We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable Excellent Value Suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed one night in June 2013. We enjoyed a large two bedroom suite that included a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchenette and bathroom with bath/shower. The suite was spotlessly clean, bright and airy, and extremely quiet. It really did feel like a home away from home. The free WiFi reception was very good. There are two parking areas that provide off street parking, available on a first come first served basis.

Check-in/out was quick and hassle free. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a booklet, with map, available at reception that lists the various restaurants and pubs/bars in the area.

There is a residents lounge and bar that operates on the honour system. The continental breakfast had a wide selection, with an a la carte cooked to order menu available.

We booked directly and the nightly rate was just GBP 76, which is unbelievable value for a two bedroom suite, particularly when we stayed for only one night. Most similar style premises usually require a minimum stay of 3 or more nights.

We would certainly stay here again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of Skene House Whitehall. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found your suite spotlessly clean, I will ensure I pass this information to the Housekeeping team. We are very fortunate to have free parking and wifi and to provide a Breakfast room and Lounge with Honour bar for guests to enjoy.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Barbour
Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 719 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

We love staying here, rooms are lovely, staff are very nice & friendly. It's a wee home away from home, everything you would need in a flat, but in a hotel. We used to stay somewhere else until a friend suggested Skene House & now when we are in Aberdeen we won't stay anywhere else. Breakfast is lovely & fairly fills you up. Looking forward to our next stay. :O)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall, guest feedback is a vital tool in monitoring our performance. It was great to read that you rated both the staff and the level of accommodation so highly.

As you mention, our continental breakfast provides a lovely selection with something to suit every taste and includes the option to select something cooked for a small charge if you wish.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall during your next visit to Aberdeen; please check our website for our most up-to-date availability and special offers.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On our honeymoon, this was the nicest surprise on the trip. The suite was so spacious and the kitchen was perfect. We loved the living room and especially the sofas. It made us feel like home. The service was excellent and friendly. In Aberdeen I would defenetly stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Congratulations on your recent wedding, we realise that your Honeymoon would have been a special trip and we are pleased you chose Skene House Whitehall to be a part of it.

As your review mentions we do provide a home from home feeling in our suites and many people do choose us as we are a more spacious option to a traditional hotel room.

I am pleased to see you rated the service so highly and found our staff so friendly, they pride themselves on providing great customer service.

We hope to welcome you back to Skene House Whitehall, should you choose to visit Aberdeen again in the future.
Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

It's a bit different and interesting - I had very comfortable suite for only slightly more than an average Aberdeen hotel would cost. A good quiet base if you are visiting Aberdeen for a few days. Didn't have time for breakfast unfortunately due to an early start, but other guests said it was very good.Staff arevery pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall, guest feedback is a vital tool in allowing us to monitor performance.

As your review states, we are slightly different from a normal hotel; each suite consists of a living area, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom for the same cost as a standard hotel room.

I am sorry that on this occasion you did not get a chance to sample our continental breakfast buffet. I hope you will return in the future and be able to enjoy this, or alternatively we are always happy to provide breakfast provisions so you can eat breakfast in your suite, if you have to leave very early.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spacious suites, great location and wonderful breakfast, with the added bonus of free parking and wifi. Staff were excellent and happy to provide maps and information about restaurants. Everyone had a smile and genuine welcome. I would not stay anywhere else in Aberdeen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for affording the time to review your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. Our staff really do pride themselves on the number 1 status they have achieved and will be so pleased to read that you found them helpful and happy in their work.

We are so pleased that you will return to us during your next trip to Aberdeen, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. Very welcoming to weary visitors. The spacious apartment was so welcome after some of the small B &B rooms we had been staying in. The welcome bottle of wine was even better. Breakfast was good.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maidmeirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at Skene House Whitehall. I am pleased to read that you found the suite you were allocated spacious and welcoming, many guests choose us as we offer more space than a traditional hotel room. The welcome bottle of wine which you were provided with is part of our “Suite Treats Package” which you selected at the time of booking, for future bookings please check our website for our latest special offers.

We hope to welcome you back to Skene House Whitehall during your next visit to Aberdeen.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

My mum and I shared a twin executive apartment for two nights and it was wonderful. The apartment was more than comfortable for two people sharing - everything you would expect was there and it was nicely decorated. The apartment was quiet and peaceful, and in a great location. The service was fabulous from the front desk staff to the porter to the waiters and waitresses at breakfast. We also used the free parking and had no problems getting a space. It was exceptional value for money and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at Skene House Whitehall. Guest feedback is an important tool in monitoring our performance and I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. Our staff will be pleased to see that you rated them so highly across all departments. As your review mentions, we do have a car park for guest use which is free of charge. Although this is unusual for a City Centre hotel it is always appreciated by our guests travelling by car.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall in the future.

Kind Regards
Beverley Graham
Assistant Manager – Skene House Whitehall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#5 of 65 in Aberdeen
761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
2.3 mi away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Aberdeen
Malmaison Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,255 reviews
6 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen West
0.4 mi away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#18 of 65 in Aberdeen
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range: $401 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing