We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intoxicating afternoon tea”
Review of Carmelite

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carmelite
Ranked #48 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Intoxicating afternoon tea”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I'd recommend the cocktails, especially the Hendriks coffee-time Martini, it was very nice. However I wouldn't bother with the Afternoon tea cake stand, hardly any sandwiches each (2 fingers) and the scones were stale and when I asked for a plain one it came, hot on the outside and frozen in the middle. A disappointing birthday experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SR200_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    182
    121
    96
    73
See reviews for
60
247
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed here for my daughters birthday party. Attentive and pleasant staff with good food and service made our evening. A later afternoon meal was good quality and affordable. A recently renovated room completed an enjoyable experience plus breakfast at a sensible time ( served up to 11 am) finished off an experience I will repeat in future.

Room Tip: we slept at the rear of the hotel and in spite of being in City Centre , no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AberdeenBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Very centrally located in Aberbeen - nice smallish hotel - had 2 single rooms which where fine and generally nicely decorated and clean - although some little bits needed smartening up. Could have done with another taller light in the room - it was a bit dark. Excellent powerful shower. Bar lounge area was fine and liked the Jenga games on the tables. Parking is limited and costs £10 a day - which as we had booked via an online agent we weren't aware of. Staff generally friendly and helpful.
Bit noisy outside at night but then it is in the centre

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceLedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at carmelite whilst at a wedding there,i got messed about as early as booking my room I was getting early check in then then yes they kept changing there minds.when I got to hotel my design executive ( god knows why it was called this) room was quite small not very clean and overpriced at £105 it was £40 dearer than standard room but no different other than slightly bigger tv! The window in bathroom was thick with dust!at the bar I waited 20 minutes to get served despite 4 bar staff who preferred to serve customers at tables and just ignore me until I complained.the only enjoyable part of stay was attending friends big day.i wasnt only person to complain about the poor service.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikenchaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Total let down from start to finish. Arrived to be put in a room with suitcases in it to be moved to second room which was absolutely freezing! Turned radiators up went down to lunch to be frozen there too! Was so cold had to eat with coat on. Went back up to room to discover heating in the room not working or tv or lamp! Reception sent someone up with fan heater and said no one had ever complained before and that hotels heating was on a timer! She then moved us to bedroom number three! This seemed to be a family room as it had lollipops and kids books but you had to plug the kettle into a switch on the floor! Beautiful roll top bath but water wasn't hot! Cocktail waiter has major hygiene issues as watched him use a straw to taste two cocktails to then put it back in drinks! Would definitely avoid going back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jomog9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

rooms are lovely, however the food was the major let down. The menu is worded well but the food is poor.
Talk about over selling and underdelivering

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucethebear2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Beautiful food, very attentive service. Chilled atmosphere and relaxing bar area to listen to the local jazz band. Would highly recommend. First class. Will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#29 of 65 in Aberdeen
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#52 of 65 in Aberdeen
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 65 in Aberdeen
984 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Brentwood Hotel
The Brentwood Hotel
#43 of 65 in Aberdeen
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelite

Property: Carmelite
Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing