We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City Centre Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“City Centre Perfect”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a city centre apartment for our family of five, with private parking and two bedrooms. This absolutely ticked all the boxes, right in the centre of Aberdeen, off street parking at no extra cost, a huge two bedroom apartment, with large living room, large kitchen and a bathroom with a bath. Add in the free wifi, free complimentary drink from the honesty bar - the most amazing, varied and fresh continental breakfast and you have the perfect family friendly upmarket accommodation in Aberdeen.

All the staff were first class...

Oh and a real pint of milk in your fridge for coffee in the morning

Will be our go to accommodation in Aberdeen now....

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. We are delighted that you found our staff ‘First Class’ and that you would return to stay with Skene House again.

We are very fortunate to have free private parking, spacious guest lounge and honour bar and I am delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet which has been recently re-launched, so it is lovely to have such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    124
    32
    5
    1
See reviews for
168
287
30
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here over the weekend and seriously cannot fault a single thing! The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The apartment was spotless, well designed and practical as well as inviting and homely. The attention to detail was really noticeable (even down to ensuring there was full pint of milk in the fridge on arrival). Other hotels could learn a lot from this one! Will always be my first port of call when requiring accommodation in Aberdeen!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
I am delighted read that you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Whitehall. We pride ourselves in delivering the very best customer service and I will ensure all that our staff have an opportunity to read your review. I am delighted that we will be your first port of call the next time you are in Aberdeen and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have stays at both Holborn and Rosemount. The standard of accommodation is very good. The best thing though for me as a business traveller is that the breakfasts are organised, efficient and good. For me it is the first place I try for when staying in Aberdeen. The city can suffer by having so much demand that standards can drop and I have seen that elsewhere in other hotels in the city

The only thing I don't like is all the sprung fire doors. It reminds me of being back in student accommodation. I am not marking Skene down for that as it is no doubt mandatory health and safety.

Room Tip: If you book the Supreme option you seem to get a pint of milk in the fridge. Otherwise remember to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted to read that we are your first choice in Aberdeen. We pride ourselves in delivering the very best customer service and this is proven to bring customers such as yourself, to stay with us over and over again.

Unfortunately, as you mentioned, the self-closing doors are a Health and Safety regulation but I hope this did not cause too much inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just spent 2 lovely nights. Been to Whitehall before so knew what to expect. Our apartment was well kitted out. Living area had a nice wee kitchen hidden behind sliding doors. Bedroom had comfy bed and a large wardrobe. Bathroom was nice modern design with walk in shower. Not good idea for housekeeper to open skylight on a day that ended up being wet. Floor was swimming in water when we came back from shopping. Good job my wife hadn't hung her evening dress in there or she would not have been amused. Big thank you to Lindsey for looking after us. Also big thank you to Heather in the breakfast dining room. She had lovely personality and a smile that lit up a dull day. Thank you to all the staff who assisted in making weekend very enjoyable. We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iflett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read that guests have returned from another pleasant stay with us. I would like to take this opportunity to apologies for the oversight made by our housekeeping team and we have now addressed this with some further training and I thank you for bring this to our attention.

Lindsay and Heather are delighted to have had a special mention, all our staff pride themselves in delivering the very best customer service and genuinely enjoy assisting our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back, please check our website for our January Special offers.



Regards
Karen Barbour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in room 22 in main building, this was a Superior Suite on second floor, 2 bedroom,kitchen and lounge, lovely big rooms with high ceilings, furniture a little dated but perfectly adequate. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. included was continental breakfast in dining room, lots of cereals fresh fruit and pastries, nice and fresh. in the communal lounge area there was complimentary tea and coffee available all day along with newspapers also in this area a key card entry honesty bar which was well stocked.
all in all a great experience from start to finish.

Room Tip: I would advise staying in the main Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Skene House Whitehall and for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Our suites are designed in a traditional style in keeping with our traditional granite buildings and I am glad you enjoyed the space and appreciated the high ceilings.

We launched our new breakfast buffet and menu last month and it is lovely to have such positive feedback.

We are very fortunate to have a spacious Guest lounge, a lovely space to relax and read the papers or enjoy a drink from the bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back, please check our website for the very latest special offers.


Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were in a group of 9 and we booked 2 2-bedroom suites which will accommodate 4 per suite. We were given 1 2-bedroom suite and 1 3-bedroom suite which can accommodate 6 with no extra charge.

Suite is in good condition with good size. The 3-bedroom suite has everything just exactly like our house. Or even better than mine.

The receptionist very kindly recommended us some restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorNgWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for Skene House Whitehall. We have a wide variety of suites which allows us to provide guests with complimentary upgrades from time to time and I am delighted that you were able to take advantage of this.

We aim to provide the very best customer service and our reception team are always happy to provide recommendations.

I hope you will have an opportunity to return to Aberdeen and Skene House Whitehall in the future.

Regards
Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Aberdeen is not an easy place to find a decent place to stay. Most of the hotels are sad and the B&Bs are just awful. Skene Hose however is a class above, without a penalising price tag. We have previously stayed at the Rosemount site and came to the Whitehall on this occasion as the other one was full. Telephone booking was easy - indeed we were phoned back with a better offer within a few minutes. Comfortable and clean, better than most hotel rooms! our suite was just what we needed for a weekend trip. Located close to the city centre with a pleasant sitting area and honesty bar, this was just about perfect. The breakfast was good and there was an a la carte addition if wanted. Parking was free and plentiful. Only minus point is the decor of the stairways which were dull and the carpets a cubit dated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I am delighted read that you enjoyed your stay at Skene House Whitehall and regard us as a ‘Class Above’ most of the other hotels. We aim to provide the very best customer service from the reservation process through to the end of your stay. As you have found staying is a suite is much more comfortable than a typical hotel room and I hope you will have an opportunity to stay
with us again soon.

Kind regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#8 of 64 in Aberdeen
1,849 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing