We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a pleasant surprise,a clean and traditional Scottish hotel that was excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Northern Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Northern Hotel
Ranked #57 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberlour
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“It was a pleasant surprise,a clean and traditional Scottish hotel that was excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2010

The Northern Hotel is one of Aberdeen's Art Deco landmarks, an original and familiar presence, that I'd previously taken for granted as it had poor kerb appeal.
The belated decision to pay a visit to this hotel,had been made for me as I had an invite to a function there.

I had pre-booked my room stipulating that I required a quiet room with a decent shower and gave my card details some weeks previously.
Therefore upon arrival I was somewhat put off by the demand that I pay upfront and the signing of a non-smoking policy especially as I'm a non-smoker. These requests are un-necessary and give quite a seedy impression to any prospective guests.

My partner was already grumpy about the lack of car parking facilities and having to leave his car on street,so judging at face value things did not bode well.

Our room was a pleasant surprise,clean and spacious with secondary glazing to cut out traffic noise There is some traffic noise and you can hear the plumbing from other rooms but bear in mind this is a GRADE A Listed building,so the owners will have onerous restrictions placed on them regarding double glazing and insulation.
This was a minor inconvenience but considering the reasonable price charged,it was a pleasant surprise, a clean and traditional Scottish hotel that was excellent value.

One of the group who was severely inconvenienced by the lift use policy where the lift is not used between the hours of midnight and 7am were generously compensated,nothing was too much bother to the management,so brownie points there.

Our function took place in a charming room, festooned with thousands of twinkling little lights that emphasised the central oval in the ceiling, newly decorated with tiny bluebirds in true Deco style. None of the characterless decor found in many more upmarket hotels could be found here.

The tables were neatly set with crisp white Damask table linen but I would have avoided the silver candalabra as it had a whiff of the jilted Miss Haversham and her ghostly wedding feast as described by Charles Dickens.

Our meal was plain and hearty,consisting of lentil soup or melon fan,followed by a choice of 3 roasts (tender beef,succulent pork or turkey) at the carvery and a help yourself buffet of pigs in blankets,skirlie,piping hot roast potatoes,new potatoes,mashed turnip and cabbage(should have offered carrots,broccolli or peas as the choice of cabbage and turnip, though tasty, always reminds one of school food!).
The pudding was honeycomb ice cream in a brandy snap basket or a light cheese cake.
The food was not frivolous, but it was tasty.

Excellent service was provided from the waiting staff under the beady eye of the owner who was an amusing M.C.

The breakfast was a hot buffet of fried eggs,bacon,tattie scones,black pudding,beans,mushrooms and Lorne sausage,the quality of which needs to be improved even it means adding on a few pounds to the bill.
But the choice of assorted yoghurts,fresh fruit salad,prunes,grapefruit and a choice of cereals and fruit juices were more than satisfactory.

In these straightened times,don't let the exterior of the Northern Hotel fool you,come in and give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Speysider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    41
    23
    8
    24
See reviews for
31
17
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2009

When I arrived, I was greeted by a very friendly receptionist. The hotel had a dated look about it, but nevertheless my room was very comfortable with a sofa, double bed, and large bathroom with a tub. This was all with a booking for a single room. I had a nice meal in the restaurant/bar, and they served me beer in the bar long after I was told it would be closed. There is also free wifi here. I asked for a late check-out and they gave me one without hesitation. You could hear some noise from the event going on, but not much, and ear-plugs make it go away.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

Myself and my husband had our wedding reception at the Northern last week. Every thing and everybody were fantastic. Our weddng was quite large (around 100 to meal) however every one was treated as individuals and there were many nice touches. Nothing was too much for the staff.
Guests occupied over 20 rooms in the hotel and apartments and all were impressed. Breakfasts were great and the carvery is really not to be missed.
Overal we had a great time and hope to return many times during our married lives.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank spoonAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soly
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

A room all the guests could have a meal together the night before the wedding, very nice and helpful staff, great food and wine. Rooms worked very well, grandchildren running down corridor from one room to other (safely) for extra sleep for Mum and Dad, before everyone going to breakfast, all family and friends took over the apartments which were very comfortable/clean/and spacious plus about 10 rooms in the hotel, so we can say our family enjoyed all the facilities of the Northern hotel, and the owner was very often around, quietly and efficiently making sure all was done properly a very nice chap, we used the bus for collecting from airport and our return journey, taken care of from 1st to last. When we are up in Aberdeen again we will be going there for lunch or evening meal, as it is around the corner from our Son and Daughter-in-law, they always use the hotel for functions and their parents before them. So the standard has obviously been carried down through the owners. Well done. Sheila and Don Smith.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molyevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2009

Comfortable room in the annex, friendly welcome, good breakfast and convenient for the city

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bothyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

I got married in the Northern Hotel in May 09 & it was a truly unforgettable day. The ballroom is a beautiful room, with a very unique voilin shape & a brilliantly laid out bar/waiting area for when guests are waiting for the bridal party to arrive. The very best thing about the Northern hotel though is it's staff. The Manager, Jim, is an asset to the hotel & was a fantastic MC, whom many of our guests commented on (positively!) afterwards. Nothing is ever too much hassle for any of the staff at the Northern & the food is fantastic. We didn't actually stay at the hotel on our wedding night (we did it the old fashioned way so that we could leave for honeymoon the next day & not get caught up chatting with our wedding guests who had stayed the night) but we did have a room to get ready & to put our wedding gifts in & it was spacious & clean, with a lovely bathroom. During the day itself, efficient just isn't a strong enough word - every time we received an envelope or parcel, it was put up into our room by manager himself & the was room locked behind him so we knew everything was safe. At the end of the night, he even drove us to the hotel we were staying himself! The serving staff were on the ball & did their very best with our meal, despite the fact that our photographs had gone on much longer than planned, which made us late in sitting down & held up the hotel staff.

I regularly use the hotel for business meetings & again, the staff cannot do enough to help. They are lovely & friendly & we know that if we need to eat before the meeting, we will always get a good meal at the Northern. The decor in the public areas is a little dated - but that's half the charm of the place & doesn't let it down at all! This is an art deco style hotel & many a generation have had their wedding there in the past. I went to book another function there earlier this year & every single Friday & Saturday were booked for the year so there are obviously lots of things being done right.

The young lady & gent who are usually on reception are again, an asset to the hotel as they happy & smiling every time you see them, as is Mark the barman.

The hotel doesn't have it's own car park but there is free parking in the street right outside the door & also a car park at the back, by the local shops, which you can use.

The Northern is a jewel in Aberdeen's crown - as are it's staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank w33pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

Stayed here recently for two nights, for a wedding. We were a bit put off on arrival - asked for cost of room upfront and also asked to sign no smoking policy. Our room(208) was clean, warm and I would say, recently refurbished. Bathroom large and clean, towels were changed each day. There is a dining room but although we observed one table being used there, we weren't offered the choice - advised to eat in the bar. Food there was tasty , but our waitress couldn't tell us what the vegetables of the day were ('Um, maybe peas and carrots') The veg turned out to be a nice mix of broccoli, carrots,beans. Next morning, breakfast was advertised as being available from 0800 hours. We arrived at 0830. The (one) member of staff present seemed inexperienced. There was no welcome,no sugar on our table, no menu, no guidance as to self service procedure, no serving spoons in the bowls of grapefruit segments, prunes and fruit salad. We had to ask if there was a cooked breakfast and then we got the menu. Food was fine but the orders had been mixed up somewhat and we ended up swapping items from one plate to another. It would be unfair to criticize the wedding breakfast as we were guests, also I suspect that the meal had been ready for sometime before the wedding party was ready to eat. What we ate was well chosen by our hosts and enjoyed by most of us. The MC at the dinner and wedding dance was efficient and humourous and an asset to the hotel. I suspect that he was either the owner or the Manager!! The wedding dance and buffet was great - limited size dance floor but fine, I think ,for our numbers. Breakfast on our last morning was OK, but still not ready by the advertised time. At 0845 the buffet hot breakfast still lacked two items. Some parts of the hotel are maybe awaiting refurbishment, but all in all, for the price we paid (£65 per room per night, function rates) I would say that we can't complain too much. This hotel has no parking. If you can't park on the street outside, then you have to take a chance on the parking spaces opposite, which are for a small shopping centre and you are warned that it is private parking, and your car may be clamped.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heathertowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Cults Hotel
Cults Hotel
#47 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Mariner Hotel
The Mariner Hotel
#35 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#51 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Aberdeen Airport
1.4 mi away
Carmelite
Carmelite
#44 of 63 in Aberdeen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#18 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel

Property: Northern Hotel
Address: 1 Great Northern Road, Aberdeen AB24 3PS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Northern Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family friendly Hotel based 5 minutes from the town centre and 20 minutes on route to the airport. We have 32 on suite rooms, restaurant, bar and function/conference rooms. We pride ourselves on our locally sourced food and friendly customer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northern Hotel Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing