We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Skene House Whitehall
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Aberdeen
Certificate of Excellence
Alford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Over night stay in three-bed appartment. Was very clean and well equipped with friendly, helpfull staff. Enjoyed continental breakfast with lots to choose from. Would definately stay again and highly recommend

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jodi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    128
    34
    5
    1
See reviews for
171
291
31
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

After six years visiting the skene house white hall it feels like a second home. Rooms are comfortable and provided with everything you need for a pleasant stay in Aberdeen. I can recommend this place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your recommendation for Skene House Whitehall. Recommendations from loyal guests like you have helped us to reach the No.1 spot on TripAdvisor. Thanks for your valued support throughout the years.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager, Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the Skene Whitehall for the second time and we enjoyed our short one night stay. We ended up in a two bedroom apartment with lounge and kitchen which was lovely. We love the Scottish Fine Soaps provided and the deluxe continental breakfast with a great selection of breads and pastries, including local produce. Ramunas, a very nice young gentleman who showed us to our room and looked after us at breakfast was courteous and friendly. It is a convenient location, close to the town centre with parking. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmcgugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMLindsay, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you chose to return to Skene House Whitehall.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated our fine soaps and our breakfast buffet. We try to support local business by choosing Scottish produce where possible, for example our breads come from a local social enterprise called The Breadmaker and our comfortable mattresses from another local social enterprise called Glencraft.

Ramunas is delighted that he got a special mention in your review and looks forward to welcoming you back again soon!

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here with 4 of my old school chums at the beginning of October, all of my friends were so impressed with the accommodation. We had an amazing 3 bedroom suite on the top floor. The decor was so pretty and old fashioned, just my cup of tea. Bedrooms were huge, Living Room was fantastic too.

We had continental breakfast and it was just perfect, the breakfast room is very tastefully decorated too.

Overall, another wonderful stay at Skene House Apartments, I would definatly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom suite, top floor amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenniferMLindsay, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time tell others about Skene House Whitehall. We are delighted that you and your friends chose to stay with us and that we impressed you so much!

Skene House HotelSuites are perfect for a ‘get together’ with friends, giving you more space, flexibility and comfort than a standard hotel room. Indeed, the décor is truly unique for a hotel or serviced apartment, people often comment on how ‘at home’ they feel here.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Skene House Whitehall very soon. In the meantime you can keep up-to-date with our news and offers on our website blog or on Facebook.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour

Manager
Skene House Whitehall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel provides very well equipped suites in a quiet part of Aberdeen within easy walking distance of Union Street. The room I had was very comfortable, very clean and very well appointed. The staff were excellent. When they discovered I would be leaving the next day before breakfast they, without being asked, dropped some cereal, bread for toast, jam and marmalade, and fresh fruit by my suite. Very much appreciated.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Douglas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much or taking the time to write this kind review on Skene House Whitehall.

Our team is dedicated to making your stay as carefree and comfortable as possible, we believe that it is very important that our guests have a great start to the day with a good hearty Skene House breakfast!

We look forward to seeing again soon,

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Skene House Whitehall for 2 weeks and the service was outstanding. All the employees make you feel like you are royalty. The rooms were nice and comfortable. We will stay here whenever we come back to Aberdeen. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: stay in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Skene House Whitehall. We really appreciate your very kind remarks and we are certainly do aim to make our guests feel like royalty.

We hope to see you back in Aberdeen very soon,

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was my second visit and the quality and cleanliness of the accommodation, efficiency and friendliness of the staff, and excellent value proved to have been maintained at the same very high standard as on my previous visit. The suites are close to the centre of Aberdeen (just off Union Street) with plenty of restaurants around and a short walk from the bus and railway stations, yet located in a pleasant, relatively quiet residential area, and are equipped with everything to provide a real home from home. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sianed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2whitehall, Manager at Skene House Whitehall, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your recommendation. We are delighted that you have chosen to revisit Skene House HotelSuites and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

If you would like to keep up-to-date with our news and events you can now follow us on Twitter or Facebook.

With kind regards,

Karen Barbour
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.2 mi away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 65 in Aberdeen
740 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Aberdeen City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#9 of 65 in Aberdeen
1,936 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Aberdeen Altens Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skene House Whitehall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skene House Whitehall

Property: Skene House Whitehall
Address: 2 Whitehall Place, Aberdeen AB25 2NX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Business Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aberdeen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Skene House Whitehall 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skene House Whitehall is the best of both worlds - it's a city centre location with a residential feel. Its only 7 minutes walk to the top end of Union Street, fewer than that to the West End boutiques of Rose and Thistle Street, yet benefits from a more relaxed atmosphere due to its private gardens and proximity to the neighbourhood of Rosemount where delicatessens, friendly pubs, cafes and Sainsbury's are within 5 minutes walk. Whitehall's 49, studio and 1-3 bedroom apartments offer business and leisure travelers a range of eclectic interiors providing a homely feel for short or long stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Skene House Whitehall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skene Hotel Aberdeen
Skene House Whitehall Aberdeen, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing