We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice and close to city centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #15 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent choice and close to city centre”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I ended up staying here as opposed to the normal Holiday Inn/Hilton choices due to Aberdeen being almost full on Monday and Tuesday nights now.
The building itself is very impressive and has a real class about it.
Even in May, Aberdeen can be cold so the log fire in reception was very welcome. I think they may have overdone the logs in the morning though as they almost had to issue breathing apparatus to the guests, there was that much smoke!
Check in was a little on the slow side but extremely friendly and helpful reception staff.
The room was a very good size and well appointed.
Plenty of wardrobe space, well appointed bathroom and a good range of toiletries.
Bed was extremely comfortable and room was delightfully quiet.

I used room service for breakfast and it arrived bang on time both days. Typical of most Scottish hotels, what you order is exactly what you get so you have to ask for salt and pepper, ketchup etc but quality of breakfast was very high.
The restaurant was a little too stuffy for me so I used room service for my evening meal and was not disappointed.
20 minutes from order to delivery and, like breakfast, piping hot food, great quality and well presented.
I would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a change from the normal chain hotels.

Room Tip: I had a very quiet room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and might use us again in the future.
If the restaurant is not suitable for you, we would happily serve you dinner in our bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to Norwood Hall Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    161
    63
    42
    40
See reviews for
122
229
25
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just stayed at the hotel for an overnight, what can I say. We dined in the restaurant and the food and service were outstanding, made to feel so welcome. All staff were smiling and went out their way to speak with you. Would like to say a huge thank you to all the team here and I will definitely be back again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, and enjoyed the restaurant food. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Norwood is the best Conference/meeting venue I have been to in Aberdeen. However, the others have been quite bad.
The hotel rooms are spacious are good, but the layout of the hotel is quite confusing.

Good rooms, good conference facilities, ok food, and good service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear EAasen,

Thank you for the positive review, our purpose built conference centre is very popular, a quiet location overlooking the hotel grounds. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kinds Regards
Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had our wedding at the Norwood. The day couldn't have gone any better, myself & my husband had a magical day. The staff couldn't do enough for us & were so friendly. Our room was amazing & the bathroom was out of this world. We defenatly picked the perfect place for our wedding. Thank you so much to all the staff that helped to make our day so perfect!! See you all soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 823NicolaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear 823NicolaC,

Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to look after you on your special day. Our best wishes to you both for a long and happy life together.

Kind Regards
Margaret Fraser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here on a valentines weekend offer. This gave us an upgrade to a lovely suite with chocolates, fresh fruit and Prossecco.

The hotel is set in its own lovely grounds and a short walk from the old Royal Deeside railway line which was lovely for a pre dinner walk.

Our meal was in the wood panelled dining room and very good.

The hotel is all open fires and wood panelling which is very stately and great for a visit in the winter.

The staff were courteous and helpful and helped to make it a lovely relaxing stay.

Only complaint is it does not have any spa facilities which my wife would have enjoyed as she was so relaxed by the surroundings, would have just made it perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElginAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
I am glad that you both enjoyed your stay and hotel grounds. Thank you for your positive comments regarding the team, it is always encouraging for them to receive positive feedback.
Regarding the spa, we are currently looking at the possibility of adding this facility at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just celebrated our sons wedding and what a fabulous day we had. Hotel and service first class. What a beautiful hotel, a perfect setting for wedding photos. Jill and staff did us proud, thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are delighted your son and daughter-in-law’s wedding day was everything you had hoped for. Jill’s attention to detail always ensures the day events flow as smoothly was possible. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Norwood Hall in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEENSHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

received a gift voucher for the Norwood hall hotel and wasn't disappointed, the welcome we got was excellent and our room was first class. We had dinner at the hotel which was reasonably priced and the service and food was to a high standard. Although there was a wedding on at the hotel we were not disturbed in any way due to the location of our room which was specifically appointed to us by reception for this reason. We also had breakfast and although the restaurant was busy we were quickly seated and served promptly.

Room Tip: Junior suite rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, General Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Norwood. It is always encouraging for the team to receive positive feedback. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing