We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (721)
Filter reviews
721 results
Traveler rating
553
128
34
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
553
128
34
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews living room off street parking secure parking breakfast room visiting aberdeen town centre reception staff lounge apartment roomy scotland
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 721 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2017

A great place with lots of room to stretch out and enjoy some privacy. Off street parking and laundry facilities. An easy walk to fine dining. You could get drinks in the eve, and enjoy a fine breakfast. Price was very easy on the budget.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bountiful-IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeneHouse, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your reason stay with us.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Skene House in the future.

Kind regards
Susan Aitken
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Skene House Whitehall in an apartment consist of three bedrooms, living room and kitchen. The apartment has several buildings and each building has different style apartment. Overall, the apartment is comfortable, clean and well managed. They also have free parking and laundry room for hotel guest.

The Skene House Whitehall is no longer offering breakfast to guest. Since we booked the at Whitehall before they change the policy, they directed us to have breakfast at Ske House Rosemount which is 300m from Whitehall. Breakfast itself is above average and you can order omelete from the kitchen too.

The hotel is located in quiet parts of Aberdeen but not far from city center. Definitely worth to stay in Aberdeen considering huge apartment we stay, complete amenities they provided and excellent rate. I highly recommended staying at this self catering apartment.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2017

Thank you for choosing Skene House Whitehall for your trip to Aberdeen. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed both your stay and your breakfast at Skene House Rosemount.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Piotr Wyrzykowski
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Free parking. Complimentary first drink. Classy Georgian style rooms. Quiet. Close to city centre. Friendly helpful staff. Brilliant facilities. Garden area. Lounge with large t.v. and tea/coffee. Self help bar. You won't get this comfort and space for FOUR people in a hotel for this price. (Please don't increase your rates now!!!!)

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and our team were delighted to read your comments.
Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Piotr Wyrzykowski
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017

This was a perfect place to stay in Aberdeen, in a residential area, walkable to the main street, fairly close to public transport, parking for cars included, laundry facilities on-site free for guests, basic kitchen facilities (including oven) and very comfy beds and linens in a large bedroom. We stayed for 5 nights while visiting Aberdeen and were very happy to find that a "studio apartment" actually meant 4 separate rooms (bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and living room). It was carpeted throughout, and was quiet, comfortable, and lovely. Wifi in the suite was fast and available. They have a wonderful lounge where you can help yourself to the bar and record what you buy. Also, they give you your first drink free, which was a nice touch. You can get breakfast there, but we had a kitchen, so no need. The only downside was that the fire rules mean the doors are supposed to remain closed in the suite, which was only a problem with the kitchen door, which slammed behind you each time you went through it and was hard to prop open (which you weren't supposed to do…) And one of the pots in the kitchen didn't have a lid. We loved our stay there. The price was most reasonable and we would highly recommend this place to stay.

Room tip: No elevators, so be prepared to haul your bags up, even on the "first" floor.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Skene House Whitehall. We were delighted that you had such a good time here, found everything you needed and enjoyed making use of our lounge and bar.
I understand your frustrations with the fire regulations, having closed doors does not always make for easy use of the suite. I hope this did not cause you too many problems.
Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards
Piotr Wyrzykowski
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017

In October last year our home became unusable through a water spill, so we were required to move to alternative accommodation. It had been a stressful time, and as we dragged ourselves into the reception, we were at our wits end.

Our stresses and worries were immediately tempered by a warm welcome and a sympathetic ear. We were quickly shown to our apartment. It was well appointed, and although it was somewhat dated in style, we noticed the high quality of decoration, functional fixtures, and decent furniture. The apartment offered quite flexible space and it proved to be a comfortable and cozy home from home. Seven months later, when our home was at last fit to return to, we left the same apartment with some mixed feelings; so happy had we been.

The quality of the stay in Skene apartments was impressive on many levels. Crisp sheets were renewed twice weekly, and the apartment was kept cleaned / towels renewed, daily.

The breakfast room offered an impressive variety of items at a hot and cold buffet. Food cooked fresh and an option to order; was served promptly and with good humour. The sausages were frankly astonishing and became a regular treat. fresh fruit salad and lovely pastries were also a daily temptation.

Breakfast was only one of the aspects that made our stay at Skene Apartments so happy. Access to the pleasant walled garden, easy and secure parking, and a supply of delicious complimentary coffee in the lounge were all welcome aspects that made our stay relaxed and assuring.

All in all, I'm a big fan of Skene Apartments. I could find little fault; even the wifi was reliable. However, my appreciation of the comfortable accommodation and quality of breakfast are not what elevates Skene Apartments to top my list of places to stay. The aspect that they score most highly on is the undeniable sense of luxury.

There is no pool or spa at hand, neither are there extensive grounds that offer long walks in the sun. These amenities are always welcome, but their absence is of little import when a much more fundamental element is so richly present. The sense of luxury evident in Skene Apartments is because of their superb staff. Each and every worker seemed genuinely interested in our comfort and our satisfaction. From smiling reception staff to cheery cleaners, from the very communicative manager to active waiting staff; we were greeted and efficiently served with grace and good humour without fault. Our needs were anticipated and our daily stresses forgotten so easily. Our stay was made near-perfect by the luxury of being served by fine people, who took the time to interact with us.

Since our stay, I gather that our apartment has undergone a refit, and so the rather dated style will have been swept away and a more contemporary design put in its place, which will be lovely. However, if I were to have the opportunity to reside once more at Skene apartments, I would above all anticipate their excellent service as the key to a perfect stay.

Room tip: Blocks 1 or 2; they enjoy access to walled garden.
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alistair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piotr W, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017


Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review. It’s been a pleasure to read.
I am delighted that you were happy with your suite. Our apartments give some much more space than a typical hotel bedroom and are ideal especially for a long term stays like yours.
I'm also very pleased that you were happy with the level of customer service you received from our staff members. Our staff genuinely enjoyed making you and your family feel welcome and were happy to help whenever possible.
As you know, the apartment block you were staying in is currently undergoing a complete refurbishment; with a modern design, but with the same home away from home feel. We are very excited to see the finished result!
Thank you again for your amazing review and I’m glad you have settled back into your home after your ordeal.

Kind regards,
Piotr and Carly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews