We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed here many times for short and long stays and every visit has been a wonderful experience. The staff, without exception, are focused on doing anything they can to help make your stay as comfortable and without complication as they can. They consistently demonstrate an exceptionally strong personal commitment to the Skene House reputation. The suites are very comfortable, spotless, and very well maintained. The breakfast has lots of options, and is always well presented and well served. The location provides great access to work, downtown and lots of restaurants without the noise and ruckus you might get elsewhere. Very highly recommended.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

As a regular guest at Skene House Whitehall your feedback is greatly appreciated; it is lovely to read that our staff’s commitment is recognised, they are our greatest asset and will be delighted to read your review.

We look forward to your next stay.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 721 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for one night. Nice reception on arrival. Shown to my room door, and offered if I wanted any help with my bags. Lots of space in the suite and very clean. Free wifi is also included. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I would recommend it to anyone

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

It is always a pleasure to read that guests have enjoyed their stay with us. As you have found we offer a 24 hour concierge service, always happy to help.

Word of mouth is an invaluable resource and we thank you for any recommendations you have made.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed there on way to work, with some colleagues. Good place, but must out to eat.
Friendly staff, and a fine tea room next to the reception, includes a courtesy drink!
A short walk brings you to Union Street, and some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnt-Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall.

Skene House Hotel Suites offer a variety of accommodation suitable for corporate or leisure guests. We are ideally located for the city centre and the many amenities available there.

We are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy our guest lounge and honour bar and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked a one night stay at Skene House Whitehall when visiting family in Aberdeen. Our stay was ideal in every way.

Location, free parking, good quality continental breakfast with option to purchase cooked breakfast, quality of rooms, good size fresh towels, toiletries, tea+cofffee, equipped kitchenette - all exceeded our expectations for the great value price. We have stayed in much more expensive properties in Europe that were not even close to Skene House.

Only comments to note, which did not impact on our stay, were that the size of bathroom and kitchen was quite tight in our suite (202). No flat sheet on the bed and the fan was a bit noisy in the bathroom - none of which was a deal breaker.

We would highly recommend Skene House Whitehall for a short stay in Aberdeen and we will certainly be back if needing accommodation again in Aberdeen.

Room Tip: As there are some different suites in different buildings, some with stairs, if you want to avoid cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. It was lovely to read that you found your time with us so enjoyable and rated us highly on all aspects of your stay.

We have a variety of suites to offer and if you have a specific requirement for a more spacious kitchen we will always do our best to accommodate these requests. Thank you for bring the bathroom fan to our attention, feedback like this is invaluable and this fan has now been reported to maintenance for replacement.

We are pleased that you will recommend us to others and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We've stayed here a few times while visiting Aberdeen and have usually got an apartment at a reasonable price. There's a variety of sizes and this weekend we had a two bedroom "flat" which would have been a great size for a family of four. Probably worth phoning and asking what's available before booking. Private parking is a boon as there is restricted parking in the area. Location is not far from restaurants and the theatre. Can be walked or a short taxi ride. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. There's no restaurant on site but a good continental breakfast is provided and there's an honor bar for guests. Cooked breakfast can be ordered but is charged as extra which seems a bit steep. All rooms / apartments have kitchen facilities and are very comfortable and well finished. We will certainly keep using Skene House dependent on the price at the time.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

It is lovely to read that you chose to stay with us again on your recent visit to Aberdeen. We offer a wide variety of suite types from a small studio to a large split level three bedroom suite and we like to think we have something to suit everyone.

As you mentioned there is no restaurant onsite, however we do have an extensive range of partner restaurants, all within walking distance.

We hope to welcome you back to Skene House Whitehall in the future, please check our website for the latest special offers.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed in an apartment suite, last Saturday. Everything was faultless! Staff were warm, friendly and helpful. The suite was immaculate. In a beautiful old up-market granite terrace. No road noise, despite being 5 minutes walk from Union St. Big fluffy towels, thick carpets, tasteful pastel décor. A fresh pint of milk in the fridge for your teas/coffees (not mini-cartons). Free private secure parking, with CCTV. Free tea or good percolated coffee in the hotel lounge. First drink from the bar was also free! (2 large wines, in our case!) Continental breakfast was included. (cooked available at extra cost). Fruit juices, toast, croissants, cereals, fresh fruit, dried fruit, yoghurt, ham cheese salami. All you could possibly want, if you can live without bacon sausage egg etc for once. We had all this at a late deal price, but even the standard rate would still be a great deal. We WILL be going again !!!

Room Tip: Upstairs room overlooking the secure car park would be quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of Skene House Whitehall.

We have recently re-launched our breakfast buffet and it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our new offerings.

We have lots of new weekend special offers, so hopefully there will be something to tempt you back to stay soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The suite was cleaned to a high standard, staff were friendly and helpful. Nice location. I enjoyed my stay, it was easy to get into the city centre. The honour bar was a nice touch with a welcome drink. the outside garden area was pleasant. I will be returning on my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for affording the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. Our Housekeeping team lead by Gosia and Victoria, were delighted to read your comments regarding the high cleaning standards.

We are very fortunate to have lovely outside gardens in the heart of the city centre and we are glad you had an opportunity to enjoy them.

We are pleased to read that you will return on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you then.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#7 of 65 in Aberdeen
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#13 of 65 in Aberdeen
916 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#11 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,287 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $401 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing