We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good service and standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here a number of times over past year, mainly related to work and standard of accommodation always high having stayed in the various annexes. Staff are always pleasant and courteous and breakfast is perfectly acceptable. Realistically planning to stay here on monthly basis through work. Good centre for a number of good local restaurants and nice to have living room space and not just a bed and desk. Have already booked again for August trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eastcoastrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your trips to Aberdeen and for taking the time to write a review.
It was great to read that you were so happy with your time here and found our staff to be pleasant and courteous. They will all be happy to read your lovely comments.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in August.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 757 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having stayed at the Skene House Rousemount two times in the last year, and it both stays have been very pleasant. The rooms are spacious and well furnished, with large flat screen tv's, full kitchen and very classy bathroom. The staff is very helpful, and the rooms are clean. The only thing that might be annoying are the fire-proof doors, which are very heavy and slams shut hard. The location is very good, with close proximity to the downtown area of lovely Aberdeen. The breakfast buffet is very good, and is served next door, where there is a nice little conference center underground. Perfect for small groups, having seminars or presentations. Excellent hotel, in a nice quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enur1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Skene House Rosemount after your recent trip.
It was very nice to read you enjoyed both of your visits.
I understand that the fire doors can be a bit annoying when trying to move around your suite. Unfortunately we have to have these doors in the suites to reach our health and safety standards. Some of the doors were recently fitted so the door closers may need loosened slightly. Should this be the case for any return visits please let us know at reception and we will ask a member of our Maintenance team to slacken it a bit so it doesn't slam as much.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I booked 2 apartments at the Skene house for the family to go to our daughter's graduation. My husband & I arrived early as we had to get to the graduation to get photograph's taken and the reception staff were extremely helpful giving us an apartment we could use to get changed as we were too early to book into ours. The rest of the family arrived a little later and were able to get into one of the apartments we had booked. Reception again helped out by ordering taxi's. The apartments themselves are very spacious, clean and well equiped with everything including tea, coffee, milk and breakfast ingredients. We were all very impressed with the level of service and friendliness of all the staff. I would recommend Skene house for larger groups or people wanting somewhere as a base to do some travelling.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Congratulations to your daughter.
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for the trip to Aberdeen.
I was delighted to hear that you were so happy with your time with us and our reception team will be very happy to read that you found them so helpful. Graduation is a special time for everyone and we enjoy seeing all the happy families and hopefully helping everything go as smoothly as possible.
Thank you for taking the time to write the review and hopefully we will see you again on your next trip to Aberdeen.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The suite was immaculate and spacious. A quiet and comfortable bedroom with a large bed and flat screen TV, plus a kitchen and lounge. The staff were genuinely helpful and courteous (and volunteered a free upgrade). The continental breakfast was excellent. Great location, within a few minutes walk from Aberdeen centre. Cannot be faulted, this is first class accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissie93859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review after your recent visit to Skene House Rosemount.
It was wonderful to read that you had such a good stay and felt we couldn't be faulted. Our staff will also be very happy to read that you were so happy with their customer service.
Thank you again and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Aberdeen soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Excellent idea and much better than staying in a hotel. Suite was excellent and we liked the idea of having a bit more freedom than staying in a traditional hotel. We certainly wanted to have breakfast when we wanted and opted for the continantal provisions in the suite. However, we were "upgraded" to a contientl breakafast in the breakfast room five floors down!!

This was not what we wanted (otherwise we would have probably gone for a traditional hotel). We requested provisions in our room on two spearte occasions and were assured this would be done. However, we never did get to have breakfast in our room. Customer focus non - existent. DISAPPOINTING

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobFordTayport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Skene House Rosemount on your recent trip to Aberdeen.
I was sorry to hear that you were not happy with the service provided. This is usually something we do very well so please be assured that the matter has been investigated and will not happen again.
Please accept my apologies that your stay was so disappointing. Should you decide to give us another chance please contact me directly at Skene House Rosemount to make your booking and we will hopefully be able to show you our true customer service values next time.
Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent rooms, excellent staff. Piotr, the concierge and Sarah on reception were both courteous, helpful, pleasant and provided outstandingly good service. Thanks to both.
The suite has a fantastic lounge and kitchen, comfortable beds, good wifi. Fresh milk in the fridge was a welcome touch, the caffetiere and real coffee were also appreciated.On a Saturday night the street noise carries in a bit, but that's about being in the city, not a fault of Skene House.
Very pleased with the suite, and very impressed by the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rae D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen and then taking the time to review us afterwards.
Piotr and Sarah will be delighted to hear that they made such a wonderful impression.
For any future visits please do not hesitate to contact our reception or reservations teams directly. If the noise was an issue we can try to allocate a suite on the other side of the buidling. As you mentioned we are in the centre of Aberdeen so cannot cut out all noise but we can certainly try to keep it a bit quieter for you.
Thank you again for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed only one night and didn't expect apartments but what I got was excellent value for money. I had a ground floor one bedroom flat with a decent lounge that had a kitchenette built in. The bedroom was a good size and the bathroom as you would expect from a 4* hotel.
Flat screen TVs in the bedroom and lounge.
Access from the reception was outside so not good if it is raining (which on my stay it was). Staff were very helpful and all in all a good place to stay. If I am there in Aberdeen again I would stay again.
Parking was secure and set between the apartment blocks but tight access.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Skene House Rosemount after your recent visit. I was delighted to read that you found us a good place to stay and would return when next in Aberdeen.
As you mentioned, not all of our suites are accessable directly from reception. We do have staff on site 24 hours a day who will be more than happy to help you with your luggage - or with an umbrella!
Thank you again and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.5 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#16 of 65 in Aberdeen
307 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 65 in Aberdeen
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $78 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing