We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Aberdeen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is an excellent choice for those who prefer their own unit with kitchen and lounge and separate bedroom only 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. The staff were welcoming and we walked to our room along the terrace of what was a series of flats or houses with good free parking at the rear. Free wi fi worked well and the breakfast though continental had plenty of choice. An excellent alternative to the bog standard hotel at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We were given a suite with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. We could have shared with our friends and sav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for reviewing Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate the time it takes for our guests to recommend our services and facilities to other travellers.

We are delighted to read that you rated our services as excellent value for money and conveniently located to the centre of town, and that you enjoyed the varied breakfast selection on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 719 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 5 times and it is excellet. It is done to a very high standard. They even remembered my birtday with a bottle of champagne. The receptionists are very wellcoming, professional and helpfull. Breakfast is excellent. We have booked to come again. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladyinred222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thanks for reviewing and recommending Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us;we always aim to make our guests feel special and as a loyal guest we couldn't let your birthday pass by without a special surprise from the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in Aberdeen. We were very impressed. Will come again if we ever visit Aberdeen. Good comfortable bed and very clean, my wife was very pleased with my last minute booking. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akhiabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for reviewing Skene House Whitehall and I am delighted to read that your wife was impressed with your choice of hotel!

We look forward to seeing you both again soon,

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is our second stay at these apartments and again I couldnt fault them.Staff very friendly and efficient. Ideal location for walking into town to shops, pubs and cinema. Great choice for breakfast considering its continental. Free drink on your first night stay. Free parking. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: have stayed in 2 different studio apartments and both were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazza73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to recommend Skene House Whitehall to other travellers on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read that you found our staff to be friendly and efficient and I will make sure that your comments are communicated to them. Our front of house teams have participated in a world-class training programme and take great pride in delivering exceptional customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at Skene House hotel suite (Whitehall) recently and was impressed with the set up and facilities of the apartments. It has all the functional facilities of a hotel but lounge, kitchen, bathroom and shower room! Give you a more homely and comfortable stay than your average room only hotel! It is also great for larger group stays such as our hockey club, our needs were all catered for at the highest standard - we even got our strips washed and dried! There is also free wifi available throughout the establishment - no hidden charges unlike other chain hotels! A highly enjoyable stay with a good night sleep, polite friendly staff and a great selection for breakfast. Only slight downside is that there is limited number of free on site parking spaces however I would recommend Skene house for any trip or holiday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you and your group were impressed with our services and facilities and indeed, due to the space, flexibility and comfort on offer we are very popular with groups and families. For groups of over 10 people we provide, free-of-charge, a groups' coordinator who will ensure that your trip runs smoothly from the moment you arrive at our property.

We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again Skene House Whitehall.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Although i have stayed at Whitehall several times now, this was the first time i have tried their Studio Suite and i was pleasantly surprised. It was a lot more spacious than i expected and also finished to a high modern standard. For the price of a standard room at a budget hotel, you get a different class of accommodation altogether. Please note however that the studio rooms are about 4 floors up, so if you struggle with lots of stairs book a standard room instead on a lower floor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that our studio suite exceeded your expectations and we greatly appreciate your recommendation to other travellers' regarding the stairs. We aim to do our best to allocate guests to the most suitable suite type according to their needs and we urge anyone travelling with children or requiring a lower level floor to get in touch before arrival.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall.

With Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

On a flying visit to Aberdeen, I stumbled on this on Laterooms.com and was delighted at what I found. I usually visit Aberdeen on business at short notice and end up staying in a Travelodge or something similar. Hopefully, never again. This is an oasis among the plethora of hotel chains that fleece you in this city. Although I spent very little time there (8 hours sleep in 2 nights), I was very comfortable and will certainly be using them again. The staff were excellent and brought up a breakfast tray as I had to leave before breakfast on departure. The rooms were immaculately clean too and very comfortable.

By way of constructive criticism, they would have scored 5 out of 5 if the bath was not so small and the bedding of a higher standard.

Thank you and Skene House and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skene H, Guest Relations Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your kind review of Skene House Whitehall.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your short stay and your comments regarding the bath and bedding have been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Rosalind McClure
Guest Relations
Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#6 of 65 in Aberdeen
759 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#12 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,204 reviews
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $393 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing