish dress, room very clean, although there must be air in the pipes, as heard plumbing problems everytime toilets in our wing was flushed, stayed in room 10, this building is listed, so ownwrs are not allowed to upgrade a lot of decor, in main reception area, it needs a better reception , and more lighting , my option i would defo stay there again !

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niknak121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

I have stayed here on business about 7 or 8 nights in the past 3-4 months. I always found staff to be exceptionally friendly and efficient (especially reception) and over the months I felt they got to know me and treat me really well. There was always humour and genuine customer care. On several occasions I was treated to an upgrade and once I was given the best room in the hotel even though I paid a bargain rate. That was fantastic! My most recent stay was SO different. Reception staff were fairly efficient but brisk and not particularly friendly and problems with my Standard room door lock and TV were dealt with but I was made to feel stupid. I also felt I was inconveniencing the duty bar staff by ordering a bar meal after 9.30pm and generally I left with a fairly negative feeling......I am not sure if I will book in again for my next Aberdeen trip in February. I don't expect upgrades every time but I do expect better customer service. Maybe this was just an off day but there was such an extreme contrast in service compared to my last visit that I worry things are going downhill here :(

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GWomanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,170 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
873 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $92 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing