We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Weekend Away”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Having recently spent two nights at Norwood Hall Hotel we would like to commend you on a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. The staff were very friendly and most efficient, the restaurant was just superb for dinner and breakfast.Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed our first evening relaxing by the log fires after a delicious fine dining experience. On the second evening we were delighted to attend the in house entertainment, which was most enjoyable. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and garden which we found most relaxing.
Brilliant weekend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacqM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    169
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
125
233
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

After a lot a let downs in other top country house hotels in Aberdeenshire recently I was actually expecting some mishaps here and there but to be honest for the first time in ages I can find only one thing to complain about ....
The price of alcohol is steep but apart from that the room was clean and up to standard maintenance wise, the food was fantastic, the staff (the receptionist and waitress at breakfast in particular) were lovely
All very helpful and made out visit
Thank you :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lilymaymunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. Our stunning Victorian mansion has been tastefully maintained both inside and out.

Our rosette restaurant, spacious bedrooms, high service standards, warm and cosy atmosphere, beautiful woodland surroundings provide guests with a relaxing atmosphere.

Thank you once again for an excellent review and welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Was taken to Norwood hall hotel as a surprise for valentines day. We only stayed one night but we were satisfied about everything. It's such a lovely hotel staff are very professional and helpful. Our room was lovely, very clean and bed was really comfy, we were also supplied with robe and slippers. We will definitely be back to stay but we will make it longer next time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here. I am very happy you chose Norwood to have your very special evening.

The evening was a great success and I am pleased you found all aspects of your stay to the standard that such an evening requires.

Please contact us directly should you wish to stay with us again for a longer period and we will happily inform you of our best rates and provide you with a full up to date restaurant menu.

Once again, thank you.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed at the Norwood for a conference last week and found the place both wonderful and charming.

If you like authentic old world then this is for you.

The food was first class but the most compelling reason to stay here is the warmth and genuine kindness of the local staff who make you feel welcome and appreciated - the nicest staff at any hotel I have ever stayed in bar none.

A real asset to the hotel.

Would recommend to anyone who wants to relax and get away from it all - this will have the desired effect.

My rooms was very nice but some of the luckier chaps got much larger spacious rooms but no complaints from me.

Everything was perfect wth my stay

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were welcomed in a very friendly and efficient way by Lauren.
A helpful young man by the name of Craig made us at home. The log fires in the hallways were also very welcoming
The food was execellent. I particularly enjoyed the venison.
Waiting staff were efficient and very friendly.
The room was spacious and comfortable.
The ambiances is clasick and very tastefull.
All in all our stay was great
Norwood Hall compares favourably with any hotel I have stayed in in my own country, The Netherlands.

Jan

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your review. I'm delighted your welcome was just what it should be. The personal touch is always important.

Kenny McMillan our recently appointed Executive Chef and the kitchen brigade provide a wonderful range of first class dishes.

We will be delighted to welcome you back to Norwood soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aviemore, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife booked our stay as a present for my birthday.
The hotel was amazing and staff were really professional and helpful at all times.
Decor: 5*
Room and bed: 5* / Well cleaned, and huge
Service: 5*
Dinner: Well recommended. A must have when you're there. 5*
Breakfast: 5*

Would go back there any time!

Keep up the good work!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GabsKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful review. The team at Norwood pride themselves on their attention to detail to create a very high level of quality in their work.

This in turn provides excellent customer service for all our guests.

Thank you once again and i look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

While away on business what better place to visit other than the Norwood Hall Hotel, fantastic suroundings and buildings of a long forgotton period. Tea and cake quickly presented by a cheerful member of staff, Santa.
Next time I'm in the region I will have to try the lunch menu which looked very inviting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding our Afternoon Tea. I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and found our staff to be most welcoming.

We have a popular lunch menu which is available in both the Tapestry restaurant or the more relaxed atmosphere of the Georgian bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,090 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing