We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, Generous and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Skene House Rosemount
Ranked #2 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, Generous and Friendly”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the apartments. The welcome was genuine and sincere and made us feel very relaxed and at home after the long journey and the turbulent drive through the city centre.

The receptionist was completely focused on our requirements and when we said that our daughter who lives in Aberdeen would be joining us for breakfast we were given a complimentary upgrade.

The room was as we expected from our last visit - in beautiful condition spacious and comfortable. The young man who showed us to our room later came back and knocked on our door and presented us with a bottle of wine!

The staff in the breakfast room makes it a lovely experience with efficient and attentive service. It is clear that the moral of the staff is extremely high and this radiates to the guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount and then for taking the time to write your review.
I was delighted to read that you found the welcome genuine and sincere. Our staff really enjoy making sure that everyone has a great time here and they are interested in each individual. When she read the review Ugne remembered you and was very pleased that she had made such an impression and our breakfast team were also very pleased to have played a part in your enjoyment of your stay.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    182
    55
    17
    6
See reviews for
162
276
34
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very satisfied with our accommodation at Skene Appartmeents.Value for money, clean, lovely bedroom, lovely sitting room with large tv and kitchenette, refrigerator and microwave.Centrally located, would return in a heartbeaton our return from NY.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertbakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your recent trip to Aberdeen. It was great to read your lovely review.
I'm not sure which suite you were in but it was good to know that you were so happy in it. Please do not hesitate to request this suite for any future stays and we will try to make sure this is allocated.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back again on your next trip to Scotland.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for one night with 2 other people. Staff really welcoming and friendly.Apartment was really clean and spacious. We had a two bedrooms which was spacious and each room had a flat screen wall mounted TV which was a bonus. Ordered in a take away which was delivered to the apartment so it felt like a home from home. This is the second time that we have stayed and we will be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Skene House Rosemount and for then taking the time to write this review.
It was great to know that your experience here felt like a home from home. Our aim is to provide this experience for all guests. We feel that being able to enjoy a takeaway in your own suite is part of this. Aberdeen has many great restaurants but it also has a lot of great takeaways so we offer the best of both worlds.
Thank you again and I hope we see you and your family back soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night and couldn't have been more impressed. Check in was fast, friendly and efficient. Car park behind the apartments was extremely convenient and secure. The apartment itself was spotlessly clean. Living area large and spacious, plenty of storage space in the well proportioned bedroom, well equipped kitchen and lovely bathroom with large shower cabinet. Ideally situated within walking distance of union street. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Rosemount.
I was delighted to read that you were so happy with your stay and that you were so impressed.
I will certainly make sure I pass your comments regarding the cleanliness of the suite along to our housekeeping department. They work hard to make sure there are no problems with the suites and it is lovely when this is noticed and commented on.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First impression was great, the car park was around the back off road but not too much of a hassle to reach. Room was lovely, had a big shower, spacy kitchen and a cosy king size bedroom.
A nice 32" lg tv which is always a bonus.

We did have a problem with the bathroom however this was fixed no problem by the hotel concierge. We were even offered a new room for the trouble but we declined.

Would definately go there again and is value for money, the breakfast was continental with a choice of paying extra for the cooked.

Very helpful staff and reception, thanks a lot

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlo148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount and then taking the time to review us.
I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay so much and that the problem with the bathroom was fixed quickly and to your satisfaction.
I will make sure you comments are passed along to our staff too.
Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckie, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Booked the appartment by looking on the web and by the Trip Adivisor Award. I was going on a girls shopping weekend. The staff on reception were friendly and happy, but when we arrived looked harased by the amonunt of people sitting in reception. But our apartment was ready so the friendly porter took us to our apartment. Which was up the street from the reception. (Did not realise that it was not in the same building as reception).
There was three of us for our shopping weekend, So we were there for two nights, the first thing that hit us was the very strong STALE smell of cigarette smoke, it was really horrible. The decoration in the appartment was bad, carpets and chairs needed a really good steam clean, carpets & furnishings were very stained. Worktops in the kitchen had burn marks and the wallpaper in the kitchen was really yellow.
By the Saturday it was very obvious that some of the other apartments were on long term Lets. During the both nights that we were there, there was an unbelievable smell of curry in the stairwell to the extent that our apartment stunk of it. Even at 1am in the morning at one point I thought there must have been a curry house nearby, but I was told no. At 4am We had people ringing our door bell and shouting outside the room, If i was a lone female I would not have felt safe by the amount of shouting going on, even in the middle of the day!!
The apartment that we were in did not look like the pictures on the web. We were really disapointed with it, we on the 4th floor, which I knew about because we wanted 2 bathrooms and I was told at the time of booking that there was no lift, that was ok with us, but it looks like that appartment hasnt been seen for months by managerial staff or they wouldnt put people in it until it was decorated!! there was nothing wrong with bedding etc but I felt let down because believe me the apartment didnt look anything like the pictures!!!!
Would I stay there again? Sorry "NO"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Rosemount and for taking the time to write a review afterwards.
I was sorry to note that you were not very happy with your time here.
I am unsure if you received it as I haven't had a reply but I did email you on Monday to ask if you might contact me directly to let me know more details regarding the issues.
We do have some guests who are relocating to or from Aberdeen who will stay with us for a few months at a time. Since we offer suites with their own kitchens for our guests use there are at times food smells and this can happen at any time.
I would also like to assure you that our suites are checked regularly by both the housekeeping team and management. We are looking to start an ongoing refurbishment program within some of our suites as we do recognise that the bathrooms need a bit of TLC.
In my email to you I mentioned that you might prefer one of our superior suites for any future stays. These are furnished in a more modern manner which may be more to your taste. The suite that you were allocated is decorated in a more traditional manner which some of our guests prefer. I also offered a complimentary upgrade for any future stays but I do understand that you might not wish to use this.
I apologise that we were not able to provide what you were looking for and also that there were guests making a noise when they returned from town. Our night concierges asked them to keep the noise down as soon as they became aware of the problem and this was checked regularly afterwards.
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know where we might improve.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

First Class accommodation. Very comfortable in the spacious rooms. Quiet place for being near centre of Aberdeen. Staff very nice. Continental Breakfast supplied.
Would certainly go again.

Joyce and Alan,
Ayrshire.

Room Tip: Just go...you wont be disappointed! No lifts but has ground floor appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jopa1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan-skene, Manager at Skene House Rosemount, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Skene House Rosemount for your trip to Aberdeen. Thank you too for taking the time to review us afterwards.
It was great to read that you were so happy with your time with us.
Hopefully we will see you both again soon.
Kind regards
Jan Millard
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 65 in Aberdeen
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
3.9 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,939 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Rosemount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Rosemount

Property: Skene House Rosemount
Address: Skene House 96 Rosemount Viaduct, Aberdeen AB25 1NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#5 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#6 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Rosemount 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Hotel Suites set in the cultural quarter of Aberdeen, only a few minutes' walk to the theatre, art galleries and shopping centres. Smart, modern & comfortable serviced accommodation in Aberdeen with additional benefit of hotel services. Interiors have been designed by leading interior designers to offer guests a more minimal, streamline aesthetic - from the duplex penthouses offering bright and airy loft-style living to a more homely environment in Rothko's tequila sunrise hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Skene House Rosemount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene House Rosemount Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene Hotel Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing