We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stand”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #18 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Turriff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One night stand”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We used this hotel as we had a wedding to attend at the very near Marcliffe hotel which we could not get a room.It was very handy in proximity to the wedding.We felt the hotel was a bit pretentious.We did get a good rate through secret escapes which was just as well.Our room had no air- conditioning and no refrigerator not very good as the weather was very hot and clammy!!There was a complimentary bottle of water in the room but that was not much use in the heat with a window that would only open about an inch?!!.Next morning we headed for breakfast looking forward to something special.....No cold toast, one rasher of bacon,the toast rake was re-freshed with wait for it a single slice each of again cold toast!!!Not impressed for a four star hotel with grandeur and poise it let the side down it just kept letting the side down and falling short of the mark.Dissapointed just glad we did not pay full rack rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIONA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    164
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
123
232
26
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My daughter held her wedding reception in this hotel, the setting was perfect, this hotel is an old style hotel, but well maintained and very clean with lovely furnishings, the rooms were all beautiful, clean with comfortable beds, the grounds were gorgeous, the staff were fantastic! made me realise there is some excellent staff with outstanding customer services which is hard to find these days! The food was excellent and the breakfast had a great choice, service was friendly and efficient! The bridal suite was beautiful and staff were extremely helpful to the happy couple and all the guests, Whether this hotel be used for a wedding, or a holiday I will definitely be back and would highly recommend to anyone looking for that special place in beautiful Aberdeen! Thank you so much for making my daughter's wedding Day perfect! One fault we were not served the wedding cake at the end of the meal and it was all put out for the buffet, which meant many family members did not get any wedding cake, there was only a small amount left which allowed the bridge & groom to have a piece to take home, but I never got any of the wedding cake which looked beautiful! (shame).

The other issue was the dance floor, which had a sloped metal edge all around it, I almost slipped three times, when wearing high heels, unfortunately my niece did slip and fell while carrying a glass and ended up in hospital overnight and had to have several tests and had stitches, she was very lucky as the glass sliced into her neck, missing her main artery, by cm's, the staff acted very quickly and the ambulance arrived in good time, but hope the manager will look to change this, as next time someone may not be so lucky!

Room Tip: Beautiful peaceful surroundings, no noise and had a wonderful comfortable sleep, bathroom was excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinestrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is really old Scottish mansion. Not a traditional hotel. Looks and feels pretty impressive. Staff is also very nice.

Few remarks, the newer wing, rooms 50-60 are really small, no WiFi coverage. Maybe the most annoying the breakfast service. Very, very slow and disorganized. Not for "busy businessmen". Should be easy to improve.

Room Tip: Avoid the wing of 50-60
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is located not that far away from the city center. You can go by public transportation to the hotel. The surroundings are very nice and the hotel has the old traditional look.
But as a business hotel, you shall forget this. There is no Wi-Fi in the room, and the Wi-Fi accesable is only in the lobby and partly in rooms around the lobby. The telephone coverage is very poor. I cannot recommend this hotel before something has been done to improve communication in all means.
The food is good, but a bit expensive. This counts also for drinks.
The room is nice and comfortable, but the hot water can sometimes be cold! That is not good for the morning shower!
The staff is helpful and smiling. Use this accommodation for holidays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
158 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

An experience worthwhile with traditional room which was large and modern clean bathroom
bar and dinner staff were very attentive and the standars of breakfast and dinner was good pity was spoiled by the sound of the kitchen staff at the window .. and the terrible background music
santa and aleksandre excelled but to get a smile or a hello from most reception was a chore ... pity its the gave of the hotel

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationerfmsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed staying in our spacious junior suite. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable dining experience and the team looked after you well.
I am very surprised to hear your comments regarding the front desk team as they are normally very pleasant girls delivering a high standard of customer service.
We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Norwood is great value for money in an overpriced aberdeen, the hotel is lovely with log fires and in a lovely traditional building. The only thing that lets this place down is the standard of service not their friendliness but their attentiveness, and proffesionalism. The team need to be managed better and then the hotel would be excellent. Dinner is lovely but breakfast is good but coked food can be greasy. Team need more training and attention to detail. But team are always happy and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manwering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your review, and your constructive criticism regarding the professionalism of the staff. We are currently carrying out refresher training with team members. I hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My husband and I have just spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel in Aberdeen. The hotel itself is a gem, I loved it since I walked into the hotel. All the common areas take you years back, it is indeed elegant, historic and sophisticated. All the staff we have come across has been friendly and polite. The girl in the bar was friendly and gave us plenty advise in what to do for the next day, the spanish lady in the restaurant was great, she looked after us very well, polite service always with a smile and she went that extra mile to get a especial dessert for me (I am a fussy eater!) I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loumart9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the charms of the wonderful historic house.
Cristina was happy to hear she was able to suggest a dessert that you enjoyed.
Thank you for your recomonadtion and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,075 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing