We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skene House Whitehall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great room and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was extremely roomy and clean. The only problem was the parking lot was really hard to get to. It was convenient to restaurants and the main street in Aberdeen. The staff were very friendly and helpful which also made the stay in Aberdeen fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tym K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing Skene House Whitehall and for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to read that you found our accommodation roomy and clean and found our staff friendly and helpful; they all take great pride in their work.

I hope you will have an opportunity to return and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    107
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
148
266
28
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We only stayed two nights but wished we could have stayed more. We had a two bedroom suite with full kitchen, large bathroom, and separate living room. Hotel staff were incredibly nice. Breakfast was very good as well. No complaints!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansardccr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall, I was delighted to read that my staff provided the excellent customer service that we are reputed for.

As you have found serviced accommodation is a much more comfortable choice than traditional hotel rooms.

Hopefully you will be able to enjoy a longer stay when you return, please check our website for the latest special offers.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orkney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

well where do you start, absolutely excellent from arrival to leaving. Breakfast out of this world, facilities clean, spacious and central. I normally stay at city wharf apartments (which I cannot fault) but I will be using these in future. I stayed on a Wednesday night which is costly but isnt everywhere in Aberdeen mid week. An absolute gem of a find. Couldnt fault it, it any way.

Room Tip: unfortunately we had a room in the roof, and the gulls were very keen to wake you up. This is out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrkneySusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
It is delightful to read that you had an excellent stay with us and found our breakfast to be ‘Out of this World’. We re-launched our breakfast buffet earlier this year and it’s lovely to have such positive feedback.

Our staff take great pride in their work and they will be delighted to read your review.
Enjoying a coastal location unfortunately carry’s the burden of seagulls and I am sorry that you were woken by them.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and please feel free to request a suite on a lower floor, away from the seagulls.

Kind Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager - Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Lovely homely and spacious two bedroomed apartment with separate lounge and closed off kitchenette, for the same price as a cramped hotel room! The kitchen was spotless and well equipped, and as there is a table in the living room we chose to eat in rather than try to find a restaurant on a Sunday night (there's a small Sainsbury's round the corner). The staff are all very efficient and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews there is no lift, but this is not a difficulty as your bags will be carried to your room. Also liked the fact that it seems to be a collection of apartment blocks, so there are separate front doors rather than having to always go through the main reception area. Only a short walk from the main shopping street but in a quiet area, so perfect location. Unfortunately it was a short stay so we weren't able to make use of the breakfast, honesty bar or outdoor seating area, so can't comment on those. We will definitely be returning (hopefully for longer next time). I would not choose anywhere else in Aberdeen now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for affording the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you found us a fantastic alternative to traditional hotel accommodation. As you mention it is convenient to have the additional space and the option to cook within your suite instead of going out in the evening, for the same cost as a room within a hotel.

Our city centre location means that we are within a quiet area and able to offer private gardens and complimentary onsite parking, whilst being within walking distance of local amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall in the future and hope your stay will allow you the opportunity to enjoy all the facilities we have to offer.

Kind Regards

Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portrush
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just about to leave Skene House after a 3 day stay here are the pros and cons

Pros

The staff are excellent, nothing too much trouble, very helpful some of the best hotel staff I have encountered.
The apartment I had was very clean.
Free Wi Fi
Good breakfast
Free Parking and good location.

Now the cons are down to my own personal preferences and may not effect anyone else

Cons
Would have liked 2 bathrooms for 2 bedroom apartment.
Tv in the bedroom would be nice.

Would I stay again if in Aberdeen the answer would be yes , great value for money would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. Our staff pride themselves on providing excellent customer service so they will all be pleased to read that you rated them as some of the best you have encountered.

As your review mentions our 2 bedroom suites have only one bathroom, however we have larger three bedroom suites which have two bathrooms, including walk-in shower in one bathroom and over-shower baths in the other.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Skene House in the future. Please check our website for the latest offers and availability.

Kind Regards

Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Cannot find any fault at all at Skene House Whitehall, amazing staff, beautiful suite which has a loving and homely feel, the suite itself was very well equipped with everything you could ever need.

The location is amazing, 5 minutes into the City Centre and very easy to find.

The staff really made my experience wonderful and the complimentary upgrade was very much appreciated as the space was excellent,the suite had 3 bathrooms including showers so all the girls could get ready individually without having to wait for a bathroom.

The cooked breakfast was to die for, cooked to order with very efficient staff in the breakfast room.

Free wifi, free drink, free laundry room and no hidden charges.

Thank you all so very much for making my experience the best and keep up the hard work because you should all be so proud of all the work you do.

Lindsay

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lindzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. We have a wide range of suites, including spacious duplex suites with three bedrooms and bathrooms and I am delighted that you liked the suite that was chosen for you.

As you have mentioned we benefit from an ideal location central yet quiet. We are very fortunate to have a breakfast room serving continental breakfast along with an a la carte cooked menu for a small additional charge.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Skene house in Whitehall is just a 5 minute walk to Union Street (Aberdeen's main street). There is a small parking lot on site but unfortunately it fills early (it's ok to leave the car at night on the curb). The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We had one of the small apartments (1 bedroom plus living area), it was a top floor attic, so it got a lot of sunshine which made it quite warm and little ventilation made it feel stuffy at times. When we checked in we were offered help from the concierge to carry our bags but since we had small wheelies we declined, big mistake, it was located on the third floor, without a lift. The apartment was very spacious, with a very comfortable bed and nice bathroom. The breakfast was very good and complete, plus they provided coffee, tea, and milk inside the apartment. The only inconvenient is the lack of ventilation at the top floor, but would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and taking the time to leave a review. I was delighted to read that you found our staff helpful and would choose to stay with us again. Being located in traditional Granite buildings, we do not have the option to provide elevators, but as you mentioned we have staff available 24 hours a day to assist with luggage.

Hopefully you will have an opportunity to visit Scotland and Aberdeen again in the furture and we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#3 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#6 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 stars 1,427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#13 of 63 in Aberdeen
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing