We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmelite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carmelite
Ranked #45 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, beautiful room, fantastic food, amazing staff, outstanding customer service, I will defiantly be returning here and would recommend this hotel to my friends. I had my 10 month old son with me and my husband and they couldn't do enough for us and we're great with the baby and the requests we had for his allergies.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience from you recent visit to Carmelite. It's always pleasing to read such comments, as the team do strive to extend a high level of hospitality and service. Hopefully we can welcome you back to Carmelite again soon, and once again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    178
    117
    90
    69
See reviews for
56
236
43
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

As a group of about 20 for a friend’s birthday we went for the Afternoon Tea. The sandwiches, cakes, scones etc were ok and there was plenty to go around. However the service left a lot to be desired... We ordered a bottle of wine, 30 mins later still no sign so having advised the manager we were still waiting we were told the bar was busy... another 10 mins passed still no wine so advised a waitress and no wine ever appeared. We ended up having to go up to the bar and order it ourselves... they then had the cheek to put the wine on our bill even though we bought it ourselves at the bar. I don’t think I will be rushing back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dbdeen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to Carmelite. I am pleased you enjoyed the food element of the Afternoon Tea, although disappointed to read of the delay in bar service. As you witnessed, the bar does get extremely busy, even with 4/5 bartenders behind, sometimes admittedly we simply can't keep up with the demand of the popular T-Pot Cocktails as they are all individually made. Having reviewed service with the Bar Manager, we are redirecting the service on one of the Bar tenders been responsible for quick simply orders as a bottle of wine, so hopefully with the pre-ordering options for the Intoxicating Afternoon Teas and now this revised focus, we will improve the speed. I sincerely hope you do reconsider and revisit maybe on a quieter day, where there's a much more relaxing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Booked for afternoon tea for two. Sandwiches and cakes were lovely! More then enough food for two and enough tea to sink the Titanic! Staff very friendly and attentive even in a very busy restaurant. Will definitely return for food again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niccig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent visit to Carmelite for Afternoon Tea. We appreciate the positive comments as well as the not so, as the team do strive to provide a good experience. Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice interior, nice music, sat down and I dont know if you have to order at the bar or not but ended up doing so as no one took our order or bothered to tell us what the procedure is. Got a cocktail for my girlfriend at ten pounds was not a large glass for the price but was made well. We decided to order food from the bar menu and it was clearly pre made oven food and not as described on the menu itself. They used the same weird soy kind of sauce on everything. The chicken was probably the worst quality of chicken ive ever seen and was barely warm. Needless to say we didnt eat it and after a long wait we had to call over to a waitress who never even asked how it was even though there was a fullplate of food to take away. My girlfriend complained about the food and we recieved ONE POUND back. If the service and food was up to scratch it would be a good place as I say decoration and music was great.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank civicbore89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Manager at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to Carmelite. It is pleasing to read some positives regarding the music and decor, however disappointing you didn't enjoy the Munchies. We receive many good comments about the munchies, so I was surprised to read your comments. However, clearly you didn't enjoy them, and I apologise for the shortfalls experienced. We have reviewed the list for the new menu, and kept the Yakatori Chicken available, as is one of our best sellers. I can't understand why you received so much soy sauce. I can only put these comments down to maybe a new chef cooking you order, and maybe not to our normal standard, which I sincerely apologise. I have spoken with our Chef, establishing corrective training, and to our Bar Manager relating to no-one following up your satisfaction, when leaving food on the plate.
We are reprinting the Tipples, Tea and Munchies Menu, where upon we will place a sentence regarding our 'lounge / bar service'. Thank you for raising that point. All in all, I do hope you reconsider and allow us another opportunity by revisiting Carmelite again. we have some exciting great new 'Smokin' Cocktails and Tray Serves which are very different !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here while on a business trip to Aberdeen, the hotel is small and the room I had was also quite small but I was on my own so that was fine. The rooms were newly decorated and the bed was comfy, no real noise from the road below. The reception is on the first floor up a steep set of stairs, there's no lift so not suitable if you have difficulty walking or are disabled. I ate in the restaurant downstairs while here and the food was really good, service was a little slow but it was busy. The location is ideal for the centre of Aberdeen and the harbour is just along the road.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience whilst visiting Carmelite recently.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, maybe on a return business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed overnight here on 18/19 October 2013. The room I had was large and clean as was the bathroom - which well impressed me. The fittings in the room worked well and it was well decorated. The tea/coffee/biscuits tray was well appreciated. I had lunch here (my first tasting of Cullen Skink- a local soup) followed by a main course and a beer. The food was cooked well and served in reasonable portions.
The Carmelite is ideally situated for Union Street (shops and restaurants) as well as the rail and bus stations. It also has a well-stocked bar which is at street level. I found the staff to be pleasant, polite and attentive. I intend to stay again on my next visit to Aberdeen.

Room Tip: This hotel has numerous rooms (some of which have names), mine was a basic single. During my time in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience whilst recently visiting Carmelite. We are very pleased you liked the Designer Rooms, and enjoyed the food. Hopefully it won't be too long before your revisit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night to attend a friends wedding. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly, helpful and attentive. The room was one of the more basic rooms that the hotel had to offer but it was still very well decorated and clean. We had also booked breakfast the next day, which was excellent.

One thing that I feel let the room down (and this is a minor point) is that the electical outlets in the room are in very awkward places and trying to iron shirts for a wedding was made near impossible because of this and the terrible iron in the room.

However, all in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and I would deifnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jammiedodger87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience whilst staying with us at Carmelite.
We are pleased your friend had a fabulous Wedding Day and you found our 3rd floor standard rooms satisfactory. The team always appreciate positive comments regarding their service and hospitality. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,856 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelite

Property: Carmelite
Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing