We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a little different...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmelite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmelite
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Something a little different...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

If you're looking for a hotel that's a little different from the others, this could be a good place for you.

The rooms on level 2 have recently been refurbished, and mine was very clean! The room was a little cold upon arrival, but this was soon sorted by staff.

I can't comment on breakfast- I chose to go to a cafe a few minutes down the road.

My only gripe matches that of another user- the reception. You frequently find the reception unmanned. This wouldn't usually be an issue as many other hotels will have a bell that you ring to attract the attention of the staff, but there's no such thing here.

Overall, great 'wee' hotel in a good location- 2 minutes walk away from the Union Square shopping centre. Judging by the rooms on the second floor, this is a good quality three-star, but don't go expecting the Ritz.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    175
    115
    90
    69
See reviews for
56
234
43
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were at the Carmelite for dinner after purchasing an itison voucher, big mistake! Two steak dinners for £17 and even at that we thought we had been ripped off.
Entering the Carmelite the lounge and bar are beautiful, however when we were led through to the restaurant it was very down market, scruffy tables that didn't look very clean and non existant decor.
The service left a lot to be desired, a different member of staff came up to us every two minutes and didnt seem to have a clue whether we had ordered drinks or our food or anything, this was probably due to the fact we ordered a bottle of wine and it did not come for 20 minutes.
As for the food, the steak was ridiculously overdone even though I had asked for medium and the actual quality of the meat was apalling- tiny and mostly consisted of fat! served with 5 chips and a tomato oh and a cremated mushroom.
The no salt at the table was just stupid as well.
I would never go back to this restauant it was laughable how bad it was.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sheila_4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ten of us had afternoon tea at the Carmelite Hotel, Aberdeen - it was fun, something different for a Saturday afternoon. Very busy so would recommend booking.. Very relaxed, comfortable seating but a bit squashed and could have done with a larger table. We had cocktails in the teapots and bit disappointed that not in vintage style teapots but plain white. Also could with done with labels on the pots so we knew what we were drinking! Cakes and sandwiches lovely. Service good and would go back. A great idea for a girly weekend, hen do or just a celebration!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a last minute 2 night stay, simply because this one of only 2 hotels that had any availability in Aberdeen under £150 per night!! This one was cheaper than the other one, hence the choice to book here.

On arrival it is confusing where to go for reception, as this hotel also has its own bar / restaurant. The first member of staff just pointed me in the opposite direction to the bar to find reception. I felt a bit silly wandering around looking lost trying to find reception whilst people were sitting having drinks and looking at me. The guy then gestered from the bar which was now further away that I had walked past reception. Well no wonder, because the reception was just a small odd piece of wood in the middle of nowhere really, and there was no member of staff there manning it so it just blends in with all the bar furniture. To make things worse no one arrived within minutes of me standing there, nor was there any bell to press. I thought this service was of a very poor standard, especially as the guy at the bar knew I wanted to check in, so should have alerted a member of reception staff to attend. The first member of staff that did arrive several minutes later, could not help me as she didnt "work on reception", so I had to wait a few more minutes. On another 2 further occasions during my stay I had to wait ages to be served at reception.

The room itself was better. Clean, comfortable, a spacious bathroom. Quiet as we were facing the back of the hotel. Tea and coffee provided. A modern rain shower. The odd thing was having to boil the kettle on the floor due to a lack of sockets around the table area. A bit backwards!

We parked outside the hotel on the side street, but be aware you have to pay between the hours of 8am and 8pm at a cost of 50p for 20 minutes if I remember correctly. Location is fantastic shopping and eating. Plenty of places on your doorstep here. 3 minutes walk from the train station and Union Square which is full of shops, cafes and restaurants.

Overall the accommodation was fine, but the customer service we encountered was terrible, for what otherwise could be a really good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkButterflyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stopped in for lunch to investigate the place for a possible Christmas day booking. The food was not bad, although I wouldn't say it was the best value for money. The food itself was also very slow in coming out once ordered. The service, on the other hand, was terrible. The staff were exceptionally slow moving and inattentive. At one point, after being given the dessert menu, it actually took twenty minutes for them to return to take the order. To top it all off at the end of the hour and 30 minute lunch they managed to mess up the bill and tried to over charge us. We were very disappointed with the whole experience, and they will definitely not be getting money out of us for a Christmas menu!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiancé & I stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The room was spacious and decor was modern, lovely bathroom too. Breakfast in the morning was delicious! Great hotel situated very close to the centre & all the shops. Service at the hotel was great and we also got 24 hours secure parking for £10. I will definitely be returning to this hotel and would highly recommend to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I pre booked lunch for a party of three, and being local I had heard all the seductive advertising, so I expected something a little bit special. It was, at best, average. We felt we were sitting in the hotel lobby and the staff were disinterested in our presence. Confusing menu options, no guidance, surly waiter, lots of transient residents talking loudly, zero atmosphere. After 2 messed orders, with no apologies, it will be the last time I ever dine at the Carmelite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#27 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#51 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.5 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelite

Property: Carmelite
Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing