We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical”
Review of Macdonald Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Hotels
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed here with my husband aunt uncle mum and neighbour to celebrate my graduation over two days.

Mums room was in the old part of the hotel and had lots of character the other rooms were in the new part of the hotel and were modern. All were spacious with tables chairs fantastic showers and separate baths.

Service was excellent all staff could not do enough to help you to enjoy your stay.

We booked a table of thirteen we were given a private dining room which again had lots of character. The service and food were simply fantastic.

We spent the day in the library playing board games as unfortunately it was raining but we had a great time the fire was constantly supplied with logs very relaxing indeed

The surrounding grounds have lots of giant red woods which are lovely.

A wedding party was at the hotel on the second day and they all really enjoyed themselves.

Would I recommend this hotel absolutely!

Would I stay again absolutely!

Thanks Norwood hall hotel we loved our stay

Kind regards

Dr Collister-bartlett

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orca111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay with us at Norwood Hall.

I am delighted to hear you made the most of the newly refurbished public areas and private dining room.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    169
    64
    42
    41
See reviews for
125
233
26
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Located in a secluded woodland, you feel like you could be anywhere but you are just outside Aberdeen city centre in a posh neighbourhood called Cults.

The hotel has just had a refurb and you can see where they have spent the money!!

Our Junior Suite was spacious, nicely decorated and had all the usual mod cons including a HUGE tv!

Breakfast was great with attentive staff and a good selection on the buffet. Our coffee was in a cafetiere - no instant stuff here! We orderd a cooked breakfast which was great and set us up for the day.

Dinner in the evening was great with more attentive staff and lovely food. The hotel was busy as they had a wedding on but this didnt affect our stay as a couple away for the weekend.

It was just the relaxing get-away we were hoping for. Cant wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a Junior Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdfs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of Norwood Hall. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to Norwood soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I got married here, staff were attentive and helpful before the event, unfortunately an item of mine went missing and after phoning at least 5 times and being told i would get a call back never heard anything. Also the day after it feels a little like a conveyor belt of weddings they are desperate to get you out for the next one.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank db75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorwoodHall, Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your wedding at Norwood Hall.

I apologise that your enquiry regarding your lost property was not dealt with efficiently.

Norwood Hall is of the few venues in Aberdeen to conduct only one wedding per day allowing us to provide a personal service for our Brides and Grooms. I am sorry if this was not the feeling you left with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I recently stayed on a business trip at the Norwood Hall hotel.

The hotel is very nice, the original building is beautiful and the extension is tastefully in keeping with the old building. I stayed in a Junior Suite which was very nice, quite luxurious and had all the facilities i would expect for the cost!

The food was of a high standard, breakfast was well catered and quality was excellent.

The only issues i had were the standard of service was poor for a hotel of this quality. The whole place appeared over worked and under staffed. There was nobody to serve at the bar when ordering a drink, you had to go and find someone...room service took 45mins to arrive....nobody answering at reception when calling.

Also, with the addition of the extension (in which i was staying) it was a nightmare finding the room! You had to go down and up in lifts and round in circles to get there.

Otherwise, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you for your constructive feedback from your recent stay. We continually strive to improve our service and will share your comments with the team. We hope to welcome you back at Norwood Hall in the near future and restore your faith in our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is a late review due to the involvement of our solicitors.
Having been given "the chat" at the wedding open day and with the promises made in the brochure we went ahead and booked our wedding date....believing we would be looked after and treated well.
OH HOW WRONG WE WERE!!!!
Unfortunately for us, though happily taking our money, not one member of the Norwood team felt it necessary to mention to us that they had a large extension in the planning which would be happening over our wedding date!
In fact we only discovered that this was happening when we arrived for our final meeting with the wedding coordinator 12 weeks before hand.
I was horrified to see the beautiful setting ruined by diggers, cut down trees, mud everywhere and a 30ft silo tower in full view as you turned up the drive.
Needless to say i was rather upset at having been kept in the dark about these plans.
I was told by the coordinater in no uncertain terms that I would just have to "deal with it". On writing to the manager i was told that they had informed everyone of the plans via the planning information in the news paper.
WOW!!! Not exactly the treatment and care one would expect as a "valued" paying customer!!!

We have NEVER received any apology for the upset and inconvenience caused by having to move our entire wedding of 140 guests elsewhere or acknowledgement that it was there lack of care and attention that meant I and SEVERAL other wedding parties were left completely in the dark about the plans and had huge upset during what should have been an enjoyable time.

So to cut a very long story short...if you are looking to book your wedding and would like to pass all your hopes and dreams for your perfect day into the hands of a competent team who will be completely upfront and honest with you, in a beautiful venue where the food is fantastic and every member of staff is friendly and prides themselves in helping to make your day and the run up to it extra special and in fact make your every wish come true then NORWOOD IS NOT THE PLACE FOR YOU!!!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We are sorry to read about your feelings regarding our extension works we carried out in 2010. The extension works were completed by Autumn 2010 and subsequently we have completed a full refurbishment of our public areas. We believe in improving our facilities and The Hotel is now one of the most stunning wedding venues in the Aberdeen area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have just enjoyed a very comfortable stay at the Norwood Hall Hotel which is situated in very well kept grounds Hotel interia is superb, very welcoming with not only very polite receptionists real log fires burning all the staff are friendly and very polite, our room was very clean and comfy we did eat in dining room and found the food well presented and delicious
Yes we can honestly say our weekend was superb

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetthomas56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Macdonald Hotels, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Many thanks for your positive feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to hear you found my staff to be helpful and enjoyed the facitlities we provide. I will share your comments with the team here at Norwood Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,089 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
2.7 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 65 in Aberdeen
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Hotels

Property: Macdonald Hotels
Address: Garthdee Road, Aberdeen AB15 9FX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Norwood Hall Hotel was built in 1881 on the site of the 15th Century Pitfodels Castle. This truly magnificent Victorian mansion exudes character and charm, with roaring log fires, sweeping staircases and magnificent interior design. Set in seven acres of secluded gardens and woodlands this four star hotel is the ideal venue to host your wedding,family gathering, business meeting and team away day. Norwood Hall has 73 en-suite bedrooms including junior suites, four poster rooms and superb original house rooms, which include all the luxury and modern facilities of a 4 star hotel, whilst still retaining the history and ambience of days gone by.The new conference centre boasts seven superb conference rooms with state-of-the-art audio visual equipment which, along with the traditional Norwood hospitality and customer service, is guaranteed to make your conference a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norwood Hall Aberdeen
Hotel Norwood Hall
Macdonald Hotels Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing